LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2020, 05:30 PM   #1
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
dropline GNOME 3.38 - testing


Heya, I wont write much here, but today gnome 3.38 was released and we have ready some testing packages for Slackware64-current.

See the instructions on the droplinegnome.org web site on how to get it installed
and post the issues here in this thread.

Basically this is the direct upgrade from what was 3.36 and therefore you need
to install firstly 3.36 packages and then upgrade them to 3.38.

There are still some missing pieces but in case we will get it done step by step.

Enjoy and dont forget to report back.

Rgds
Saxa
 
Old 09-17-2020, 12:41 AM   #2
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 4,216

Rep: Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434
Hey Saxa, thanks for the hard work
is it possible to test it directly with 3.38 instead of going with 3.36 first?
 
Old 09-17-2020, 05:36 AM   #3
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
Hi Willy, sure, you can but you need to find out what is not included in the 3.38 packages and you need it from the 3.36 repo.
By going further in time we will have updates of the base stuff and therefore those will go into the 3.38 repo, also I am waiting
a bit Slackware current to get all the latest stuff. But yes, surely you can, it is juste easier to install first 3.36 and then
upgrade with the 3.38 packages.

Rgds
Saxa
 
Old 09-17-2020, 08:03 AM   #4
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 4,216

Rep: Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434
i usually test it using a clean installation and start by using the build order for 3.38. See what's missing and adding it to the build order
 
Old 09-17-2020, 08:10 AM   #5
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
Sure, you can use that, the compile-order file in DBS should be ok. Although since I had DLG 3.36 running when I was building the
packages for 3.38 it could be that I missed something.

Anyway, the packages needed should be all listed in the compile-order, but be careful as some of the stuff is still
missing in Slackware and some packages were and will be renamed too, example is libhandy which have to be installed
in both versions 0.0.13 and 1.0.0. So in 3.36 repo you have libhandy named as libhandy for 0.0.13 version but in
3.38 it is named libhandy0 to be able to install both. Same will be with tracker, which I have still to rename the
old one to tracker2 as it seems it can be installed in paralel with tracker3.

I hope that we get the missing pieces of 3.38 in slackware shortly, for now the only package really needed which I had
to upgrade from Slackware current was the gsettings-desktop-schemas. dconf, glib, at-spi-* can all stay the ones shipped
with current.

Rgds
Saxa
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-17-2020, 09:02 AM   #6
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
BTW Willy would be good to hear back from you how the thingy work on a super clean install as my system surely is not the cleanest one and some packages could happen that picked up some strange deps.... who knows
 
Old 09-17-2020, 11:02 AM   #7
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 4,216

Rep: Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434
why not try it on virtual machines?
 
Old 09-17-2020, 12:27 PM   #8
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
I have no time to get a virtual machine up , since I am doing it during my job and working hours.
 
Old 09-20-2020, 11:17 AM   #9
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 4,216

Rep: Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434
I tested on a clean VM with latest -current update and it failed to logged in to desktop without any helpful message
it just said crashed with one button to logout

screenshot: https://imgur.com/a/GXxKstt

after waiting, i got a message, no system tray detected

Last edited by willysr; 09-20-2020 at 11:20 AM.
 
Old 09-20-2020, 01:41 PM   #10
chrisVV
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2010
Posts: 431

Rep: Reputation: 239Reputation: 239Reputation: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by willysr View Post
I tested on a clean VM with latest -current update and it failed to logged in to desktop without any helpful message
it just said crashed with one button to logout

screenshot: https://imgur.com/a/GXxKstt

after waiting, i got a message, no system tray detected
The message about a system tray is bogus because gnome-3 doesn't have a system tray, so I think you can ignore that. I notice that the list of files for dropline's gnome-3.36/3.38 does not include elogind. Do you have that installed? If not you will certainly get this kind of failure. Also, applying ldd to /usr/libexec/gnome-session-binary may tell you if there are any missing dependencies needed to start a gnome session. (I have gnome-3.38 working but I don't use dropline gnome.)
 
Old 09-20-2020, 04:22 PM   #11
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
Yes Willy, Chris is right, ignore the system tray message. If you want to make it go you can add an system tray extension to gnome3.
About what is missing to make it run, would be good to have a session started with startx logged into a file and check whats on,
I am not sure if my packages work with wayland as I have not been able to run it, but Chris has got it.

Try startx > mylog.txt 2>&1
 
Old 09-20-2020, 06:12 PM   #12
reddog83
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2018
Location: Texas
Distribution: Slackware w/ Plasma 5
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
+==============================================================================
| Upgrading gnome-desktop-3.36.6-x86_64-1dl package using ./gnome-desktop-3.38.0-x86_64-1dl.txz
+==============================================================================
Pre-installing package gnome-desktop-3.38.0-x86_64-1dl...
/bin/bash: line 7: syntax error near unexpected token `fi'
/bin/bash: line 7: `fi'
Removing package: gnome-desktop-3.36.6-x86_64-1dl-upgraded-2020-09-20,18:05:35
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/AUTHORS
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/COPYING
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/COPYING-DOCS
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/COPYING.LIB
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/ChangeLog
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/ChangeLog-20020212
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/ChangeLog.pre-git
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/HACKING
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/NEWS
--> Deleting /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/README
--> Deleting /usr/lib64/libgnome-desktop-3.so.19.0.6
--> Deleting empty directory /usr/doc/gnome-desktop-3.36.6/
Verifying package gnome-desktop-3.38.0-x86_64-1dl.txz.
Installing package gnome-desktop-3.38.0-x86_64-1dl.txz:
 
Old 09-20-2020, 06:15 PM   #13
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
This is coming out from the wrongly generated doinst.sh file most probably, I will check whats on thanks.
 
Old 09-20-2020, 09:50 PM   #14
willysr
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jogja, Indonesia
Distribution: Slackware-Current
Posts: 4,216

Rep: Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434Reputation: 1434
it seems chrisVV is correct about missing elogind in gnome-shell and gnome-initial-setup
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-21-2020, 05:08 AM   #15
saxa
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 735

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
Oh of course, this is a requirement, there is no way to get it run without. I though you maybe left out gsettings-desktop-schemas as it is already in slackware, but the slackware one is too old.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing dropline gnome in -current giomat Slackware 68 10-03-2020 01:05 PM
Dropline GNOME 3.8 - testing packages saxa Slackware 124 11-26-2013 06:43 PM
slack-current of dropline ? Hi all :-) slack-current of dropline ? frochet Slackware 2 06-11-2004 11:57 AM
Dropline Gnome or Gnome ICO Slackware 1 12-24-2003 01:28 AM
Dropline Gnome or Gnome? acjt Slackware 13 11-03-2003 02:51 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration