LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2019, 09:58 PM   #1
ceh383
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: The Left coast, USA
Distribution: Slack_64 14.2
Posts: 223

Rep: Reputation: 26
ACPI issue?


While I'm sure this is not a "Slackware" problem, I'll ask here for lack of any better place.

I decided to revive my wife's old laptop, a Compaq CQ50. I installed 14.2 on it and it went well, no issues at all. This laptop will only run when plugged into a wall outlet, if you unplug it, it dies instantly. It had been sitting for a few years so I figured the battery was just dead. I ordered a new battery as well as a new CMOS battery, it still has the same problem.
Looking at /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state it shows no battery present.
I'm not sure how to trouble shoot this issue. There are no ACPI items listed in the BIOS, and on line searches all point to Windows issues.

Suggestions?

Last edited by ceh383; 06-24-2019 at 10:33 PM.
 
Old 06-24-2019, 10:55 PM   #2
Skaendo
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2014
Location: West Texas, USA
Distribution: Slackware64-14.2
Posts: 896

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Long shot, but did you try and update or reset the BIOS?
 
Old 06-24-2019, 11:10 PM   #3
ceh383
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: The Left coast, USA
Distribution: Slack_64 14.2
Posts: 223

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 26
I did reset the BIOS to factory defaults, no joy.
I have not updated the BIOS yet, all updates are done through Windows. I guess I could install Windows and try that.
It's funny, but one of the trouble shooting steps I found was to install a minimal Linux distro to see if it was a Windows issue.
 
Old 06-25-2019, 05:02 AM   #4
Tonus
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 493
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 132Reputation: 132
ACPI issue?

I would try to clean the battery connectors and check cables.
Is there much dust in it when you open it?
 
Old 06-25-2019, 05:20 AM   #5
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, arch, ubuntu, others
Posts: 3,084

Rep: Reputation: 508Reputation: 508Reputation: 508Reputation: 508Reputation: 508Reputation: 508
possibly you received a bad battery? Receiving bad parts happens occasionally.
 
Old 06-25-2019, 08:58 AM   #6
ceh383
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: The Left coast, USA
Distribution: Slack_64 14.2
Posts: 223

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonus View Post
I would try to clean the battery connectors and check cables.
Is there much dust in it when you open it?
I'll check the battery connectors.
I removed the memory and HDD covers, no dust at all there or in the battery compartment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
possibly you received a bad battery? Receiving bad parts happens occasionally.
It's a possibility, I'll check it for voltage if I can find a schematic for the pin-outs.
 
Old 06-25-2019, 10:08 AM   #7
jostber
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Skien, Norway
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 64-bit
Posts: 473

Rep: Reputation: 160Reputation: 160
You can try Fix 3 here to clean the PC for residual charge:

https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge...turn-on-issue/

Before you hold the power button for 30 seconds you can also push it 10 times.
 
Old 06-25-2019, 12:10 PM   #8
ceh383
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: The Left coast, USA
Distribution: Slack_64 14.2
Posts: 223

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jostber View Post
You can try Fix 3 here to clean the PC for residual charge:

https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge...turn-on-issue/

Before you hold the power button for 30 seconds you can also push it 10 times.
Thanks for the link, this is the only possible solution that I found that didn't involve windows. I tried this a few times yesterday and no joy.
 
Old 06-25-2019, 02:41 PM   #9
TheRealGrogan
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Slackware, Manjaro (for gaming)
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: 37
That's bollocks. To "clean the PC of residual charge" you need only disconnect the AC power, remove the laptop battery and press the power button once. You don't need a Ouija board or tarot cards either :-)

This kind of problem sometimes turns out to be an aftermarket battery, and a bios that won't detect it because it's not from the vendor. Right? You didn't order a replacement battery from HP/Compaq for that model? (you shouldn't have to, except for skullbuggery like that)
 
Old 06-25-2019, 05:16 PM   #10
ceh383
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: The Left coast, USA
Distribution: Slack_64 14.2
Posts: 223

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 26
The battery looks good, 11.17vdc.
I bought this aftermarket battery because I couldn't find an OEM replacement.
Most of the reviews were positive, but the negative reviews complained about it not being recognized.

Oh well, live and learn...
 
Old 06-25-2019, 06:07 PM   #11
jostber
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Skien, Norway
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 64-bit
Posts: 473

Rep: Reputation: 160Reputation: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRealGrogan View Post
That's bollocks. To "clean the PC of residual charge" you need only disconnect the AC power, remove the laptop battery and press the power button once. You don't need a Ouija board or tarot cards either :-)

This kind of problem sometimes turns out to be an aftermarket battery, and a bios that won't detect it because it's not from the vendor. Right? You didn't order a replacement battery from HP/Compaq for that model? (you shouldn't have to, except for skullbuggery like that)
Actually the procedure to clean residual charge from the capacitors is recommended by HP:

https://support.hp.com/lt-en/document/c00485351

https://support.hp.com/ph-en/document/c01684768
 
Old 06-25-2019, 06:29 PM   #12
TheRealGrogan
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Slackware, Manjaro (for gaming)
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: 37
Yes, but not to put on magic shoes and tap your heels three times. Removing power and draining charge is valid for both desktop and laptop computers sometimes when they won't boot up, and also sometimes to get laptop batteries correctly detected again. If one press of the power button doesn't do it, that's not the problem. If they say to hold it for 15 seconds, it ensures you give it a good press.

I do this very often, moreover, sometimes it's all there is to an on-site service call.
 
Old 06-25-2019, 09:13 PM   #13
ceh383
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: The Left coast, USA
Distribution: Slack_64 14.2
Posts: 223

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRealGrogan View Post
This kind of problem sometimes turns out to be an aftermarket battery, and a bios that won't detect it because it's not from the vendor.
Ding ding ding...We have a winner.
When I first installed Slackware 14.2 the original OEM battery did not show up in /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state. I figured it was due to it being completely dead. But after trying the process linked to below, the OEM battery now shows up and shows charging. I have no hope that this battery will charge or hold a charge, but I now know the laptop is fine and I need to find the correct battery.

Thanks for the help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jostber View Post
You can try Fix 3 here to clean the PC for residual charge:

https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge...turn-on-issue/

Before you hold the power button for 30 seconds you can also push it 10 times.
 
Old 06-27-2019, 10:42 PM   #14
ceh383
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: The Left coast, USA
Distribution: Slack_64 14.2
Posts: 223

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 26
Update to this situation...

I installed Windows, upgraded the BIOS to the latest version (it's still rather old) in hopes it would resolve the situation, it did not.
I finally did find a new OEM battery, so I ordered it, at 4x the cost of an aftermarket battery, but it should work.

I will also open up the original OEM and new aftermarket batteries and swap the cells. This should leave me with 2 working batteries.


Again, thanks for the help.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux ACPI and BIOS ACPI - problem to understand and giving out bugs marisdembovskis Linux - Software 3 09-20-2007 10:22 PM
which of the 47 ACPI files on Windows XP do I enter "Lixux=ACPI off"? hcfisch Linux - Desktop 1 11-21-2006 11:07 AM
ACPI: 2.6.17.7; nothing in /proc/acpi/fan; fans not running; problem not seen before. zetabill Linux - Kernel 1 07-30-2006 04:27 PM
acpi (no /proc/acpi)??? JimDog Linux - Newbie 2 01-25-2004 12:14 AM
kernel 2.4.20 & acpi-20021212-2.4.20.diff => no /proc/acpi Tinkster Linux - Software 5 03-24-2003 01:56 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration