LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > AIX
User Name
Password
AIX This forum is for the discussion of IBM AIX.
eserver and other IBM related questions are also on topic.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2020, 07:39 AM   #1
lm8
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: Debian Linux, AntiX, Win32, FreeBSD, Android
Posts: 78

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
issues with nano via ssh


We're using nano from the AIX Toolbox (installed with yum) via ssh. Scrolling is really bad with it. Am wondering if the problem is a setting with the various ssh clients we're using or termcap/terminfo or with the build of nano. Debating whether I should rebuild nano from source or if that's a waste of time. Anyone else having a similar issue? Any recommendations on how to fix scrolling? Thanks.
 
Old 01-08-2020, 09:44 AM   #2
Tonus
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 628
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 162Reputation: 162
issues with nano via ssh

What version of nano? Recently in the changelog I saw that a "smooth scrolling" option is now default. Perhaps have a look at it and upgrade /downgrade /set the option to on or off...
 
Old 01-08-2020, 11:48 AM   #3
lm8
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: Debian Linux, AntiX, Win32, FreeBSD, Android
Posts: 78

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Looks like nano 2.3.6 is currently installed on AIX 7.2.
 
Old 01-09-2020, 12:52 AM   #4
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 13,390
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654Reputation: 3654
Quote:
Originally Posted by lm8 View Post
Scrolling is really bad with it.
That's not much of a problem description.
What is your definiton of "scrolling" in nano? Mousewheel? Arrow keys? Page Up/Down???
How are you using nano? directly from the ssh command line or via X forwarding in an Xterm?
Have you read the man page (man nanorc) and made adjustments as suggested?
FWIW, I wouldn't ever expect scrolling to be smooth via ssh.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 01-09-2020, 07:51 AM   #5
lm8
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: Debian Linux, AntiX, Win32, FreeBSD, Android
Posts: 78

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
That's not much of a problem description.
What is your definiton of "scrolling" in nano? Mousewheel? Arrow keys? Page Up/Down???
How are you using nano? directly from the ssh command line or via X forwarding in an Xterm?
Have you read the man page (man nanorc) and made adjustments as suggested?
FWIW, I wouldn't ever expect scrolling to be smooth via ssh.
I didn't bother to describe the problem in detail, because I assumed anyone using the same hardware and software would immediately see the problem and might already have a solution for it. I posted to the AIX forum because I assumed other AIX users would already be familiar with the problem and the hardware. If that's not the case, I'll try the IBM AIX forum instead. When page up/page down is used or even if you just scroll with arrow keys, the lines become jumbled and in the wrong location. It makes it almost impossible to edit anything because you can't tell where you are in the file and if you're really on the line you think you're on. Read the man page. Didn't help. vi works fine on the same system.
 
Old 01-09-2020, 11:13 PM   #6
Tonus
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 628
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 162Reputation: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by lm8 View Post
Looks like nano 2.3.6 is currently installed on AIX 7.2.
Your version is quite outdated (nearly 4 years...) according to https://www.nano-editor.org/news.php

If you can't upgrade it, I suggest you stick with something else since it will be a PITA to find what option might have any effect on this behavior...
 
Old 01-10-2020, 06:33 AM   #7
lm8
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: Debian Linux, AntiX, Win32, FreeBSD, Android
Posts: 78

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonus View Post
Your version is quite outdated (nearly 4 years...) according to https://www.nano-editor.org/news.php

If you can't upgrade it, I suggest you stick with something else since it will be a PITA to find what option might have any effect on this behavior...
We're trying to use the "official" IBM AIX Toolbox packages instead of third party rpms. I'm aware a lot of the AIX Toolbox packages seem to be rather dated. That's why I mentioned, I might need to rebuild from source.

Doesn't anyone else use IBM's AIX Toolbox with AIX? If not, where do you get your AIX packages from?
 
Old 01-11-2020, 01:30 AM   #8
NevemTeve
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2011
Location: Budapest
Distribution: Debian/GNU/Linux, AIX
Posts: 3,991

Rep: Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441
You might have problem with your terminal-emulator too; putty, for example, doesn't emulate 100% correctly 'TERM=xterm', but it does emulate 'TERM=putty'

Mind you, terminal-type 'putty' isn't pre-installed on AIX, you have to install it with 'tic(1)' (you can get the data-file from any linux computer with command 'infocmp putty>putty.ti')

You should also check other text-editors like mcedit (part of Midnight Commander); if those work properly, then it is likely a nano-related problem.

Note: you could provide a link where did you get nano, other than 'via yum'. For example here is where you cannot find nano: https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/ai...nloads-alpha#N, https://public.dhe.ibm.com/aix/freeS...lbox/RPMS/ppc/

Edit: Might have been this place (albeit not the latest version): http://www.oss4aix.org/download/RPMS/nano/

Last edited by NevemTeve; 01-11-2020 at 01:54 AM.
 
Old 01-11-2020, 01:03 PM   #9
NevemTeve
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2011
Location: Budapest
Distribution: Debian/GNU/Linux, AIX
Posts: 3,991

Rep: Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441Reputation: 1441
Tried http://www.oss4aix.org/download/RPMS...aix5.1.ppc.rpm it does show some strange behaviour when I press PgDn then Up.
The same happens with http://www.oss4aix.org/download/RPMS...aix5.1.ppc.rpm

Then downloaded https://www.nano-editor.org/dist/v4/nano-4.7.tar.xz, it doesn't compile at first, here is some fix:
Code:
sed_repl 's/*tab;/*Syn_tab;/' src/nano.h
sed_repl 's/syntax->tab/syntax->Syn_tab/g' src/rcfile.c
sed_repl 's/syntax->tab/syntax->Syn_tab/
          s/st_mtim.tv_sec/st_mtime/
          s/st_mtim.tv_nsec/st_mtime_n/
          s/ lines = / nlines = /
          s/<tab>lines = /<tab>nlines = /
          s/, lines,/, nlines,/' src/text.c
Now it works without the earlier problem. Mind you, I still suggest using mcedit instead. (For hard-core users there is vim, too.)

Last edited by NevemTeve; 01-11-2020 at 02:41 PM.
 
Old 01-13-2020, 08:10 AM   #10
lm8
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: Debian Linux, AntiX, Win32, FreeBSD, Android
Posts: 78

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by NevemTeve View Post
Note: you could provide a link where did you get nano, other than 'via yum'. For example here is where you cannot find nano: https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/ai...nloads-alpha#N, https://public.dhe.ibm.com/aix/freeS...lbox/RPMS/ppc/
We did download it from:
ftp://public.dhe.ibm.com/aix/freeSof.../RPMS/ppc-7.2/
That was done in November of last year. The software no longer seems to be available from there. Maybe it was removed because of problems like the one I was having?

Will rebuild from source. At least I know what I'm working with and can debug using gdb from there if necessary.

Thank you very much for all your suggestions.
 
  


Reply

Tags
aix, nano


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] raspbian: how to log in via ssh through wlan? (dont work; but ssh via LAN works) floppy_stuttgart Debian 8 03-24-2014 02:42 PM
DVD distro of ubuntu 9.10 64 bit doesn't see VIA Nano C7D CPU as 64 bit raypsi Linux - Hardware 2 08-30-2010 10:48 PM
Lenovo S12(VIA NANO) Metud Linux - Laptop and Netbook 0 01-09-2010 09:10 AM
nano-ITX server with VIA Eden-N CPU? aldimeneira Linux - Networking 6 06-20-2006 09:47 PM
iPod nano issues PsypherPunk Linux - Hardware 5 02-22-2006 10:48 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > AIX

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration