LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2003, 06:37 AM   #1
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Rep: Reputation: 30
Nvidia TwinView XF86Config-4 problems


I'm trying to get the dual-head working on my GeForce4 ti4400 on Mandrake 9.2. I don't think i totally understand what they're trying to say with configuring the XF86Config-4 file. I get an error when trying to start X with the other screen enabled. I know the driver itself is working because when I startx i see the nvidia logo. Here i a copy of my XF86Config-4 and below that is what error I get. Some stuff is cut out that didn't really have anything to do with it, but I think this is all the information I have that you could use to help me.
Code:
# File generated by XFdrake.

# **********************************************************************
# Refer To The XF86Config man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"
    # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
    # By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
    # the X server to render fonts.
    FontPath "unix/:-1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
    AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
    #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "Keyboard"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
    Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Generic"
    ModelName "Flat Panel 1280x1024"
    HorizSync 31.5-67
    VertRefresh 50-75
    
    # Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
    # 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "1024x480"    65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344   480  488  494  563 -hsync -vsync
    
    # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
    # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630
    
    # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "NVidia"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 (generic)"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "DPMS"
    #Option "TwinView" "on"
    #Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5-67"
    #Option "SecondMonitorVertRefesh" "50-60"
    #Option "MetaModes" "1024x768, 1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 24
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 8
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 15
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 16
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 24
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout1"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    Screen "screen1"
EndSection
And here is basically what it says when I startx.

[code[
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failure to construct a valid mode list: no modes remaining.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): ************** Aborting **************
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a useable configuration.

Fatal Server Error:
no screens found
[/code]

Thanks a lot for any help.
 
Old 10-25-2003, 12:05 PM   #2
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985
you have listed no mode sizes at all! for example:
Code:
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "nvidia1screen"
    Device      "nvidia1"
    Monitor     "iiyama"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection
my full (non twinview using) geforce dual head config is... http://thirtythreeandathird.net/dualhead
 
Old 10-25-2003, 10:58 PM   #3
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Hmm I don't think it' the same with the TwinView. It says in the readme all the dual moniter stuff is handled within the driver so we shouldn't even have to specify multiple screens. Well except for what you are supposed to specify in the Device section like like ranges and modes. (or is some part of that wrong?) Any other ideas?

Thanks guys.
 
Old 11-02-2003, 03:50 PM   #4
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
hey I still haven't solved this problem. What should the XF86Config-4 file look like with twinview enabled?

Thanks for the help.
 
Old 11-02-2003, 06:36 PM   #5
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Here is some additional information that might help anyone that is willing to help me. I have my xfree86.0.log here. Theres way too much information in there for my newbie mind to comprehend. The key lines though I thought might give some idea of the problem are as follows:

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s): CRT-1, DFP-0
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detected TV Encoder: Brooktree 871
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Multiple displays connected, but only one display allowed;
(WW) NVIDIA(0):      using first display
Both monitors are identical LCD displays. The first one is on VGA the second is on DVI.

Thanks for the help.
 
Old 11-02-2003, 10:24 PM   #6
SLaCk_KiD
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Philly, PA
Distribution: Slackware 10.2
Posts: 97

Rep: Reputation: 15
setup your config for single monitor display, and then use YanC to configure it, its a GUI, and really makes it easy to get all setup...thats what i used, and here is a copy of my file...


Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "132"
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-64"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-90"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "MetaModes" "1792x1344@1792x1344,1792x1344@1792x1344;1600x1200@1600x1200,1600x1200@1600x1200;1280x1024@1280x1024 ,1280x1024@1280x1024"
EndSection
 
Old 11-04-2003, 03:05 PM   #7
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
still troubles

Thanks for the tip SLaCk_KiD, I downloaded YanC and used it to configure. I got the same error when starting up X. Since this program configured it for me, I assume there are no problems with my configuration files. Could this mean that there is a problem with the driver or a compatability issue? I don't know. Here is the device section that YanC wrote:

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "NVidia"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 (generic)"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "DPMS"
    #Option "TwinView" "1"
    #Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "24-83"
    #Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024 @1280x1024,1280x1024 @1280x1024"
    Option "NvAGP" "3"
    Option "DigitalVibrance" "0"
    #Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "55-85"
    #Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
    #Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
EndSection
 
Old 11-04-2003, 03:07 PM   #8
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
OK, here's another question. Do I have to have two monitor and two screen sections? one for each display?
 
Old 11-04-2003, 06:25 PM   #9
SLaCk_KiD
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Philly, PA
Distribution: Slackware 10.2
Posts: 97

Rep: Reputation: 15
no you dont need a second screen or monitor section, the config has it right there. you need to uncomment the option lines...

Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "24-83"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024 @1280x1024,1280x1024 @1280x1024"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "55-85"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"

so it should look like that. and if that still doesnt work, then post the output of the /var/adm/XFree86.0.log, i mgiht notice something that isnt correct. I dont knwo if you are new to linux or not, so i dont want to try to sound like a know-it-all, jsut a suggestion.
 
Old 11-13-2003, 05:40 PM   #10
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Sorry it took me so long to reply. Things have been crazy busy over here. Those lines actually were uncommented when i tried it, I had to comment them out so I could start x. The log wasn't in the place you told me but I did find it in /var/log/XFree86.log. You can get that file here. Its actually a slightly older log from before i made these changes, but it's the same error.
 
Old 11-18-2003, 11:44 AM   #11
orikerus
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
i was using

Option "MetaModes" "1024x768, 1024x768"

instead of

Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 1280x1024"

and i changed the "Virtual" to "Modes" in the "Screen" section:

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

to

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubsection
 
Old 01-14-2004, 04:41 AM   #12
Moebius
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
HEYYY!!! It worked. Thanks so much orikerus, i guess the problem was just that I had to change virtual to modes and it worked. This is great, I've been trying to get this forever.

Thanks.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia twinview problems dr.giz Linux - Software 1 11-12-2005 08:13 AM
openGL on Nvidia Twinview problems... sturla Linux - General 0 08-06-2005 07:52 PM
Nvidia Twinview, XF86Config-4 problem. Davno Linux - Software 1 03-24-2004 05:32 PM
NVIDIA geforce 440mx SE TwinView Problems xaugustfallsx Linux - Hardware 7 02-02-2004 01:50 PM
NVIDIA Twinview Problems teal Linux - Newbie 2 06-28-2003 06:54 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration