LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2004, 09:02 AM   #1
metalaid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Panama
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question How to add a network printer?I


I have my desktop running WIndows XP Pro, and I have my printer that is shared accross the network.
I am running only Mandrake 9.2 out of my laptop and I was wondering how can I add the printer so that I can print at home when I'm on the network.

Any suggestions?

THanks much.
Teo
 
Old 01-20-2004, 09:21 AM   #2
kjsubbu
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: india
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: 15
printer problem

Helo
U r printer is jetdirect printer . just u add the printers ip in ur printer icon in ur linux box. In redhat linux redhat-config-printer-->after that windows Printer--> give ur jetdirect printers ip in that tab & select postscript section .
I thing its same on Mandrake
 
Old 01-20-2004, 12:07 PM   #3
carlmarshall
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Distribution: Centos 5
Posts: 133

Rep: Reputation: 16
Teo,

What sort of printer? How is it connected? To what? Windows or Linux?

Carl.
 
Old 01-20-2004, 12:42 PM   #4
metalaid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Panama
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Sorry for the lack of info.

It is an HP Officejet printer connected to a PC running WIndows XP.
I need to access it through the network from my Mandrake 9.2 release.
I read somewhere that you need SAMBA to be able to do this so I downloaded it and installed it
Don't know how to use it or how to access it using KDE.

Please let me know if you can help,
Thanks much,
Teo
 
Old 01-20-2004, 01:08 PM   #5
carlmarshall
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Distribution: Centos 5
Posts: 133

Rep: Reputation: 16
Samba is intended for use the other way around, sharing Linux hardware with windows workstations.

I suspect that you use the Officejet for scanning etc. on the Win XP system, so that rules out the obvious choice of a basic print server.

I believe that HP do a print server (JetDirect unit) which allows scanning via the network, though I think that they only work with certain models of OfficeJet (and probably cost an arm and a leg).

With one of those, you could simply print to an LPR printer from either operating system. You'd need the HP tools to do the scanning on the XP system though.

Carl.
 
Old 01-20-2004, 01:38 PM   #6
metalaid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Panama
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
But how would I add the printer to my Mandrake laptop?
I don't care about the scanning really, that would be for something down the road.
All I want is to be able to add the printer to my Mandrake so I can send print jobs to my XP computer.

Thanks a lot for your help so far :-)

Teo
 
Old 01-21-2004, 04:20 AM   #7
carlmarshall
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Distribution: Centos 5
Posts: 133

Rep: Reputation: 16
Teo,

If it's just for printing, then any basic print server device will generally do. They typically come with windows software to perform the basic configuration, e.g. IP address and portname (some portnames are fixed).

Configure an appropriate IP address on the unit and then set the printer as being an LPR printer on your linux system. You should be able to print directly to the print server device. Don't forget to use IP address and portname.

As for the windows system, you also add this as an LPR printer. Add the printer as a local printer, but choose to "create a new port" and select "Standard TCP/IP port". When asked for the IP address and port name, give it those you set in the device config.

You should now be able to use either system to print.

Carl.
 
Old 01-21-2004, 03:14 PM   #8
eyewittness
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: SuSe 9.0
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: 15
You could also simply use samba + Swat +cups that will do the trick....

EyeWiTTneSS
 
Old 01-21-2004, 03:18 PM   #9
metalaid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Panama
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Got it up and running, thanks much to everyone!!

Teo
 
Old 01-21-2004, 03:22 PM   #10
eyewittness
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: SuSe 9.0
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: 15
tell us how u fixed it..... so people can learn from it...

EyeWiTTneSS
 
Old 01-21-2004, 10:53 PM   #11
youssefe2k
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: 15
yes please share the info how did u get it working.... can some one explain the print server thing in more detail ...... how would u use xp as an lpd print server?

thanx a lot
 
Old 01-22-2004, 04:31 AM   #12
eyewittness
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: SuSe 9.0
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: 15
youssefe2k: one post about that is enough....
 
Old 01-22-2004, 08:11 AM   #13
metalaid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Panama
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hey guys!
Ok, this is how I did it.

In KDE I went into the KDE Icon, then to Configuration and finally to Configure your Computer.

After that I clicked on Hardware and PrinterDrake.
Then I just went to Add a Printer.
Select SMB printer connected to the network (Windows 90/2000/NT)
After that, you need to specify the printer name shared name on the Windows network and if you want add the location and description.

After that, you should be ready to go.

Let me know if you run into some problems,

Teo :-)
 
Old 01-23-2004, 12:38 AM   #14
youssefe2k
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: 15
did u need to do any samba configs to get it working? what share name did u enter? \\server\printer? or just printer? did u create a user in the windows pc or did u leave the user and passwd field empty?

thanx a lot
 
Old 03-09-2004, 11:58 PM   #15
BlueTrane
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
I found it much easier to use the KDE built in utility than the Mandrake one. You can find it in the KDE Control Center. Make sure you're in Advanced mode to add printers.

Good luck.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to add network printer? shadkong Linux - Networking 1 05-20-2005 11:28 AM
add printer godders48 Linux - Newbie 3 12-21-2004 06:17 AM
How to add a network printer to RH 9.0 szf2 Linux - Networking 1 10-14-2003 03:54 PM
setup printer on client machine(slackware 8) to server (slackware7) network printer changwoo Slackware 9 05-02-2003 06:37 PM
how can i add a printer that is not listed in the "Red Hat Printer Config?" kublador Linux - Newbie 2 03-05-2003 09:37 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration