LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2020, 04:53 PM   #1
linuxlicious
Member
 
Registered: May 2011
Posts: 81

Rep: Reputation: 6
Font problem: Boxes instead of characters in some applications


Hello, I'm dealing with a very annoying problem: Since a recent fresh install of Archlinux, I have a problem with fonts in some applications. Some areas that should show legends/labels of functions, show boxes with letters and/or numbers in them. This happened in Audacity and Cecilia so far (see attachments) and I'd rather see the problem fixed than avoiding the applications that have them. I'm using Archlinux with realtime kernel (RT-Linux 5.4) and some applications necessary for my requirements, including said affected applications. I have installed a few fonts recently that I use for my desktop along with pscircle as part of my desktop background. Did I mess something up? If yes, what could it be?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fontglitch.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	119.8 KB
ID:	32398   Click image for larger version

Name:	fontglitch2.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	32399  
 
Old 01-24-2020, 06:19 PM   #2
Crippled
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2015
Distribution: MX Linux 19
Posts: 431

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxlicious View Post
Hello, I'm dealing with a very annoying problem: Since a recent fresh install of Archlinux, I have a problem with fonts in some applications. Some areas that should show legends/labels of functions, show boxes with letters and/or numbers in them. This happened in Audacity and Cecilia so far (see attachments) and I'd rather see the problem fixed than avoiding the applications that have them. I'm using Archlinux with realtime kernel (RT-Linux 5.4) and some applications necessary for my requirements, including said affected applications. I have installed a few fonts recently that I use for my desktop along with pscircle as part of my desktop background. Did I mess something up? If yes, what could it be?
What desktop environment are you using?
 
Old 01-24-2020, 06:38 PM   #3
linuxlicious
Member
 
Registered: May 2011
Posts: 81

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 6
I knew I forgot something lol, I'm using TWM. The thing is I never had any problems with this setup, so I wonder if there is a font that used to be a dependency for Xorg or TWM, but isn't anymore?

Last edited by linuxlicious; 01-24-2020 at 06:54 PM.
 
Old 01-25-2020, 10:47 AM   #4
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,390
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652Reputation: 3652
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxlicious View Post
This happened in Audacity and Cecilia
Only those two?
I cannot find Cecilia in the repos or AUR.
It could well be application specific - Audacity uses wx-widgets, I've had (minor) problems with it too.
Try reinstalling audacity & its dependencies.
If no fix, start audacity from terminal. Scrutinize output.
 
Old 01-25-2020, 11:56 AM   #5
teckk
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: FreeBSD Arch
Posts: 2,598

Rep: Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Font_Configuration

How about this?
audacity depends on gtk3, which depends on pango
https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/pango/issues/386
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/63297
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Problem with font - Greek font in applications Akaya Linux - Newbie 4 07-25-2011 10:34 AM
3 Ubuntu boxes with Samba - One finds all XP shares - Two UltraSparc64 boxes do not mwx Linux - Server 1 01-28-2009 07:03 AM
If desktops are refered to as boxes do you also refer to laptops as boxes? dr_zayus69 General 14 12-24-2005 04:46 PM
win2000 boxes cannot map but winnt boxes can - same user! starbeetlechick Linux - Networking 0 07-24-2003 08:24 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration