LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2020, 04:21 AM   #1
lin1725
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Second monitor is not detected


I'm using laptop, HP pavilion, and when i want to connect second monitor, he's not detected by Debian 10.
xrand:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
XWAYLAND0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 340mm x 190mm
1920x1080 59.96*+
 
Old 03-26-2020, 08:52 AM   #2
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 11,147

Rep: Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272Reputation: 1272
Welcome to LQ, Lin1725.

You need to reboot or log out of X for the monitor to be recognised. You may need to write a configuration file if you want it doing particular things. Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux!
 
Old 03-26-2020, 05:44 PM   #3
mrmazda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 2,308

Rep: Reputation: 747Reputation: 747Reputation: 747Reputation: 747Reputation: 747Reputation: 747Reputation: 747
After connecting and turning on the external, try one of these three key sequences:
  • Ctrl-Alt-F3, Ctrl-Alt-F7
  • Ctrl-Alt-F2, Ctrl-Alt-F1
  • Ctrl-Alt-F4, Ctrl-Alt-F8
The second of each should return to the desktop, which usually is F7, but could be on F1 or F8, depending on DE, DM and configuration. The first of each could be any of F1-F6, the normal location of vttys available for login.

Something else to try is running in an Xorg session instead of a Wayland session, which should be selectable from your GUI login screen.
 
Old 03-26-2020, 06:25 PM   #4
uteck
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Elgin,IL,USA
Distribution: GalliumOS on Chrombook
Posts: 389

Rep: Reputation: 86
From the search I did, it seems that you are not alone with this issue. One person posted that running the 'X' command from the terminal got the second monitor detected.
Looks like you need to login to a consul session (Ctrl+Alt+F1) then login and run X. May have to kill your login manager first.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Radeon HD 7790OC Second Monitor not detected Crisader Linux - Hardware 6 07-21-2013 09:46 AM
[SOLVED] Nvidia dual monitor setup problems getting second monitor to work tradet Slackware 2 08-12-2011 06:38 AM
[SOLVED] CD-ROM not detected, then hard disk not detected helpless-new-fulla Linux - Newbie 4 06-28-2010 01:39 AM
how to extend the view in one monitor to the second monitor jfernandez Fedora 3 01-04-2008 05:28 AM
Second Monitor not Detected Dark_Oppressor Ubuntu 1 08-08-2006 05:30 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration