LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2005, 07:00 AM   #1
marjolaine
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: mandrake 10.2
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
modem does not dial


Hi,

I have just installed mandrake 10.2. Everything works fine but I can not get my modem to dial to my ISP. I have an Intel Corp. 536EP V.92 modem.

This is what I have tried so far:

I installed the modem driver (intel-536ep-4.69.1-mdk10.1.smtp.tgz)

To install the driver I installed the kernel source (linux-2.6.10-1.mdk)

The driver seems to be well installed with /dev/modem pointing to /dev/536ep

I configured my ISP connection through Kppp. When I query the modem, through kppp it seems ok. When I try to connect it connects but hands during the initialisation. The Kppp returns lots of square string during the ´nitialising modem/ Expecting OK) procedure.

I know that my ISP configuration is correct because i basically copied it from the one I used on a previous computer running under Debian.

How can I get my modem to dial? What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your help.
 
Old 04-06-2005, 07:03 AM   #2
Thoreau
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: /var/log/cabin
Distribution: All
Posts: 1,167

Rep: Reputation: 45
It's a software winmodem.

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scri...6ep-4.69.1.tgz

install the driver.
 
Old 04-06-2005, 07:04 AM   #3
Thoreau
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: /var/log/cabin
Distribution: All
Posts: 1,167

Rep: Reputation: 45
PS- You need to compile it. You are using the wrong driver for the wrong kernel.
 
Old 04-06-2005, 07:38 AM   #4
marjolaine
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: mandrake 10.2
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
modem does not dial

Hi again,

I went to the link you provided, downloaded the driver and installed it and I am back where i started. When I query the modem in Kppp it says: looking for modem, modem ready, and returns empty fields in the ATI query box.

Is there something I must do with the kernel now in order to be able to dial to the modem?

Sorry but I am a real newby.
 
Old 04-06-2005, 08:45 AM   #5
Thoreau
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: /var/log/cabin
Distribution: All
Posts: 1,167

Rep: Reputation: 45
It's a software modem, so it's /dev/ttyS04 which is an emulated serial port. Disable PNP in your BIOS, if you haven't already, as a caveat.
 
Old 04-07-2005, 12:00 PM   #6
marjolaine
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: mandrake 10.2
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
modem does not dial

Dear Thoreau

I am a beginner here so I might have missed something simple. I went into my BIOS and set the PNP to "off" but that did not change anything. I have just installed wvdial to see if I could get more info on what is wrong and I get the following message "bad modem adress /dev/modem". Now when I installed the modem driver, it automatically creates my character file /dev/modem which is linked to /dev/536ep. I am not sure how to tell the computer to look for /dev/ttys04.

One question, although I have installed the kernel source, I have not run "make config" because I thought the modem installation automatically updates the modules. Do I need to run make config and rebuild my kernel?
 
Old 04-07-2005, 06:55 PM   #7
Thoreau
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: /var/log/cabin
Distribution: All
Posts: 1,167

Rep: Reputation: 45
make xconfig
make bzImage modules modules_install

I don't know what you mean by make config. That's not a command. There is a make menuconfig at CLI. But nothing else. Compiling a kernel properly is not easy, read the how-to on mandrake's site.

http://doc.mandrivalinux.com/Mandrak...l-chapter.html
 
Old 04-14-2005, 03:51 AM   #8
marjolaine
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: mandrake 10.2
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
modem does not dial

Hi Thoreau

I have not made much progress. I have contacted the people from Linmodem and they are helping me as well. My modem was conflicting with my network card. I sorted that out but now the installation of the driver does not complete. There is a problem with installing the module Intel536.o. Linmodem think it might have to do with the fact that I am using Mandrake 10.2 and that there are no available drivers for that version yet.

This is the error message I got:
running kernel 2.6.10-1mdk
installing hamregistry, used for persistant storage
installing Intel 536 driver
mandrake Intel536_boot script
starting module and utilities
error loading Intel536
done
 
Old 04-14-2005, 11:04 PM   #9
Thoreau
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: /var/log/cabin
Distribution: All
Posts: 1,167

Rep: Reputation: 45
There are typically access to winmodem drivers for Mandrake when you join their club. You can download it from their repository when it's available. Or you can buy an external modem, which are guarenteed to work, since it's a hardware modem. Or you can get a PCI hardware modem.

Both are expensive- 40-90 bucks, but you will not have this issue ever again if you get it.

Also, since you are new, you may wish to try KDE's kppp application to configure your modem for dialout.

And honestly, if the linmodem guys don't think there is a driver for your OS yet, it's a good bet that they are right. You can email fafane@mandriva.com or another at Mandrake to see if they offer the driver to club members. Good luck.
 
Old 05-06-2005, 07:10 AM   #10
Emmanuel_uk
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Mandriva mostly, vector 5.1, tried many.Suse gone from HD because bad Novell/Zinblows agreement
Posts: 1,606

Rep: Reputation: 53
Kernel version and intel 536ep patches

Marjolaine

I have mandy 10.1 CE and a 536ep (that only works at 33000 by the way).
I plan to upgrade to 10.2 this week-end, so I had done some searches already.

There are some known problems with kernel above 2.6.8 or 2.6.9? (not sure)

You seem to use (linux-2.6.10-1.mdk)
for 2.6.10 see
http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/arch.../msg00280.html

W/w the kernel version in this search you should find some great info
http://www.google.co.uk/search?num=5...l+2.6.10&meta=

"intel536 and 537 drivers need a small patch while installing for kernel 2.6.11"
is another thread in

Please let us know if you get it to work.
Have the linmodem folks told you more than the above?

I might try on my PC this week-end, or sometimes very soon.
Am a beginner as well.

Daft suggestion, have you tried (intel-536ep-4.69.1-mdk10.1.umtp.tgz)
if this exists (instead of the smtp version). It should make no difference,
but why not try as well.
 
Old 05-11-2005, 01:15 AM   #11
Emmanuel_uk
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Mandriva mostly, vector 5.1, tried many.Suse gone from HD because bad Novell/Zinblows agreement
Posts: 1,606

Rep: Reputation: 53
Lightbulb success intel 536ep mandrake 10.1CE to 10.2 kernel 2.6.11-6mdk

Marjolaine

As promised have upgraded to 10.2 (madriva 2005 limited edition)
and managed to make my 536ep work (see below).

By the way you said problem with Intel536.o
I am surprised, it should rather be Intel536.ko

In your case you will need to go to intel-536EP-2.56.76.1
directory first and do make uninstall

Let us know how this goes

Newbee, successfuly upgraded from mandrake 10.1 CE to 10.2
doing what is below (may help others, hope so anyway)
using the intel driver version intel-536EP-2.56.76.1
from intel-536ep-4.69.1-mdk10.1-up.tgz
under kernel 2.6.11-6mdk for mandrake 10.2
There are some minor changes compared to
[1] http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/arch.../msg00280.html
[2] http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/arch.../msg00881.html
I did not need patch [2].
I could not apply in full the patch with the command
patch -p0 [1] even after some editing.
I had to do the patch partly by hand. What the patch does
in newbee terms is
from the if(from_user_space) is to remove "int
from_user_space,"
and remove a large portion of code, keep the while loop,
remove one bracket near the end
(ignore the txt between @@). The removal are indicated by a
minus sign.
Also I had to disable the pm_access hence the //. (because
the symbol is not found otherwise)

[16-05-05 added unbuntu ref]
There is a howto at (not by myself)
http://www.ubuntulinux.org/wiki/Inte...xEPModemHowto/

If you are more clued up with patch, then you might be able to
copy
between snip and snap into say mypatch.txt (maybe keep the last blank line).
Copy mypatch.txt just in the directory above intel-536EP-2.56.76.1
(you will have a backup copy of intel-536EP-2.56.76.1)
and as user or root do from within directory above
intel-536EP-2.56.76.1
patch -p0 <mypatch.txt
Then do the usual make etc.

[edit the wrapping of the patch is wrong, will correct asap]
[13/05/05 Copied from patchfile directly, wrapping looks ok now]



________________snip

diff -ur intel-536EP-2.56.76.1/coredrv/coredrv.c intel-536EP-2.56.76.1.nowpatched/coredrv/coredrv.c
--- intel-536EP-2.56.76.1/coredrv/coredrv.c 2005-05-10 20:20:31.000000000 +0100
+++ intel-536EP-2.56.76.1.nowpatched/coredrv/coredrv.c 2005-05-10 18:56:51.000000000 +0100
@@ -858,7 +858,7 @@
asmlinkage void kScheduleDPC(void)
{
#ifdef CONFIG_PM
- pm_access(power_dev);
+ //pm_access(power_dev);
#endif
#if defined(TARGET_CATAWBA)
dpc_function( 0 );
diff -ur intel-536EP-2.56.76.1/coredrv/softserial.h intel-536EP-2.56.76.1.nowpatched/coredrv/softserial.h
--- intel-536EP-2.56.76.1/coredrv/softserial.h 2005-05-10 20:20:31.000000000 +0100
+++ intel-536EP-2.56.76.1.nowpatched/coredrv/softserial.h 2005-05-10 18:44:32.000000000 +0100
@@ -86,7 +86,7 @@
int softserial_open (struct tty_struct*, struct file*);
void softserial_put_char (struct tty_struct*, unsigned char);
void softserial_set_termios (struct tty_struct*, struct termios*);
-int softserial_write (struct tty_struct*, int, const unsigned char*, int);
+int softserial_write (struct tty_struct*, const unsigned char*, int);
int softserial_ioctl (struct tty_struct*, struct file*, unsigned int, unsigned long);


diff -ur intel-536EP-2.56.76.1/coredrv/softserial_io.c intel-536EP-2.56.76.1.nowpatched/coredrv/softserial_io.c
--- intel-536EP-2.56.76.1/coredrv/softserial_io.c 2005-05-10 20:20:31.000000000 +0100
+++ intel-536EP-2.56.76.1.nowpatched/coredrv/softserial_io.c 2005-05-10 18:50:06.000000000 +0100
@@ -55,7 +55,6 @@
//=============================================================================
static DECLARE_MUTEX(softserial_write_sem);
int softserial_write(struct tty_struct* ptty,
- int from_user_space,
const unsigned char* input_buffer,
int write_count_asked) //why is it a signed int?
{
@@ -73,41 +72,7 @@
//printk("softserial:softserial_write()\n");
//printk("write: fus%d, count%d\n",from_user_space, write_count_asked);

- if(from_user_space)
- {
- down(&softserial_write_sem); //this may not be enough
- while(write_count_asked - written_count > 0)
- {
- softcore_space = G.softcore.write_free();
- if(softcore_space == 0) break; //try again? potential infinite loop?
- //printk("space free %d\n",softcore_space);
-
- if(write_count_asked > softcore_space)
- {
- copy_size = softcore_space;
- }
- else
- {
- copy_size = write_count_asked;
- }
-
- copy_from_user(G.softcore.tx_fifo, input_buffer_ptr, copy_size);
- //printk("tx_fifo[0]=%c copysize=%d",*(G.softcore.tx_fifo),copy_size);
- // if(copy_size <= 0)
- // {
- // return(-EFAULT);
- // }
-
-
- G.softcore.write(copy_size);
-
- input_buffer_ptr += copy_size;
- written_count += copy_size;
- }
- up(&softserial_write_sem);
- }
- else //data is from kernel space
- {
+
while(write_count_asked - written_count > 0)
{
softcore_space = G.softcore.write_free();
@@ -127,7 +92,7 @@
input_buffer_ptr += copy_size;
written_count += copy_size;
}
- }
+

return(written_count);
}
________________snap

Last edited by Emmanuel_uk; 05-16-2005 at 01:03 AM.
 
Old 07-31-2005, 04:03 PM   #12
Trio3b
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Distribution: MDV 2008.1, PCLinuxOS,
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: 30
modem connection

Have been following your post about Intel 536ep internal PCI modem. I got mine to finally work several months back with Mandrake 10.0. Unfortunately all my documentation is on my other PC in storage at the moment.

I assume you are using a dialup connection. Make sure your ISP is compatible with linux. ( I don't mean do they support linux, I mean do they require some proprietary authentication etc.) As of several mos. ago, AOL was not linux friendly (except for Linspire and some goofy peng dialer)
My suggestion at this time is to go to your local thrift shop and buy an external serial hardware modem ( not a USB external). Here's why in order of importance:

1. They require NO DRIVERS !! Even if you purchase a linux compatible hardware modem, it is likely you WILL spend hours or even days locating drivers . ( my 536ep modem came with drivers, but for a different kernel and I had to spend quite a while locating updated drivers)

2. They can be had for $5 or less

3. They give better connect speeds than some internal PCI modems. My $3 Diamond Supraexpress external serial modem transfers at 4.7 kb/s whereas my $20 536ep internal PCI modem transfers at 3.2 kb/s

4. Less grey hair. Getting these to work is not ALL about learning linux as much of it has to do with finding correct drivers

Type in ATZ into your Kppp "query modem" screen....if it comes back OK, then your modem is installed and the error messages may refer to authentication problems either in the Kppp settings or your ISP doesn't like linux.

If I get my PC out of storage I will try to post my intallation procedure

Good luck!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dial-In PPP dial-in server/ Cable-modem & LAN / Setting up "dannyboyOnline" dannyboy259 Linux - Networking 2 01-12-2007 12:40 AM
SUSE 9.2 detect my [B]ADSL USB-Ethernet Modem-Router [/B] as a [B]Dial up modem[/B]. myprecius Linux - Hardware 0 06-27-2005 09:21 AM
Modem to Modem connection to test dial-up webcam server dazz Linux - Newbie 2 06-01-2005 04:43 AM
Dial into modem dnorseman Linux - Networking 1 06-18-2004 02:48 AM
Dial with modem... Obscure Slackware 21 11-17-2003 02:32 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration