LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback
User Name
Password
LQ Suggestions & Feedback Do you have a suggestion for this site or an idea that will make the site better? This forum is for you.
PLEASE READ THIS FORUM - Information and status updates will also be posted here.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2010, 02:00 AM   #1
bikas
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: 0
posting new thread problem


Hi all,

I'm rhel5. I've mozila,flock. When i was trying to post a new thread with mozila & flock. if i go to any concerned forums i was not getting the dialog box that "post new thread". only i was able to view Thread/Thread Starter. Even i've checked it out in my office in windows machines ie. in Internet Explorer & firefox there it's just blinking and disappearing. What i've to do. Can any one suggest me regarding this.

Thanks in advance...
 
Old 04-27-2010, 04:04 AM   #2
linuxlover.chaitanya
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Location: Nagpur, India
Distribution: Cent OS 5/6, Ubuntu Server 10.04
Posts: 4,627

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
If you had problems how did you post this? I am able to post threads fine. What is the problem exactly? Without logging in you can post the threads. So you need to be logged in to see the button.
 
Old 04-27-2010, 04:13 AM   #3
bikas
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi linuxlover.chaitanya,

In opera i was able to post new threads.problem is that i was not getting the "post new thread"
option when i open http://www.linuxquestions.org in other browsers (mozila firefox,Internet Explorer & flock).I thought that the problem is with browser in my machine and then i tried with same browsers in other machines in my office also. Even though i'm facing the same problem.
 
Old 04-27-2010, 04:47 AM   #4
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,615
Blog Entries: 29

Rep: Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikas
In opera i was able to post new threads.problem is that i was not getting the "post new thread"
option when i open http://www.linuxquestions.org in other browsers (mozila firefox,Internet Explorer & flock).
Are you still not able to see the New thread button on the left-middle side of the following link ?
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/

EDIT:
Taking your words literally ,
You can't create a new thread till you visit the appropriate forum, therefore you can't create a thread here in this link : http://www.linuxquestions.org/

Last edited by TheIndependentAquarius; 04-27-2010 at 04:53 AM.
 
Old 04-27-2010, 05:19 AM   #5
bikas
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi anishakaul,

Yes, now also i checked it out i was unable to see that post new thread button.

Thank you.
 
Old 04-27-2010, 05:32 AM   #6
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,615
Blog Entries: 29

Rep: Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896
Ok kindly tell what other buttons are you able to see there ?
 
Old 04-27-2010, 05:50 AM   #7
bikas
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi anishakaul,

After loging in, i've selected forums. In forums selected(ex.software) there except postnewthread i was able to see
1.Threads in forum
2.Thread/Thread Starter
3.Forum Tools
4.Search This forum
5.Rating
6.lastpost
7.Replies
8.Views

AT the bottom
1.Display options
2.currenty active users
3.Moderators
4.show threads
diff posts posted.
 
Old 04-27-2010, 05:53 AM   #8
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,615
Blog Entries: 29

Rep: Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896
And what do you see on the top of "Threads in forum" ??
 
Old 04-27-2010, 06:21 AM   #9
bikas
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi,

Home Forums HCL Reviews Tutorials Articles Search Quick Links My LQ

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums
Linux - Software

Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.


Sub-Forums : Linux - Software Search this Forum
Forum Last Post Threads Posts

Linux - Games (8 Viewing)

Linux - Kernel (18 Viewing)

Page1 of 16 1 2 3 11>Last

Threads in Forum : Linux - Software Forum Tools Search this Forum
Thread / Thread Starter Rating Last Post Replies Views

Some posts...

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 > Last
Display Options Currently Active Users Moderators
Showing threads 1 to 50 of 792 362 (5 members & 357 guests) Moderators : 3


on right hand side mainmenu and mylq was there.

at the bottom posting rules where displaying.
 
Old 04-27-2010, 06:25 AM   #10
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,615
Blog Entries: 29

Rep: Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896
Quote:
Linux - Kernel (18 Viewing)


Threads in Forum : Linux - Software Forum Tools Search this Forum
Thread / Thread Starter Rating Last Post Replies Views

Now there is some serious problem with your browser.


New thread button is actually between
Linux - Kernel (18 Viewing)

and

Threads in Forum : Linux - Software Forum Tools Search this Forum
Thread / Thread Starter Rating Last Post Replies Views
!
 
Old 04-27-2010, 06:29 AM   #11
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,615
Blog Entries: 29

Rep: Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896Reputation: 896
Did you Log in from those other browsers ?
 
Old 04-27-2010, 06:49 AM   #12
bikas
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi,

yes i've loged in and checked in other browsers like Internet explorer,flock & seamonkey webbrowser. only in opera i was getting the postnew thread option.

Thank you.
 
Old 04-27-2010, 08:34 AM   #13
pixellany
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Distribution: Arch/XFCE
Posts: 17,802

Rep: Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728
Moved to LQ suggestions and feedback
 
Old 04-27-2010, 10:05 AM   #14
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 10,294

Rep: Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611Reputation: 2611
This is definitely a client side issue, but if you can post a screenshot it's possible we'll be better able to see what's actually happening.

--jeremy
 
Old 04-28-2010, 01:19 AM   #15
bikas
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
HI,

I was unable to attach the screenshot. so that's the reason why i made copy and paste.


Sub-Forums : Linux - Software Search this Forum
Forum Last Post Threads Posts

Linux - Games (6 Viewing)
This forum is for all discussion relating to gaming in Linux.

Game Server Control Panel
by tniemela
04-26-10 06:35 PM Go to last post
4,498 26,395

Linux - Kernel (17 Viewing)
This forum is for all discussion relating to the Linux kernel.

How to send a signal from a...
by nini09
Today 12:52 AM Go to last post
3,284 12,800

Post New Thread
Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 > Last
Threads in Forum : Linux - Software Forum Tools Search this Forum
Rating Thread / Thread Starter Reverse Sort Order Last Post Replies Views

Sticky Thread Sticky: What programs would you like to see ported to Linux? (Multi-page thread 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Last Page)
Thread Rating: 9 votes, 4.78 average. jeremy

Yesterday 05:24 AM
by DrLove73 Go to last post
4,136 530,813

Sticky Thread Sticky: LinuxQuestions.org Frappr map (Multi-page thread 1 2 3 )
jeremy

01-22-10 10:22 PM
by dalek Go to last post
33 16,357

How to determine name of file which owns a block number on a FS?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glitch when posting to a thread pixellany LQ Suggestions & Feedback 7 11-23-2008 10:18 AM
posting second thread so i can post url's Metal Storm General 1 06-28-2006 12:56 AM
Posting third thread so i can post url's Metal Storm General 3 06-28-2006 12:36 AM
how to subscribe to a thread without posting llewellyn LQ Suggestions & Feedback 3 03-03-2006 03:21 AM
Subscribe to thread without posting Charlie Spencer LQ Suggestions & Feedback 6 02-15-2006 06:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration