LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2004, 03:47 PM   #1
eantoranz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Distribution: Kubuntu, Debian, Knoppix
Posts: 2,092
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 90
Question Is my celestia incomplete?


Hey, guys... I installed Celestia on my linux box. It ROCKS!!!!

However I noticed that there are things I'd like to see that I haven't been able to. For example... I can't see the Voyagers, or Cassini... just to name a couple. I've seen folks that have published pictures of them on the internet made with celestia.

I installed two packages on my mandrake 9.2:
celestia-kde-textures-1.3.1-3mdk
celestia-kde-1.3.1-3mdk

What am I missing?
 
Old 03-16-2004, 04:05 PM   #2
tk31337
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Distribution: Linux Mint
Posts: 194

Rep: Reputation: 32
Your Celestia isn't incomplete (subjectively), but that's simply what it comes with by default. Check out "http://www.shatters.net/celestia/" for "Add-ons" (this page "http://www.shatters.net/celestia/extras.html"). You can get all kinds of space craft models, extra planets and comets (even fictional stuff like the Death Star), and my personal favorite: high-res textures. With a DDS compressed texture of Earth at 8192x4096, you can zoom into just the US and still see everything in detail. Celestia is so modular and extensible that the possibilities are endless! Check out this guide to make your own add-ons --> "http://www.donandcarla.com/Celestia/".
 
Old 11-01-2004, 02:46 PM   #3
quordandis
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi All,

Ok, so I'm hoping someone could help me out here. I just downloaded the celestia source, and I'd like to compile it on my linux box. However, when I run the ./configure --with-kde command, it runs through the configure until it ends abruptly with the last line saying this:
"...
checking whether to be pedantic... no
checking whether to do profiling... no
checking whether to enable GLUT... no
checking whether to enable GTK... no
checking whether to enable Gnome... no
checking whether to enable KDE... yes
checking for gcc... (cached) gcc
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... (cached) yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... (cached) yes
checking dependency style of gcc... (cached) gcc3
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... (cached) no
checking whether g++ accepts -g... (cached) no
checking dependency style of g++... (cached) none
checking whether g++ supports -Wundef... no
checking whether g++ supports -Wno-long-long... no
checking whether g++ supports -Wnon-virtual-dtor... no
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... /lib/cpp
checking whether g++ supports -frepo... no
checking whether g++ supports -instances=explicit... no
checking for X... no
checking for deflate in -lz... no
configure: error: zlib not found. <----Last line
"

At first I thought I didn't have zlib installed, so I downloaded the latest version from www.zlib.org (ver 1.2.2) and I installed that, and it seems to be working fine since I was able to run the test program that came included with it successfully. I'm still relatively new to linux, so if ANYONE could help me with this compilation problem, I would be FOREVER greatful! I used to have Celestia in Windows, but finally made the switch over to linux. I'm running the StartCom Multimedia distribution (based on RH9).

Thanks in advance,
Quordandis
 
Old 11-01-2004, 02:49 PM   #4
eantoranz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Distribution: Kubuntu, Debian, Knoppix
Posts: 2,092

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 90
My first guess is that you installed zlib.... but not its sources (and that's what you need in order to compile)
 
Old 11-01-2004, 03:39 PM   #5
quordandis
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
Ok,

So, we're making some progress, how do I install the sources then? Where do they need to be? Where can I get them? Etc...? Tell me what I need to know and/or where I can find the info that will tell me what I need to know...

Thanks,
Quordandis
 
Old 11-01-2004, 03:53 PM   #6
eantoranz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Distribution: Kubuntu, Debian, Knoppix
Posts: 2,092

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 90
OK... sounds like ur a newbie.

Look.... you are using red hat, right? RH has something called RPM for handling packages. The CDs (or cd) that you used to install RH probably has a bunch of rpms. I don't know if red hat has a GUI application to install RPMs. If you happen to find one, find the way to install the sources of zlib.

In case you don't find any GUI application that does that, try to find the rpms whose names are zlib with "src" in the name of the rpm file (something like zlib-4.3.2-src.rpm..... I'm just guessing here). If you happen to find one, then try to install it from the shell (rpm -Uvh filename) (it's something only root can do... don't even try with a mortal user).

In case you don't find the file, then try browsing the internet. I normally look in rpm.pbone.net or www.rpmfind.net. Normally rpms have dependencies that you have to fullfil before installing a given package.....

Good luck!
 
Old 11-01-2004, 04:01 PM   #7
quordandis
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks Man!

Sorry for being a PAIN IN THE A**, but like I said, Linux is still very new to me... I'll let you know how finding the sources goes... ;-)

Thanks again,
Quordandis
 
Old 11-01-2004, 04:24 PM   #8
quordandis
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
Ok, so I finally found the src RPM for zlib.... I load up terminal, and log in with su...I then type "rpm -Uvh zlib-1.1.4-8.1.src.rpm" and then it tells me that it can't create /usr/src/startcom/SOURCES

So, I go ahead, and create those directories, and run the rpm command again, and here's what it tells me:

-----------------
[root@ezra-linux Desktop]# rpm -Uvh zlib-1.1.4-8.1.src.rpm
1:zlib warning: user buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: group buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: user buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: group buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: user buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: group buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: user buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: group buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: user buildsys does not exist - using root
warning: group buildsys does not exist - using root
########################################### [100%]
[root@ezra-linux Desktop]#
---------------------

I figured I try compiling celestia again, but I got the same error, saying it couldn't find zlib.... At a loss here.... What am I doing wrong?

Thanks again,
Quordandis
 
Old 11-01-2004, 04:28 PM   #9
eantoranz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Distribution: Kubuntu, Debian, Knoppix
Posts: 2,092

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 90
Well, man.... you got me!

I suggest starting another thread to solve that problem!
 
Old 11-02-2004, 07:01 PM   #10
320mb
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: pikes peak
Distribution: Slackware, LFS
Posts: 2,577

Rep: Reputation: 48
Zlib depends on: Binutils, Coreutils, GCC, Glibc, Make, Sed

make sure your system has these other packages...........

</edited to save you a headache >
instead of using that idiotic RPM.....just download the "source" and compile
it fresh.........it should install and work way better!!!

Last edited by 320mb; 11-02-2004 at 07:19 PM.
 
Old 11-02-2004, 07:42 PM   #11
quordandis
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
Ok...so, I checked to see if I have those packages installed....and I do...all of 'em are installed....still at a loss...what's going on? :-(

--Quordandis
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
celestia problem zvonSully Debian 2 09-16-2005 03:34 AM
Celestia ERROR: ..... dustynus Linux - Software 1 09-16-2005 03:29 AM
Celestia Installation Probs GlassEyeSlim Linux - Software 0 02-13-2005 07:09 PM
Celestia Troubles guygriffiths Linux - Software 0 10-17-2003 04:21 AM
celestia genghis Linux - Newbie 1 06-28-2003 11:50 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration