LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback
User Name
Password
LQ Suggestions & Feedback Do you have a suggestion for this site or an idea that will make the site better? This forum is for you.
PLEASE READ THIS FORUM - Information and status updates will also be posted here.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2019, 10:21 AM   #1
cwizardone
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-current with "True Multilib" & Xfce.
Posts: 4,863
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267
Rating A Thread.


I tried to rate a thread this morning and received the following error,

Quote:
A required field called <em>ipaddress</em> is missing or has an invalid value.
I was able to repeat this with Firefox, Pale Moon, SeaMonkey and Vivaldi, i.e., all returned returned the same error when I tried to rate a thread.
 
Old 04-27-2019, 10:27 AM   #2
individual
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Posts: 234

Rep: Reputation: 176Reputation: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwizardone View Post
I tried to rate a thread this morning and received the following error,



I was able to repeat this with Firefox, Pale Moon, SeaMonkey and Vivaldi, i.e., all returned returned the same error when I tried to rate a thread.
I get the same error on Firefox.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-27-2019, 10:57 AM   #3
cwizardone
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-current with "True Multilib" & Xfce.
Posts: 4,863

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267
OK, I booted over to windows 7 and was able to duplicate the problem with Vivaldi and SeaMonkey.
 
Old 04-27-2019, 12:24 PM   #4
rokytnji
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Waaaaay out West Texas
Distribution: AntiX 17
Posts: 5,822
Blog Entries: 21

Rep: Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900Reputation: 2900
Firefox

Code:
harry@biker:~
$ apt-cache policy firefox-esr
firefox-esr:
  Installed: 60.6.1esr-1~deb9u1
  Candidate: 60.6.1esr-1~deb9u1
  Version table:
 *** 60.6.1esr-1~deb9u1 500
        500 http://security.debian.org stretch/updates/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     60.5.0esr-1~deb9u1 500
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
harry@biker:~
http://postmyimage.com/img2/450_screenshot.jpg

No problem here. Maybe a addon? Scratch that. I see you mentioned other browsers.

Edit: I rated the thread as average.

Last edited by rokytnji; 04-27-2019 at 12:28 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-27-2019, 12:57 PM   #5
jsbjsb001
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Location: Earth? I would say I hope so but I'm not so sure about that... I could just be a figment of your imagination too.
Distribution: Currently OpenMandriva. Previously openSUSE, PCLinuxOS, CentOS, among others over the years.
Posts: 2,995

Rep: Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555Reputation: 1555
No problem for me either, I also rated this thread as "average". I'm using Firefox 60.6.1esr (64-bit) myself.

I'm using CentOS 7.6 if it helps.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-28-2019, 03:06 AM   #6
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 12,304
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309Reputation: 3309
I just got the same error as op.

seamonkey 2.49.4, google-analytics.com blocked.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-28-2019, 10:13 AM   #7
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 13,002

Rep: Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730Reputation: 3730
I'm note able to reproduce this, but am looking into it further. Note that blocking google-analytics will not have any negative impact on browsing or using the site.

--jeremy
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-28-2019, 12:54 PM   #8
individual
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Posts: 234

Rep: Reputation: 176Reputation: 176
OK, I will admit I am no web developer, but I was able to submit my rating by adding "ipaddress=123" to the URL and resubmitting the request. After doing that and trying to vote again it displays this:
Code:
LinuxQuestions.org Message
According to our records you have already voted on this thread. Changing votes is not allowed.
Something is preventing my browser (and apparently the OP's) from including this query in the URL.

EDIT: Here is what the URL looked like after modifying.
Code:
https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/threadrate.php?t=4175652855&ipaddress=123
EDIT2:
Steps for others to try:
Open up Firefox Developer Tools on this page.
Click on the "Network" tab and refresh the page.
Click on the button to rate the thread. You should see a POST request made to https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...p?t=4175652855.
Select that line and then click "Edit and Resend."
Under "Query String:" and below t=4175652855, add "ipaddress=123" and click Send.
Refresh your page and try to vote again, and you should see the message I posted above.

EDIT3: Sorry for the messy initial posts. Being in a hurry leads to incoherent writing.

Last edited by individual; 04-28-2019 at 04:23 PM. Reason: Word cleanup.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-28-2019, 01:31 PM   #9
ChuangTzu
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2015
Location: Where ever needed
Distribution: Slackware/Salix while testing others
Posts: 1,411

Rep: Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332
I was able to rate it just now. No problems with Firefox ESR along with Ublock origin, Privacy Badger, https everywhere.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-29-2019, 08:10 AM   #10
MensaWater
LQ Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, CoreOS, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 7,804
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653Reputation: 1653
I was able to rate this thread in my older Firefox v49.0.2 installation on MS Windows. (I don't update this one because I need older Java 7 to work for some internal systems.)
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-29-2019, 10:37 AM   #11
cwizardone
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-current with "True Multilib" & Xfce.
Posts: 4,863

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267
It occurred to me the problem might be with the hosts file, so i tried an older one and eventually tried the "original" hosts file that came with the distribution. It didn't make a bit of difference. The problem remains.

Hmmmmm.... you know I did install the latest version of Java the other day... 8u211.

Just reverted to 8u201, but it didn't help. Problem remains.

Last edited by cwizardone; 04-29-2019 at 10:46 AM.
 
Old 04-29-2019, 05:39 PM   #12
ChuangTzu
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2015
Location: Where ever needed
Distribution: Slackware/Salix while testing others
Posts: 1,411

Rep: Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332Reputation: 1332
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwizardone View Post
It occurred to me the problem might be with the hosts file, so i tried an older one and eventually tried the "original" hosts file that came with the distribution. It didn't make a bit of difference. The problem remains.

Hmmmmm.... you know I did install the latest version of Java the other day... 8u211.

Just reverted to 8u201, but it didn't help. Problem remains.
Are you using Tor? Grasping at straws now.
 
Old 04-29-2019, 05:53 PM   #13
greencedar
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2018
Location: Missouri
Distribution: Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver & Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa
Posts: 531
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 39
I was able to vote on this thread; I voted "average" and the notice came up afterward that said the vote was counted.

My Firefox version is:

Quote:
66.0.3+build1-0ubuntu0.18.04.1
 
Old 04-29-2019, 06:25 PM   #14
cwizardone
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-current with "True Multilib" & Xfce.
Posts: 4,863

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuangTzu View Post
Are you using Tor? Grasping at straws now.
No, but thanks for taking the time to reply.

 
Old 04-29-2019, 07:23 PM   #15
cwizardone
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Distribution: Slackware64-current with "True Multilib" & Xfce.
Posts: 4,863

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267Reputation: 2267
At the moment I'm in windows Xp, running in VirtualBox, using Opera-12.16, and was able to rate a thread.
Why it works in Xp, I don't know.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion: Thread Rating System eric.r.turner LQ Suggestions & Feedback 4 10-01-2003 07:51 PM
chinese input rating checkchan Linux - Newbie 0 07-11-2003 08:10 AM
Thread Rating. trickykid LQ Suggestions & Feedback 9 08-19-2002 12:39 PM
Rating problem A-dummy LQ Suggestions & Feedback 5 08-09-2002 08:11 AM
Site Rating jdctx General 0 05-06-2002 01:45 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration