LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2009, 07:04 AM   #31
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57

Quote:
Originally Posted by farslayer View Post
I have installed Debian etch on a P133 MMX with 32 MB of RAM and chose a lightweight desktop such as LXDE or XFCE4 and it ran. it was no high performance machine but it did work, browse the net, etc. . You could give that a shot, and see what happens. If you try to go back to something like potatoe you may as well forget getting your wireless to work, I doubt there would be much of a chance.

Alternately there are distros that are geared towards older hardware DSL Puppy, vector, etc..

If you can get more RAM into that machine it will help a LOT, regardless of what distro you choose.

here is alink to Debian with XFCE as the default desktop http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/...-xfce-CD-1.iso

or you can install the Debian base using a netinstall CD image (uncheck Desktop-environment at the package selection screen during install), then manually install X and a desktop environment of your choice.

aptitude install xserver-xorg-core xserver-xorg xorg lxde xdm

you can substitude whatever desktop you want for lxde.
I found this page:
http://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/archive/

woody has a cdrom:
http://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/ar...6-binary-1.iso
and netinstall bussiness card of 180MB:
http://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/ar...86-netinst.iso

then for the sources.list, it shall be:
Quote:
deb http://archive.debian.org/debian-archive/debian woody main contrib non-free
then you can upgrade your distro to Lenny, right?? with having a 2.4 kernel generation, that runs soo fast with a 64Mb

Last edited by frenchn00b; 09-05-2009 at 07:08 AM.
 
Old 09-05-2009, 07:40 AM   #32
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchn00b View Post
I found this page:
http://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/archive/

woody has a cdrom:
http://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/ar...6-binary-1.iso
and netinstall bussiness card of 180MB:
http://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/ar...86-netinst.iso

then for the sources.list, it shall be:


then you can upgrade your distro to Lenny, right?? with having a 2.4 kernel generation, that runs soo fast with a 64Mb
oups sorry the 3.0 i.e woody is not there
so i cannot install woody
the woody businesscard would be great
but is not on the net anymore.
 
Old 09-05-2009, 07:52 AM   #33
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Is there someone having this file, still??

Debian 3.0r4 i386
1aa8a8064058ef818a4e3df2e2a68097 debian-30r4-i386-binary-1.iso
could it be posted on torrent or rapidshare?

there is stuffs here , but no iso
http://us.cdimage.debian.org/jigdo-a...cd/jigdo/i386/

Last edited by frenchn00b; 09-05-2009 at 08:24 AM.
 
Old 09-05-2009, 07:58 AM   #34
rich_c
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Distribution: openSUSE, Fedora
Posts: 385
Blog Entries: 74

Rep: Reputation: 81
Personally, I'd look into trying antiX.
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:00 AM   #35
linus72
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Gordonsville-AKA Mayberry-Virginia
Distribution: Slack14.2/AntiX/Arco/Sparky/Hexagon
Posts: 5,219

Rep: Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361
Have you tried plop bootmanager to boot the ide cdrom?
I boot my usb cdrom on my old lappy using plop bootmanger floppy
it cant boot from usb but plop can boot either usb or my usb cdrom


tried that?
I didnt read the whole thread Frenchnoob
what are you trying to install?
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:12 AM   #36
linus72
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Gordonsville-AKA Mayberry-Virginia
Distribution: Slack14.2/AntiX/Arco/Sparky/Hexagon
Posts: 5,219

Rep: Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361
Hers some good news baby!

get the plop bootmanager download
here http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html

unzip it and place "plpbt.bin" somewhere on the hd of the pc/lappy that doesn't boot usb/usb-cdroms
I put mine in my ubuntu boot foldere on hda8
heres menu.lst for plop

Code:
title Plop-5.0
root (hd0,7)
kernel /boot/plpbt.bin
thats it!

it works great on mine
can you get that on the computers hd?
that way you dont need a boot floppy or boot cd
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:39 AM   #37
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchn00b View Post
Is there someone having this file, still??

Debian 3.0r4 i386
1aa8a8064058ef818a4e3df2e2a68097 debian-30r4-i386-binary-1.iso
could it be posted on torrent or rapidshare?

there is stuffs here , but no iso
http://us.cdimage.debian.org/jigdo-a...cd/jigdo/i386/
I am finally downloading this file debian-30r4-i386-binary-1.iso
its hidden on the website of debian I dont know why?
under ... http://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/ ...

why they dont want us to get potato and woody? because they arent stable anymore or security holes? are kernel 2.4 secured?

edit:
I found it here too: http://mirror.debianforum.de/debian-...ve/woody/i386/

Last edited by frenchn00b; 09-05-2009 at 08:49 AM.
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:42 AM   #38
linus72
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Gordonsville-AKA Mayberry-Virginia
Distribution: Slack14.2/AntiX/Arco/Sparky/Hexagon
Posts: 5,219

Rep: Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361
why do you wanna install such an old release though?
just wonderin
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:46 AM   #39
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by linus72 View Post
Hers some good news baby!

get the plop bootmanager download
here http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html

unzip it and place "plpbt.bin" somewhere on the hd of the pc/lappy that doesn't boot usb/usb-cdroms
I put mine in my ubuntu boot foldere on hda8
heres menu.lst for plop

Code:
title Plop-5.0
root (hd0,7)
kernel /boot/plpbt.bin
thats it!

it works great on mine
can you get that on the computers hd?
that way you dont need a boot floppy or boot cd
I think that grub 2 has now USB support
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:51 AM   #40
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by linus72 View Post
why do you wanna install such an old release though?
just wonderin
bah like damn small linux powering a 2.4 kernel which has usb support and is damn fast. I want Debian for the repositories and I like it v. much, and a 2.4 kernel for my 330-400Mhz amd of 64MB.
 
Old 09-05-2009, 08:53 AM   #41
linus72
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Gordonsville-AKA Mayberry-Virginia
Distribution: Slack14.2/AntiX/Arco/Sparky/Hexagon
Posts: 5,219

Rep: Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361
did you try plop?

you better beware the issues with grub2
it is nothing like grub!
 
Old 09-05-2009, 12:44 PM   #42
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by linus72 View Post
Hers some good news baby!

get the plop bootmanager download
here http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html

unzip it and place "plpbt.bin" somewhere on the hd of the pc/lappy that doesn't boot usb/usb-cdroms
I put mine in my ubuntu boot foldere on hda8
heres menu.lst for plop

Code:
title Plop-5.0
root (hd0,7)
kernel /boot/plpbt.bin
thats it!

it works great on mine
can you get that on the computers hd?
that way you dont need a boot floppy or boot cd
thanks for the trick.
I got it working with one machine.

I have another one, older, with a vfat at first disk. Do you know it it is possible to put all grubs on this vfat, and with your magic usb booter?
 
Old 09-06-2009, 02:53 AM   #43
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
woody install: I could start automatically the installer from the floppy disk, but the
installation stucks asking for a driver disk. It says this is driver
disk 1 of # from set "x". I need driver disk from set <blank>. It's not
an exactly reproduction of the warning message, but it gives a taste of
it: it knows that the disk i inserted belongs to a <named> set, but does
not know the set name it wants. And i tried every driver disk in the CD,
and they were all refused.
tried to boot form CD, but does not work
generate the floppies and
a. Boot - ok
b. Root - ok
c. tried CD does not find anything usefull
c'. Rescue (now floppy)
d. Driver 1
I could not pass this stage.
I tried everything in the CD (evry driver image)
with no success.

I am stucked!

Can anybody please provide me some directions installing driver disk 1 woody ?


--
here a last mirror backports for woody:
http://ftp.iinet.net.au/pub/linux/de...s-woody/dists/

Last edited by frenchn00b; 09-06-2009 at 04:24 AM.
 
Old 09-06-2009, 04:41 AM   #44
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchn00b View Post
woody install: I could start automatically the installer from the floppy disk, but the
installation stucks asking for a driver disk. It says this is driver
disk 1 of # from set "x". I need driver disk from set <blank>. It's not
an exactly reproduction of the warning message, but it gives a taste of
it: it knows that the disk i inserted belongs to a <named> set, but does
not know the set name it wants. And i tried every driver disk in the CD,
and they were all refused.
tried to boot form CD, but does not work
generate the floppies and
a. Boot - ok
b. Root - ok
c. tried CD does not find anything usefull
c'. Rescue (now floppy)
d. Driver 1
I could not pass this stage.
I tried everything in the CD (evry driver image)
with no success.

I am stucked!

Can anybody please provide me some directions installing driver disk 1 woody ?


--
here a last mirror backports for woody:
http://ftp.iinet.net.au/pub/linux/de...s-woody/dists/
I have those driver-1.bin driver-2.bin driver-3.bin driver-4.bin
for woody. If someone needs, let me know.
 
Old 09-06-2009, 06:42 AM   #45
frenchn00b
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: E.U., Mountains :-)
Distribution: Debian, Etch, the greatest
Posts: 2,546

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 57
Well here a shot of my woody install :
http://yellowprotoss.ye.funpic.org/w...-woody2009.jpg

it is not so fast, as expected... lot of programs in woody, Looks like etch or lenny. Potatoes maybe to get the 64mb faster? hmmm
not cool. 64Mb is too low for a woody, maybe ...

but I have my kernel 2.4.18, so happy.With woody, you have to confirm all the time at apt-get, often it needs some choices

Only 411Mb with X, galeon, a good kernel, and it is ok. Fast or slow enough to do something.

Lilo didnt like the newer kernel from 2.20 to 4.18
so I installed grub, and it works well. just some few stuffs to fix to boot well that 2.4.18.
I installed grub#
so the problem is that 2.4.18 has NO USB support
so I need to get a deb or compile a 2.4.20 kernel for woody

the pc runs well

--
here my sources.list, woody, running fast

Last edited by frenchn00b; 09-06-2009 at 10:45 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can I use Debian apps on a non-Debian distro? newbiesforever Linux - General 8 10-05-2008 03:25 PM
Debian Distro: Skype "connecting" hangs and get stuck, debian Xeratul Linux - General 0 12-24-2006 05:04 AM
What's the difference between debian and other debian-based distro like knoppix? Akhran Debian 11 08-28-2005 06:07 PM
CDROM problems in debian Irving Linux - Hardware 4 05-08-2004 04:43 AM
How to set up a CDROM in Debian? thcmwz Debian 1 11-30-2003 05:29 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration