LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2018, 02:26 AM   #1
Albert555
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Wi-Fi card with adjustable transmit power


Hello,

I am trying to find a Wi-Fi card (or USB dongle preferably) that I can adjust the signal transmit power.

I searched on the web and it seems pretty hard to find such a card, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I found the following USB adapter that could potentially work : Alfa USB AWUS036NH using the Ralink 3070L Chipset, true or not ?

Thank you.

Albert
 
Old 04-15-2018, 03:53 PM   #2
AwesomeMachine
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 4,185

Rep: Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758
You probably won't find one searching for it on the Internet. Some cards have adjustable transmit power. But in no way does the manufacturer, or the government for that matter, want computer users controlling the output power! You can do it with Linux, but the powers that be don't advertise which adapters have that capability. You might have some luck with the search terms 'variable gain".
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-16-2018, 01:12 PM   #3
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,745

Rep: Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651
It is usually possible to adjust power if the chip and driver allow. In some cases it is illegal to raise power. Remember that even a mile away a consumer may have some medical device or safety device or phone that could be affected by going over the legal limit. That is why the US wanted to limit consumers ability to play with routers.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/5975...mw-not-working
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-16-2018, 06:57 PM   #4
Albert555
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hello,

Thank you jefro for the regulatory warning I had no intentions to break the law, at least now I know the reason why it's so hard to get any details about this possibility from hardware vendors.

Actually my plan was not to increase the signal power but to decrease it to the minimum possible for security reasons.

From reading the provided link it looks like I should be able to reduce the transmit power since there is not any regulatory limitation for the reduction of the transmit power. Am I correct about this assumption ?

Which adapter could I use then ?

Thank you.
 
Old 04-16-2018, 08:35 PM   #5
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,745

Rep: Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651Reputation: 2651
It is fine to decrease power and associated range will decrease and no legal limits would restrict that. You can tell when you get too far by speeds slow or other metrics to tell you signal is too weak.

As to current adapter I can't say. Might pose a new question on that.

Last edited by jefro; 04-16-2018 at 08:36 PM.
 
Old 04-18-2018, 09:14 PM   #6
AwesomeMachine
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: USA and Italy
Distribution: Debian testing/sid; OpenSuSE; Fedora; Mint
Posts: 4,185

Rep: Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758Reputation: 758
About half of all adapters are adjustable. So, if you just purchase any old card, you have a about a 50:50 chance. I know Broadcom makes adjustable amplifiers on some of their ICs.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recently found VANET Dynamic Transmit Power Control on ns-2.35 script not working Yohanes Marakub Linux - Newbie 2 06-24-2016 01:12 PM
[SOLVED] Adjustable alarm script Fixit7 Puppy 3 06-26-2015 08:16 AM
transmit power fahadnasir Linux - Hardware 3 04-09-2008 11:42 AM
wlan0 interface has no transmit power ??? nosredna Linux - Wireless Networking 2 07-25-2006 07:52 PM
Card configurable, contacts AP, but can't transmit or receive sto237 Linux - Wireless Networking 3 02-02-2006 06:21 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration