LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE
User Name
Password
SUSE / openSUSE This Forum is for the discussion of Suse Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2005, 06:25 PM   #1
fannymites
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 242

Rep: Reputation: 30
Cannot boot other os's from suse bootloader


I've been using grub in ubuntu as my main bootloader and I now want to change to the suse's bootloader cos it looks nice.

My os's go like this -
hda1 - ubuntu breezy
hda5 - ubuntu dapper
hda6 - Fedora Core 4
hdb1 - Windows XP
hdb5 - Suse

ubuntu's grub is installed on the mbr of disk 1 (/dev/hda)

In ubuntu's grub I use rootnoverify (hdx,x) chainloader +1 to boot all the other os's (so I don't have to keep updating it whenever a kernel is updated on one of the others) and set the bootloaders in the other os's to boot from their own partition.

Now, with the suse bootloader setup in the same way it's not booting anything except itself, which points the the actual kernel.
I'm thinking it may be something to do with suse being on the second disk, though grub is installed on the first disk's mbr.

Can anyone shed any light on this? I've tried all sorts of different combinations but it will only boot the others if I point grub the kernels
 
Old 11-14-2005, 09:09 PM   #2
jailbait
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Blue Ridge Mountain
Distribution: Linux Mint 17, Debian 8
Posts: 7,865

Rep: Reputation: 311Reputation: 311Reputation: 311Reputation: 311
"Now, with the suse bootloader setup in the same way it's not booting anything except itself, which points the the actual kernel."

Could you post /boot/grub/menu.lst of your SuSE system?

----------------------------
Steve Stites
 
Old 11-14-2005, 09:10 PM   #3
bigrigdriver
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Jul 2002
Location: East Centra Illinois, USA
Distribution: Debian stable
Posts: 5,908

Rep: Reputation: 354Reputation: 354Reputation: 354Reputation: 354
It would be helpful to see the suse /boot/grub/menu.lst, and suse /etc/fstab. A simple typo is all it takes to cripple it. You might also include the Ubuntu grub.conf and fstab for comparison.

Basically, grub is grub. Shouldn't work differently on one distro than on another, unless they're different versions.
 
Old 11-15-2005, 01:30 AM   #4
fannymites
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Sorry, I had every intention of posting my suse menu.lst as I was typing but I must have been distracted.
The matter has just been resolved. I've had problems with various config files I've altered being overwritten in suse and it seems this was the case again. Suse sets up the chainloader entries like this chainloader (hdx,x) +1 which wasn't working and each time I altered menu.lst, upon reboot the chainloader entries wre being reset.
Well I don't know what I've done differently but the changes have stuck now and all os's are booting fine.
 
Old 11-15-2005, 04:48 AM   #5
saikee
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Distribution: Any free distro.
Posts: 3,398
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 112Reputation: 112
Look chainloading only works if there is a boot loader in each root partition you want to multi-boot.

So the solution is dead simple. Just boot into any Linux and replicate its boot loader in its root partition.

As an example if you want to replicate Linux's boot loader in hda7 "when" you are inside that Linux and has the root privilege, just type

lilo -b /dev/hda7 <----------if Lilo is used
grub-install /dev/hda7 <----------if Grub is used

It is a piece of cake because my Suse is booting 50+ systems this way.

Ubuntu, Fedora and Suse are Grub believers but the above can be applied to any Linux.

DOS, Windows, XP, BSD or Solaris when installed will have the boot loader "automatically" inside the root partition. The reason is that these buggers cannot live without being installed in a bootable primary partition.

Last edited by saikee; 11-15-2005 at 04:54 AM.
 
Old 11-15-2005, 07:01 PM   #6
fannymites
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally posted by saikee
Look chainloading only works if there is a boot loader in each root partition you want to multi-boot
Quote:
Originally posted by me
n ubuntu's grub I use rootnoverify (hdx,x) chainloader +1 to boot all the other os's (so I don't have to keep updating it whenever a kernel is updated on one of the others) and set the bootloaders in the other os's to boot from their own partition.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootloader settings to boot from second HD? sard Debian 2 03-11-2005 07:29 AM
SuSE bootloader will not boot Win XP orange400 Linux - Software 4 01-02-2005 02:04 PM
Suse 9.2 Linux is the best I've seen than any other OS'S Fujitsu SUSE / openSUSE 1 12-16-2004 12:47 PM
Reconstructing Lilo Bootloader to boot triple OS's dolphans1 Mandriva 2 10-26-2004 04:30 AM
using grub to boot multiple linux os's Smerk Linux - Software 9 03-21-2003 12:07 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration