LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2005, 10:14 AM   #1
djib
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: France
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Rep: Reputation: 15
Sid -> Sarge


Hello !
I'm trying to move from sid to sarge. I don't know if it is possible !
I have change the sources in /etc/apt/sources.list so that I have the sarge ones. Then I did apt-get update. After that if I do either apt-get upgrade or apt-get dist-upgrade then nothing happends...
Is that the way to go back to Sarge ?
Thanks.
 
Old 01-13-2005, 10:19 AM   #2
redgren
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Debian,Homebrew
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: 15
Paste the contents of your sources.list here.
 
Old 01-13-2005, 10:49 AM   #3
djib
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: France
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Here they are :

Code:
deb http://debian/debian sarge main non-free contrib
deb-src http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian sarge main non-free contrib
deb http://non-us.debian.org/debian-non-US sarge/non-US main contrib non-free
deb-src http://non-us.debian.org/debian-non-US sarge/non-US main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ sarge/updates main contrib non-free
 
Old 01-13-2005, 11:27 AM   #4
m_yates
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Upstate
Distribution: Debian, Mint, Mythbuntu
Posts: 1,247

Rep: Reputation: 78
You will have to set /etc/apt/preferences to downgrade packages to older testing versions from the newer unstable ones. The downgrading can cause problems though. If you want to risk it, you should give testing versions of packages a priority greater than 1000 so they are downgraded. You can make a /etc/apt/preferences file like:
Code:
X-comment: Force downgrade to testing.
Package: *
Pin: release a=testing
Pin-Priority: 1100
The upon running
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
the testing version of all packages will be installed, even if it means downgrading. Not sure what errors you will have after that though. If you try it, please post the results. I am curious to see how smoothly it goes.
 
Old 01-13-2005, 01:10 PM   #5
djib
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: France
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Spooky ! But I will try ! Maybe this week end, I don't have time now (this is if I have to fix up things...)
 
Old 01-13-2005, 02:56 PM   #6
m_yates
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Upstate
Distribution: Debian, Mint, Mythbuntu
Posts: 1,247

Rep: Reputation: 78
It probably won't be that much of a concern. I think problems may arise when newer versions use different configuration files than the old ones. However, you should be able to fix that by purging the configuration files, then reinstalling. I think if a package causes a problem, you can do:
Code:
apt-get --purge remove <package>
apt-get install package
and it should fix it. Good luck!
 
Old 01-14-2005, 05:18 AM   #7
djib
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: France
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I have done what you said m_yates... I had no problems, it did downgrade all the packages and now everything seems to work ok...
I let you know if things go wrong !
 
Old 02-03-2005, 08:15 AM   #8
djib
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: France
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Well, everything still works all right.
I had to reinstall some packages because they were acting stangely, but no major problem.
Thanks for your help !
 
Old 04-23-2005, 05:41 PM   #9
R00ts
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Austin TX, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.10, Fedora 16
Posts: 547

Rep: Reputation: 30
I am doing this right now. At first I just wanted a couple updates from sid that I didn't want to wait for in sarge. Then seeing how wonderful it was to have very up-to-date packages and hearing that others ran sid fine most of the time I got spoiled, and upgraded everything in my system. That was the wrong decision for me to make. It somehow messed up my graphics library and a part of the video engine in the game I'm developing in my sig was seg faulting, but there was absolutely no reason it should have done so because the particular routine it happened on worked for everyone else and had been stable and untouched for over 2 months. Then suddenly today after upgrading some video codec all the sudden none of my GUI apps started up ok, but they were invisible, as if they weren't even there. I knew they were though, because I saw the open processes.


So I'll just have to wait and see what happends now, but I hope hope hope that going back to sarge fixes everything, and then I can start seriously working on my game again. I shall post back upon success/failure/death.



EDIT

Well nothing is broken, but nothing that was broken in sid is fixed either.

Last edited by R00ts; 04-23-2005 at 06:23 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
woody sarge and sid pirozzi Debian 2 12-01-2004 12:39 PM
Is sarge the same as sid ? beto0021 Debian 2 07-14-2004 08:56 PM
Sid or Sarge r3dhatter Debian 6 07-10-2004 12:55 PM
How to upgrade from Sarge to Sid? Rory in Toronto Debian 7 06-07-2004 09:36 PM
Sid or Sarge? iotc247 Debian 8 06-06-2004 09:55 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration