LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback
User Name
Password
LQ Suggestions & Feedback Do you have a suggestion for this site or an idea that will make the site better? This forum is for you.
PLEASE READ THIS FORUM - Information and status updates will also be posted here.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2009, 01:16 AM   #1
i92guboj
Gentoo support team
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Lucena, Córdoba (Spain)
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 4,083

Rep: Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404
New "Live Thread" feature, or whatever it's called


I noticed today that while I was looking at a thread a new post being added was detected, and teh page was updated automagically.

After that, the concrete post that had been added started flashing cyclically, fading to white, and making it very hard to read (and in the way, crippling the firefox performance, but I am pretty sure that's firefox's fault as always). I am most concerned about readability.

I'd like to suggest a less aggressive highlighting scheme, some different -but non flashing- color for example.

I greatly appreciate that this forum continues to evolve and has more and more features each day without being a pain to work with. And thank all the staff members for that. I think it's a great idea, I just disagree with a concrete detail of the current implementation that makes it hard to read for me.

Otherwise, kudos for the update

PS. I've just seen another one and it doesn't do the cyclic flash thingie, I don't know if I hit a bug in either the new code or maybe it's my browser acting up. Or if it does only do that under certain conditions.

Last edited by i92guboj; 07-09-2009 at 01:27 AM.
 
Old 07-09-2009, 03:04 AM   #2
colucix
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Bologna
Distribution: CentOS 6.5 OpenSuSE 12.3
Posts: 10,509

Rep: Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981
I've had the same problem yesterday: the flashing page is hard to read. I just reloaded the page and it was displayed normally. If this is the normal behaviour, I think it should be slightly changed, at least by removing the flashing effect.
 
Old 07-09-2009, 04:45 AM   #3
H_TeXMeX_H
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: $RANDOM
Distribution: slackware64
Posts: 12,928
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292
I don't notice any flashing ... maybe I turned it off in the browser settings.
 
Old 07-09-2009, 04:50 AM   #4
brianL
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Oldham, Lancs, England
Distribution: Slackware & Slackware64 14.2 & current
Posts: 7,896
Blog Entries: 59

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I noticed it. Thought "WTF is going on now?!?!".
 
Old 07-09-2009, 05:04 AM   #5
i92guboj
Gentoo support team
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Lucena, Córdoba (Spain)
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 4,083

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by H_TeXMeX_H View Post
I don't notice any flashing ... maybe I turned it off in the browser settings.
It happened one time, then the next time it didn't happen (I just saw the fancy square with a text telling me about the live thread and stuff). I am not sure what the flashing indicates, or if it's just some odd bug that appears only on a certain condition.

Whatever it is, it's quite annoying. Imagine reading Don Quixote on a karaoke with disco music video on the background or something like that

Last edited by i92guboj; 07-09-2009 at 05:06 AM.
 
Old 07-09-2009, 05:08 AM   #6
colucix
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Bologna
Distribution: CentOS 6.5 OpenSuSE 12.3
Posts: 10,509

Rep: Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981
Quote:
Originally Posted by i92guboj View Post
It happened one time, then the next time it didn't happen (I just saw the fancy square with a text telling me about the live thread and stuff). I am not sure what the flashing indicates, or if it's just some odd bug that appears only on a certain condition.

Whatever it is, it's quite annoying. Imagine reading Don Quixote on a karaoke with disco music video on the background or something like that
It just happened to me with your new post. I barely succeeded in pressing the "quote" button between one flash and another...
 
Old 07-09-2009, 05:55 AM   #7
Larry Webb
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Crystal Beach, Texas
Distribution: Suse for mail +
Posts: 5,100
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 229Reputation: 229Reputation: 229
It does get your attention, I believe I saw some smoke come from my keyboard also.
 
Old 07-09-2009, 10:33 AM   #8
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 13,406

Rep: Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979
Thanks for the feedback. The "Live Thread" functionality should be considered ALPHA at this point, which is why I didn't make an announcement (which usually comes at the BETA stage). The flashing is definitely something I plan to get rid of ASAP. If anyone has any additional feedback, I'd appreciate it.

--jeremy
 
Old 07-09-2009, 11:26 AM   #9
unSpawn
Moderator
 
Registered: May 2001
Posts: 29,415
Blog Entries: 55

Rep: Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594Reputation: 3594
Maybe it's browser-specific? Opera 9.64 Just Works w/o any flashing for me. I did notice a post automagically appearing below mine w/o doing a manual page refresh... or is that part of Live Thread?
 
Old 07-09-2009, 11:56 AM   #10
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 13,406

Rep: Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979
I don't think Opera fully supports the YUI animations. I'm working on getting rid of it now. Note that a thread is only "live" for 5 minutes. The intention here is that for threads where a few people are continually posting, say to work on a particular issue, they don't have to keep reloading the page to check for responses or updates, they'll just automatically see new posts.

--jeremy
 
Old 07-09-2009, 12:12 PM   #11
H_TeXMeX_H
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: $RANDOM
Distribution: slackware64
Posts: 12,928
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292Reputation: 1292
Oh, I see, so it's kinda like the LQ Spy only per-thread. Maybe there should be a way to toggle it ?

Last edited by H_TeXMeX_H; 07-09-2009 at 12:14 PM.
 
Old 07-09-2009, 12:16 PM   #12
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 13,406

Rep: Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979Reputation: 3979
Is there a reason you WOULDN'T want to see new replies in a thread you're actively participating in? The opacity fade should be completely gone now. If you're still seeing it, try shift-refresh to ensure you have the latest .js files. If you see it after doing that, let me know the browser you're using.

--jeremy
 
Old 07-09-2009, 03:59 PM   #13
i92guboj
Gentoo support team
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Lucena, Córdoba (Spain)
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 4,083

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404Reputation: 404
Thanks jeremy, I will do so.

I have nothing against the answers showing up automatically, overall when I am responding (because at that point I can't just press f5 to refresh the page). I just didn't like the animation because of the usability issue, for the rest, the feature is really great.
 
Old 07-09-2009, 04:01 PM   #14
GazL
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: May 2008
Posts: 5,740

Rep: Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614Reputation: 3614
Quote:
Originally Posted by unSpawn View Post
Maybe it's browser-specific? Opera 9.64 Just Works w/o any flashing for me. I did notice a post automagically appearing below mine w/o doing a manual page refresh... or is that part of Live Thread?
I use Opera and have experienced the flashing, and I agree with the others, it's annoying as hell.

I'm glad to see that Jeremy intends to get rid of it.
 
Old 07-18-2009, 10:30 PM   #15
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware14.2 64-Bit Desktop, Devuan 2.0 ASCII Toshiba Satellite Notebook
Posts: 3,099

Rep: Reputation: 917Reputation: 917Reputation: 917Reputation: 917Reputation: 917Reputation: 917Reputation: 917Reputation: 917
I have been the next unfortunate victim of this 'live thread' thing. Honestly its distracting. I was in the middle of replying to a post, when suddenly the thread kept jumping from the last post of the thread, to the text box I was typing my reply for said thread. It pretty much prevented me from typing anything, since I couldn't get my cursor back in the box. I had to wait until the page finally settled down, and continue. Not to mention it pretty much slowed down firefox. I'm sure it wouldn't have, if I were on a more modern machine, but I still like my old AMD, and I see no reason for having to HAVE a new machine just for simple web browsing/thread posting.

LQ Spy was enough. I'm sure there is some kind of use for the live thread, but I think I would like an option to have it disabled, at least for me in my user settings, cause it just causes problems on my ancient desktop.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Telling people to use "Google," to "RTFM," or "Use the search feature" Ausar General 77 03-21-2010 12:26 PM
ACPI S3 (so-called "Standby" or "Sleep") in GNU/Linux posix_memalign Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 01-17-2009 02:54 PM
I hate to be called a "CODER", "PROGRAMMER"...when.. StevenO General 5 08-01-2007 04:34 PM
"NIM thread blocked" & "Deadman Switch (DMS) close to trigger" errors sosborne Linux - Networking 1 06-28-2006 03:07 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration