LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback
User Name
Password
LQ Suggestions & Feedback Do you have a suggestion for this site or an idea that will make the site better? This forum is for you.
PLEASE READ THIS FORUM - Information and status updates will also be posted here.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2009, 01:08 PM   #16
blackhole54
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,896

Rep: Reputation: 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeebizz View Post
LQ Spy was enough. I'm sure there is some kind of use for the live thread, but I think I would like an option to have it disabled, at least for me in my user settings, cause it just causes problems on my ancient desktop.
I concur. And your hardware is positively modern compared to what I am typing this on. The feature should be able to be turned off, or at least tamed down to where it doesn't interfere with something you are actively doing with a page. (BTW, if you are working in another tab, does it do anything to distrurb you?)

Hmmm. Now I'm goint to have to go find out what LQ Spy was!
 
Old 08-27-2009, 01:10 PM   #17
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 13,425

Rep: Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986
FWIW, this feature should in no way ever interfere with anything you are doing on an LQ page and it has no impact on other tabs.

--jeremy
 
Old 08-27-2009, 09:11 PM   #18
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware14.2 64-Bit Desktop, Devuan 2.0 ASCII Toshiba Satellite Notebook
Posts: 3,168

Rep: Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936
I also notice it, and on my slow desktop, it pretty much makes my browser unusable. It goes from flashing the message, back to whatever I was reading or typing, but does this for almost half a minute before I get my browser back. Sorry but I don't really care for the live thread 'feature'. Its too distracting.

[edit]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy

FWIW, this feature should in no way ever interfere with anything you are doing on an LQ page and it has no impact on other tabs.
No, it doesn't, only on that particular tab, but I am sure it would affect other tabs if suddenly the tabs were refreshed, and there is a 'live thread' going on. Sorry but the live thread essentially cripples my firefox. I admit I haven't tested it on my more modern notebook, but still I feel it would be just as distracting, even though there would be less CPU usage.

Last edited by Jeebizz; 08-27-2009 at 09:13 PM.
 
Old 08-27-2009, 09:26 PM   #19
GrapefruiTgirl
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: underground
Distribution: Slackware64
Posts: 7,594

Rep: Reputation: 553Reputation: 553Reputation: 553Reputation: 553Reputation: 553Reputation: 553
I've never seen the 'flashing effect' that has been described (and yes, I read that it's been removed) BUT:

I need to ask, "does this actually update the thread that's been added to? Or is it just a notification ONLY, to let the user know they should reload the page to get the fresh update?"

The text box I see on a post is yellowish, and says something like "Live Topic .. blah blah .. You may want to refresh the page before you reply to this thread.."

So in brief: does the content update ad automaticum, or do we need to reload? Because I had been getting a bit miffed at having typed a few lines of reply, only to see that I (apparently) need to reload to see what I might be replying to; after a few of this in a thread, it gets irky

Thanks,
Sasha

Last edited by GrapefruiTgirl; 08-27-2009 at 09:40 PM.
 
Old 08-27-2009, 09:32 PM   #20
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware14.2 64-Bit Desktop, Devuan 2.0 ASCII Toshiba Satellite Notebook
Posts: 3,168

Rep: Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936Reputation: 936
From what I've seen, it doesn't even reload itself. It just give you that message, while you are in the middle of replying or just reading said thread. I guess it does that even if someone isn't typing, but if more people begin viewing the same thread, it would probably also trigger it, since it considers it a 'live' thread, even though nobody is reallying adding anything to it yet perhaps. Who knows.
 
Old 08-28-2009, 08:50 AM   #21
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 13,425

Rep: Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986Reputation: 3986
It automatically adds the post(s) to the thread. There is no notification if someone is simply viewing a thread (or even typing a reply). Also, *all* flashing should now be gone. If you're still seeing it, let me know. Thanks for the feedback - keep it coming.
 
Old 08-28-2009, 09:54 PM   #22
blackhole54
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,896

Rep: Reputation: 61
I can't be sure this is related, but I suspect it is. I was editing a post and clicked the preview button (or whatever it is called). I wasn't expecting a surprise (duh!) so I wasn't paying close attention, but something "weird" happened. I think I may have clicked back on the browser and preview again to convince myself everything was OK. After submitting, I discovered Jeremy had added a post after the one I was editing. Looking at the time stamps (11:22 for new post vs 11:33 for edit) I suspect the new post was already there when I started editing. Is it possible this feature causes some kind of a transitory "glitch" when an edit is done rather than a new post?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Telling people to use "Google," to "RTFM," or "Use the search feature" Ausar General 77 03-21-2010 11:26 AM
ACPI S3 (so-called "Standby" or "Sleep") in GNU/Linux posix_memalign Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 01-17-2009 01:54 PM
I hate to be called a "CODER", "PROGRAMMER"...when.. StevenO General 5 08-01-2007 03:34 PM
"NIM thread blocked" & "Deadman Switch (DMS) close to trigger" errors sosborne Linux - Networking 1 06-28-2006 02:07 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration