LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2018, 06:27 PM   #1
bam80
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Location: Russia
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 56

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question Can't adjust date and time in Plasma 5


Hi,
when trying to adjust date or time in KDE 5_17.11 from Alienbob's repo on Slackware 14.2,
get error:
Code:
Unable to authenticate/execute the action (Code 4)
I know I can do the adjustment from terminal, but the lack of ability to do it from Plasma is very annoying, so I would be grateful for help with Plasma.

Last edited by bam80; 08-20-2018 at 07:03 PM. Reason: question correction
 
Old 08-20-2018, 06:52 PM   #2
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware (current), FreeBSD, Win10, It varies
Posts: 9,951

Rep: Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146
simple google
https://www.garron.me/en/linux/set-t...mand-line.html
 
Old 08-20-2018, 06:56 PM   #3
bam80
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Location: Russia
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 56

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
BW-userx, please read my question carefully:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bam80 View Post
I know I can do the adjustment from terminal, but the lack of ability to do it from Plasma is very annoying
 
Old 08-20-2018, 06:58 PM   #4
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware (current), FreeBSD, Win10, It varies
Posts: 9,951

Rep: Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by bam80 View Post
BW-userx, please read my question carefully:
no i can .... , sorry ...

what's a command line for?

Last edited by BW-userx; 08-20-2018 at 07:06 PM.
 
Old 08-20-2018, 07:18 PM   #5
Darth Vader
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Romania
Distribution: DARKSTAR Linux 2008.1
Posts: 2,727

Rep: Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243
Quote:
Originally Posted by bam80 View Post
Hi,
when trying to adjust date or time in KDE 5_17.11 from Alienbob's repo on Slackware 14.2,
get error:
Code:
Unable to authenticate/execute the action (Code 4)
I know I can do the adjustment from terminal, but the lack of ability to do it from Plasma is very annoying, so I would be grateful for help with Plasma.
The issues with adjusting date or time using the interface from KDE4 or Plasma5 is a famous "bug" generated by the lack of LinuxPAM in Slackware.

Sadly, there's no fix until Slackware adopts LinuxPAM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-20-2018, 07:19 PM   #6
Darth Vader
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Romania
Distribution: DARKSTAR Linux 2008.1
Posts: 2,727

Rep: Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243
Quote:
Originally Posted by BW-userx View Post
no i can .... , sorry ...

what's a command line for?
You are trying to be smartass or something?

The OP already said that he's aware about the ways of setting date and time on command line.

Last edited by Darth Vader; 08-20-2018 at 07:27 PM.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-20-2018, 11:03 PM   #7
RadicalDreamer
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware64-Current
Posts: 1,143

Rep: Reputation: 563Reputation: 563Reputation: 563Reputation: 563Reputation: 563Reputation: 563
Code:
kdesu systemsettings5
Then Regional Settings->Date & Time
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-21-2018, 07:04 AM   #8
Darth Vader
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Romania
Distribution: DARKSTAR Linux 2008.1
Posts: 2,727

Rep: Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243
BTW, that infamous "Unable to authenticate/execute the action (Code 4)" manifests even as root. Hard to believe, but that's the sad truth.
 
Old 08-21-2018, 09:23 AM   #9
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware (current), FreeBSD, Win10, It varies
Posts: 9,951

Rep: Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146Reputation: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
You are trying to be smartass or something?

The OP already said that he's aware about the ways of setting date and time on command line.
read the post again in sequence, and figure it out. am I being a "smart ass", as if that is a bad thing.

it is in two parts, 1. statement, 2. question that might help you figure it out.

Last edited by BW-userx; 08-21-2018 at 09:43 AM.
 
Old 08-21-2018, 09:42 AM   #10
bam80
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Location: Russia
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 56

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
Sadly, there's no fix until Slackware adopts LinuxPAM.
Thanks.
If there is no other fix than install PAM, maybe someone tried any PAM addon packages for Slackware already?
 
Old 08-21-2018, 10:37 AM   #11
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,220

Rep: Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
The issues with adjusting date or time using the interface from KDE4 or Plasma5 is a famous "bug" generated by the lack of LinuxPAM in Slackware.
I can't speak for Plasma5 since I haven't used it, but I've never had a problem adjusting my date/time with KDE4 with my normal user. It pops up an authentication box asking for my root password and then it adjusts it as expected.

@OP, Eric prefers bug reports for ktown on his blog rather than the forum. He may be able to confirm your issue or be able to provide a fix for you.
 
Old 08-21-2018, 02:27 PM   #12
ArcBrut
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Distribution: Slackware -current
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
It seems like polkit issue. Ty upgrade or reinstall polkit.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-21-2018, 02:41 PM   #13
Darth Vader
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Romania
Distribution: DARKSTAR Linux 2008.1
Posts: 2,727

Rep: Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243Reputation: 1243
Quote:
Originally Posted by bam80 View Post
If there is no other fix than install PAM, maybe someone tried any PAM addon packages for Slackware already?
No Plasma5 with LinuxPAM for Slackware 14.2 or whatever. Sorry!

Eventually, our BDFL intends to add the LinuxPAM support on Slackware 15.0.

To have a figure about what is to add LinuxPAM to Slackware (-current) you can take a look there: https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...re-4175620305/

Last edited by Darth Vader; 08-21-2018 at 03:19 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-21-2018, 02:58 PM   #14
bassmadrigal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,220

Rep: Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922Reputation: 4922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
Eventually, our BDFL intends to add the LinuxPAM support on Slackware 15.0.
Not sure if this is just a translation issue, but he never said he intends to add it to 15.0, just that he's been looking into it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by volkerdi View Post
As far as Slackware 15.0 goes, I've been testing PAM and Kerberos here and have given quite some thought to trying to get them merged (or at least in /testing) so that we can have proper support for Active Directory and NFS.
So, he's been testing and thinking about it, but according this post, he hasn't made a decision on whether it will be integrated or not.
 
Old 08-21-2018, 03:24 PM   #15
bam80
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Location: Russia
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 56

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcBrut View Post
It seems like polkit issue. Ty upgrade or reinstall polkit.
ArcBrut, it doesn't work even on Slackware Live Edition..

Last edited by bam80; 08-21-2018 at 03:44 PM. Reason: ArcBrut
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant adjust time or date eroica Linux - Software 4 08-10-2005 01:35 PM
Adjust date and time vwal_13 Slackware 5 04-19-2004 07:22 PM
adjust date and time program doralsoral Linux - Software 3 01-08-2004 11:25 AM
can't adjust the date/time setting fixxxer0101 Slackware 4 01-05-2004 08:23 PM
Cannot adjust date+time Tyir Linux - General 6 01-04-2004 03:52 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration