LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2018, 08:43 AM   #1
Rosika
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2017
Distribution: Lubuntu 64 bit
Posts: 280

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
FreeDOS in qemu: no internet-connection


Hi altogether,

I want to get FreeDOS going within qemu.

I downloaded the respective iso-file and the installation went well.
In principle FreeDOS works fine with the exception of networking. I simply canīt get qemu to let FreeDOS connect to the internet.

My command-line is:

Code:
qemu-system-i386 -m 32M -drive file=drivec.img,media=disk,format=raw -drive file=FD12CD.iso,media=cdrom -boot order=d
or even

Code:
qemu-system-i386 -m 32M -drive file=drivec.img,media=disk,format=raw -net nic,model=ne2k_pci -drive file=FD12CD.iso,media=cdrom -boot order=d
.

According to the instructions on http://wiki.freedos.org/wiki/index.p...tworking_HowTo I installed FDNET, mTCP and wget
in FreeDOS. So things should work. Yet they donīt.

After a reboot FreeDOS says: "Error: Your ethernet card reported an error for every packet we sent."
And with "-net nic,model=ne2l_isa" in command-line:
"Your DHCP server never responded and no packets were seen on the wire."

My terminal says: " Warning: vlan 0 is not connected to host network".
qemu montitor says:

Code:
info network

hub 0
\hub0port0: ne2k_pci.0: index=0,type=nic,model=ne2k_pci,macaddr=52:54:00:12:34:56
I compared the values with those given on http://qemu-buch.de/de/index.php?tit..._konfigurieren.
They should be correct. So thatīs it.

Curious thing however: When firing up any other OS, e.g. KNOPPIX with qemu the internet connection works perfectly:
Code:
kvm --cdrom KNOPPIX_V7.0.5CD-2012-12-21-DE.iso -m 512 -boot d
.

Does anybody know what to do?

Tnx a lot in advance.

Rosika
 
Old 09-19-2018, 06:37 PM   #2
wpeckham
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, VSIDO, tinycore, Q4OS,Manjaro
Posts: 5,617

Rep: Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695Reputation: 2695
I have not used QEMU with FreeDOS. I have used other tools, just not QEMU. If I get a chance I will try to replicate the behavior and post what I discover.


Not tonight, the wife and I are enjoying "international Talk Like a Pirate Day".
 
Old 09-20-2018, 01:04 AM   #3
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 19,872
Blog Entries: 12

Rep: Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053Reputation: 6053
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpeckham View Post
Not tonight, the wife and I are enjoying "international Talk Like a Pirate Day".
arrr... that be me birthday!
cool.
 
Old 09-20-2018, 07:57 AM   #4
Rosika
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2017
Distribution: Lubuntu 64 bit
Posts: 280

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi all,

thanks for the reply.
In the meantime I subscribed to the qemu mailing list and discussed the problem there.

I seems I could come up with a solution.
Quote:
Warning: vlan 0 is not connected to host network
means the following:
Quote:
This means you have given QEMU a command line which defines a
network card but no network backend, so you get a virtual bit
of ethernet that's not connected to anything. If you're using
old-style "-net nic,..." then you must also pass "-net user" or
some other -net option specifying the backend. Similarly if
you're using new-style -device to specify the network adaptor
type then you must also pass a -netdev option to specify the backend.

(If you specify no -net/netdev options at all then you get a
default which is -net user and some network adaptor which
depends on the machine type; but if you specify any -net options
then you get no defaults provided by QEMU and you have to
specify all of the relevant options yourself.)
Further suggestion:
Quote:
Try a different NIC, eg with
-net nic,model=ne2k_isa -net user
So I typed "qemu-system-i386 drivec.img -net nic,model=help" into the terminal.

That gave me as valid options:
Code:
qemu: Supported NIC models:
ne2k_pci,i82551,i82557b,i82559er,rtl8139,e1000,pcnet,virtio"
I finally came up with a command line that worked for me:
Code:
qemu-system-i386 -m 32M -drive file=drivec.img,media=disk,format=raw
-net nic,model=pcnet -net user -drive file=FD12CD.iso,media=cdrom -boot
order=d
Greetings
Rosika
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-20-2018, 01:18 PM   #5
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 21,978

Rep: Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624Reputation: 3624
Thanks for the update and solution. I looked at this and didn't have a wild guess even.
 
Old 09-21-2018, 05:11 AM   #6
Rosika
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2017
Distribution: Lubuntu 64 bit
Posts: 280

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi,

youīre welcome. Iīm always glad when I can get help here. So this time Iīm happy to provide whoever is interested with the solution to the problem.

Greetings
Rosika
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
libvirt/QEMU: changing "save" directory for qemu:///session connection atelszewski Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 0 01-10-2018 02:44 PM
FreeDOS + QEMU on Scientific Linux, Could not read from CDROM (Code 0003) Mwoit Linux - Software 1 07-27-2012 03:47 PM
QEMU Guest having no internet Jeff91 Linux - Software 1 07-15-2011 09:33 PM
Qemu with internet... Fill Linux - Software 1 07-12-2007 04:22 AM
LXer: A concise guide to installing and using FreeDOS ver 1.0 in GNU/Linux using QEmu LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-28-2006 05:03 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration