LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE
User Name
Password
SUSE / openSUSE This Forum is for the discussion of Suse Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2005, 04:04 PM   #1
kspades
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 0
VMware 5 and SUSE 9.3 host - anyone got it to work?


As usual during install it breaks when it looks to compile drivers for your system. Usually there are fan submitted patches that made 4.5 work, but so far there has been none. If you got this to work, help me out here, what am I doing wrong?
 
Old 04-23-2005, 05:49 PM   #2
crazibri
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Distribution: OS X, SuSE, RH, Debian, XP
Posts: 377

Rep: Reputation: 31
Well I had experience w/ VMWare 5 beta version with Suse 9.2 and I got it working but it is a bit tricky because you have to install the VMtools pack before you can boot into KDE (KDM).

Make sure when you go through the text prompts on the Suse Install program that you pick the C compiler options so you can compile (gcc) the vmtools for your display and tools to work ok.

When the install finishes it doesnt boot into X because you need to install the tools. Basically for login type root, then your password. Then on your VMware menu select the option to install the tools.

Then you just have to mount it to your cd location... probably something like mount /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom.

Then you just have to cd to your /media/cdrom location and then do a copy to your /root folder (or wherever you want) and then untar it and follow the readme instructions.

Hope this helps!

Last edited by crazibri; 04-23-2005 at 06:08 PM.
 
Old 04-24-2005, 03:07 AM   #3
kspades
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 11

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Im not sure, but it sounds like you are reffering to SUSE as a guest OS.

I was asking about SUSE 9.3 as a host, so I can run XP as a guest, the VMware 5 installer went up to the point where it had to compile the modules then it bombed out.
 
Old 04-25-2005, 01:02 AM   #4
crazibri
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Distribution: OS X, SuSE, RH, Debian, XP
Posts: 377

Rep: Reputation: 31
You're right, I missed the host part.
Sorry thought you were talking about Suse guest. ASSUME = well you know what it means

I'll give it a shot at some point, but I'm on Suse 9.2 w/ KDE 3.4 so I wont be of much help
 
Old 04-25-2005, 03:41 PM   #5
Ageless
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
5.0 VMware is pretty easy to setup under 9.3 suse. You should have 2 packages a rpm and a tar.gz package. Use YaST to run the vmware-workstation-5.0.0-xxxxxx.i386.rpm which will prompt YaST to install the related packages. You will need your Suse 9.3 setup disk, if cds youll need disk 2,4,5. Follow those prompts in YaST. Then extract the vmware-workstation-5.0.0-xxxxxx.i386.tar.gz and copy the folder over to /usr/local/scr/.

Then open the vmware-distrib folder and execute ./vmware-install.pl. I think I might have had to chmod +x the file before executing. Once installed it will ask if you want to run the config say yes. Youll have to agree to the license agreement and then answer a few simple questions to complete the config. After that you should see on the Kmenu under Systems a new folder "more programs --> VMware workstation"

Click to run and then on the menu enter your license key and your done. I couldnt get the 3d support to work for the video card, but it apparently works well for 8500 and lower ati cards. You can go to vmware.com/support to get more info on the 3d video acceleration support. If any one can get 3d support for a 9800 pro it would be appreciated, Id like to try some 3d games on the virtual machine.
 
Old 04-26-2005, 05:16 PM   #6
kspades
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 11

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Sounds good...I'll try and report. one thing wasnt clear, do I copy the vmware-distrib directory to /usr/local/src or do I copy the contents of vmware-distrib to /usr/local/src/ ?

cp -r ~/vmware-distrib /usr/local/src

or

cp -r ~/vmware-distrib/* /usr/local/src
 
Old 04-27-2005, 11:37 AM   #7
Ageless
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
I dont really think it matters that the folder is located there exactly, but yes I copied the folder and contents /usr/local/src/vmware-distrib/
 
Old 04-27-2005, 07:46 PM   #8
kspades
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 11

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
it didnt work, it still crapped out.
Actually when I tried to do a yast -i VMWare.xxx.rpm from command line, yast just crapped out...so I just did a rpm -i to install it.
 
Old 04-29-2005, 09:57 AM   #9
fireedo
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Indonesia,Sidoarjo
Posts: 342

Rep: Reputation: 30
I've installed vmware workstation 5 but I don't know where is it? (doesn't show up on the Kmenu)
 
Old 04-29-2005, 12:33 PM   #10
crazibri
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Distribution: OS X, SuSE, RH, Debian, XP
Posts: 377

Rep: Reputation: 31
In Konsole do a "find / vmware*"

see what it reports back to you... or even better use the fine option in the Kmenu. Then maybe you can find it that way.
Usually Suse puts stuff in your /usr folder somewhere... sometimes in /opt
 
Old 05-01-2005, 02:44 AM   #11
fireedo
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Indonesia,Sidoarjo
Posts: 342

Rep: Reputation: 30
I know there is somewhere ...
but how I can run this program to install e.g windows XP?
 
Old 05-20-2005, 06:23 PM   #12
equinox
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 846

Rep: Reputation: 30
I know how!

You need to have your kernel sources and devel tools installed (i.e gcc, make etc...)

# cd /usr/src/linux

# make mrproper

# make cloneconfig

# make prepare

then run

# vmware-config.pl

And enjoy
 
Old 05-30-2005, 04:50 PM   #13
kspades
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 11

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally posted by equinox
I know how!

You need to have your kernel sources and devel tools installed (i.e gcc, make etc...)

# cd /usr/src/linux

# make mrproper

# make cloneconfig

# make prepare

then run

# vmware-config.pl

And enjoy
you da MAN!
This worked perfectly, thanks.

Care to explain how/what your method did? I know those 'makes' are part of normal kernel compilation, but why would VMware break because of my src tree?
 
Old 06-20-2005, 09:22 AM   #14
malevolent
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: SuSE
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally posted by Ageless
5.0 VMware is pretty easy to setup under 9.3 suse. You should have 2 packages a rpm and a tar.gz package. Use YaST to run the vmware-workstation-5.0.0-xxxxxx.i386.rpm which will prompt YaST to install the related packages. You will need your Suse 9.3 setup disk, if cds youll need disk 2,4,5. Follow those prompts in YaST. Then extract the vmware-workstation-5.0.0-xxxxxx.i386.tar.gz and copy the folder over to /usr/local/scr/.

Then open the vmware-distrib folder and execute ./vmware-install.pl. I think I might have had to chmod +x the file before executing. Once installed it will ask if you want to run the config say yes. Youll have to agree to the license agreement and then answer a few simple questions to complete the config. After that you should see on the Kmenu under Systems a new folder "more programs --> VMware workstation"

Click to run and then on the menu enter your license key and your done. I couldnt get the 3d support to work for the video card, but it apparently works well for 8500 and lower ati cards. You can go to vmware.com/support to get more info on the 3d video acceleration support. If any one can get 3d support for a 9800 pro it would be appreciated, Id like to try some 3d games on the virtual machine.
i installed vmware with kpackage with no problems....

If you have problems, yo should recompile the entire kernel as said here:
http://home.homefrontus.com/vmware/suse_vmware5.0.html
 
Old 06-20-2005, 10:50 AM   #15
equinox
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 846

Rep: Reputation: 30
Lol clearly you didn't read the rest of the replies :whistle:
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with vmware tools in Suse 9.3 as a guest and Win2k as host crapodino SUSE / openSUSE 2 08-27-2005 04:15 PM
VMWare on SuSE 9.2 Host raptor95368 SUSE / openSUSE 3 06-21-2005 01:42 PM
problems with Networking with SUSE 9.1 guest on VMWARE on W2K host blackbirddh Linux - Networking 1 08-04-2004 06:56 PM
Suse 9.1 as guest OS under vmware 4.5 (XP host): Network problems wmauss Linux - Networking 5 06-20-2004 09:54 AM
Installing Windows on VMware (Host: Suse Linux 9.0) Kurti Linux - Software 2 02-17-2004 09:07 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration