LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Mobile
User Name
Password
Linux - Mobile This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Mobile Linux. This includes Android, Tizen, Firefox OS, Sailfish OS, Maemo, MeeGo, Ubuntu Mobile, WebOS, Open Mobile Alliance and other similar projects and products.
A reminder that LQ now has a dedicated Android sister site: AndroidQuestions.org

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2018, 10:44 PM   #1
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
I now have no idea how to update my Lineage running smartphone


https://wiki.lineageos.org/devices/maguro/

Quote:
Warning: The Google Galaxy Nexus GSM is no longer maintained. A build guide is available for developers that would like to make private builds, or even restart official support.
My phone is a Google Galaxy Nexus GSM (aka Maguro). I used to get automatic updates to it, but that has ceased. I now have no idea how to keep it updated to keep it secure.
 
Old 06-21-2018, 07:54 PM   #2
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,745
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141
the answer is simple:
you can't keep it updated with lineageOS.
either you live with that (you can still update apps), or you find an android flavor (or otherwise compatible OS) that still does updates.
looks like replicant does: https://replicant.us/supported-devices.php
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-21-2018, 09:12 PM   #3
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
Thanks. I may consider Replicant. I'm worried that some stuff, like the camera, won't work with it though.

Right now I'm going to try to build a new Lineage from source (https://wiki.lineageos.org/devices/maguro/build), and install that. Be interesting to see if I can succeed, and then it'll be interesting to see if it works.

___

edit: initially I wrongly assumed I was building LineageOS 14.1 rather than 13 (so, based on Android 7 rather than 6), but this was incorrect. It was based on 13 (cm-13, and ultimately Android 6). Lineage recently cut support for phones based on LineageOS 13, necessitating having to build it myself from source to update it.

Also, as mentioned in the build instructions, openjdk-7-jdk needs to be installed and activated. I use Debian 9, which no longer provides this package in its stable repository. I had to get it from the experimental repository and install it. The process is described here. I used "option one (manual installation)" from the second answer. Packages found here.

Regarding Replicant, I just discovered for the maguro that it's based on LineageOS 13. Given that I solved the issue of mismatched keys, I might now be able to install Replicant for my phone and still keep my data. BUT, apparently the camera, wifi, GPS, and Bluetooth does not work with it (see here). Too many issues for me.

Last edited by mark_alfred; 07-03-2018 at 04:14 PM. Reason: Additional note on the installation
 
Old 06-22-2018, 05:29 AM   #4
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,745
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141
maybe slightly off-topic, but seeing that you live in the so-called western world, i recommend buying a used phone that is much newer than what you have there, but still very cheap.
i just got meself a Oneplus 3 for 100 euros (incl. shipping), but with a little patience you can get something almost as powerful (that oneplus is faster than my desktop) for half the price.
just look at lineageOS' list of supported devices, then look on ebay.
 
Old 06-23-2018, 02:14 PM   #5
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
Part of the reason I use open source solutions like Linux is that I like the idea of freedom, and part of that freedom is to not be forced into the idea of planned obsolescence. But yes, I may need to get a new phone.

Last edited by mark_alfred; 06-23-2018 at 02:22 PM.
 
Old 06-23-2018, 02:43 PM   #6
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
I don't think the camera, or wifi, works for this phone in Replicant. I did try and install it as the new system to test out, but TWRP (recovery app) rejected that, saying that data would not be spared since it's different from Lineage. I was unwilling to venture there.

My attempt at installing from source failed. I ran into the same issue that is described here: https://forum.xda-developers.com/gal...arget-t3557977 There must be a solution to this. I tried the suggestion from chnhnm, but that didn't work. I've yet to attempt the "adding another local manifest", since I found that too confusing.

Last edited by mark_alfred; 07-03-2018 at 04:22 PM. Reason: Added confirmation of speculation regarding Replicant.
 
Old 06-23-2018, 04:30 PM   #7
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
I've joined #lineageos-dev on Freenode, to see if they can help. No response yet.
 
Old 06-23-2018, 05:07 PM   #8
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,745
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141
^ i wouldn't hold my breath.
the smart phone market is a swamp were everything sinks to the bottom real fast, plus the userbase is generally younger than... here for example.

about post
#6: thanks for a little feedback about replicant. i was wondering how that fares IRL.
#5: just to make it clear, i recommended buying a _used_ phone. it's amazing how quickly people want to get rid of last years toy (presumably in favor of this years toy), and the market is o effing saturated that one can get a very nice phone very cheaply.
 
Old 06-23-2018, 05:38 PM   #9
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
I'm a recent user of smart-phones. Cell phones were fine with me. In fact, land lines were fine with me. But, well, seems I need to get with the times. It's only been a while since I got this one (for $50 Canadian).

Anyway, I did hear from freenode. They referred me to the following site: https://gist.github.com/fourkbomb/26...42350aafdd9825

"samsung" would be used for MYVENDOR. I'll try it sometime in the future when I've time. Hopefully it'll work. [edit] Also, another line with "ti", along with the "samsung" line.

Last edited by mark_alfred; 06-23-2018 at 06:50 PM. Reason: additional instructions from users at Freenode.
 
Old 06-29-2018, 02:29 PM   #10
leo321
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thanks for that answer ondoho
 
Old 06-29-2018, 07:57 PM   #11
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
So, I followed what it said here (TheMuppets), using two entries, one for "samsung" and one for "ti", and it did not work. The "ti" entry was rejected. Going back to Freenode and I was advised to add 'revision="master"' to the "ti" entry, making it:
Code:
<project name="TheMuppets/proprietary_vendor_ti" path="vendor/ti" revision="master" depth="1" />
That worked, but I still received errors, this time regarding there being no rule to make "powervr.ini". Well, back to Freenode, to see what they say.

I did get more RAM today from the used computer store I frequent. So, rather than 6 gigs on the desktop I'm using to build it, I'll now have 8 gigs. That may help, I think.

Other suggestions for how to I can update the phone are welcome.
 
Old 07-01-2018, 01:46 PM   #12
mark_alfred
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux 16.04, Debian 9
Posts: 1,366

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 154Reputation: 154
Okay, I solved this with the help of some of the developers at Freenode IRC. Basically, I followed the instructions here to build an update to maguro Lineage from source. But, I left out the "Extract proprietary blobs" step, and instead relied on TheMuppets. Two different vendor entries were needed, those being "samsung" and "ti". The "ti" entry also required 'revision="master"' to be added, meaning the full line looked like this:
Code:
<project name="TheMuppets/proprietary_vendor_ti" path="vendor/ti" revision="master" depth="1" />
Running it with TheMuppets present, and without using the proprietary blobs step, worked. I created lineage-13.0-20180701-UNOFFICIAL-maguro.zip (it took seven hours to create on my 8 gig RAM computer).

However, I was unable to install it without wiping out the data, because of a mismatch in the keys between the former official update and my unofficial update. I wanted to preserve my data (contacts, calendar, etc) so, to make this possible, I used the migration script (migration.sh). So, I followed the instructions here for "Test-keys to official or vice versa". In my case, it was "vice versa", meaning I was going from official to unofficial, and thus, in the suggested commands, I changed "official" to "unofficial". Having run these commands and installing the script, I was then able to install my update to Lineage (that being the zip file I made, lineage-13.0-20180701-UNOFFICIAL-maguro.zip) and preserve my data. I used TWRP as the recovery program to install the zip file. So, I successfully updated my system.

Last edited by mark_alfred; 07-01-2018 at 01:57 PM.
 
  


Reply

Tags
lineage, lineageos


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does text and calls work on a smartphone running linux? Jah113 Linux - Mobile 23 02-20-2016 06:48 AM
No idea how to install Flash Player update. LoBlaze Linux - Software 4 07-02-2012 08:47 PM
Running Android ICS 4.0.1 not on smartphone is it possible? yaron.kadem Linux - Mobile 2 12-28-2011 02:27 AM
LXer: A Linux smartphone market update from China's E28 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-01-2006 08:54 AM
apt-get update a good idea in a crontab? moana Debian 3 07-29-2005 05:26 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Mobile

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration