LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2018, 02:42 PM   #1
moxieman99
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Dabble, but latest used are Fedora 13 and Ubuntu 10.4.1
Posts: 420

Rep: Reputation: 147Reputation: 147
Removing SSID not shown on SBG6580 modem (Motorola)


Some time ago I heard about splitting one's wifi into two spectra for less interference; a <SSID>_2gext and an <SSID>_5gext. I did it, and my modem promptly offered 3 wifi names for connection: SSID, SSID_2gext and SSID_5gext. I used them for a while, and a year or so ago I deleted the _5gext wifi. Now I want to remove the SSID_2gext, but find I can't. At the Wireless - 802.11 Radio page in admin, I can select a 2.4 gig bandwidth, or a 5.8, but cannot select none or both. My Wireless - Primary Network Settings only shows SSID, it does not show SSID_2gest.

The Arris website has nothing on this. Google brings back nothing that I can see as useful. How can I get rid of the _2gext network and go back to my plain SSID network?

Running Ubunto and Win7
 
Old 06-24-2018, 06:56 PM   #2
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 17,840

Rep: Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404Reputation: 2404
The MODEM is a dual band device i.e. has separate 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz WiFi capability plus a guest network. If you click wireless on the web configuration menu bar you should be able to disable the 5.8 GHz and guest networks although I could not find the exact steps in the manual but I only scanned through the document. I believe you can go through the wireless setup wizard again to reconfigure it as desired.

http://arris.force.com/consumers/Con...and%20Gateways
 
Old 06-25-2018, 02:06 AM   #3
moxieman99
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Dabble, but latest used are Fedora 13 and Ubuntu 10.4.1
Posts: 420

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 147Reputation: 147
Thanks, I'll read it again and see what I'm doing wrong.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorola modem problem anthonydonelly Linux - Hardware 1 10-17-2010 02:14 AM
Motorola dial up modem Prasanna Rajaram Linux - Hardware 1 01-21-2008 07:38 PM
motorola modem mahdif Slackware 1 12-04-2006 05:22 AM
motorola modem aristsitras Mandriva 1 10-30-2004 07:25 PM
unusal Modem -Motorola!! chilibowl Linux - Hardware 4 11-24-2002 12:47 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration