LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-04-2004, 12:42 PM   #1
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Rep: Reputation: 15
Need the correct package to install Belkin F5D7000


Any suggestions?

the pertinent info is as follows for my Belkin F5D7000

02:07.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev02)

Linux Kernel = 2.6.8.1-7
OS = Yoper 2.1.0

I have tried Atmel drivers and they don't work (figures because the chipset is Broadcom)

Thanks guys

(at whits end)
 
Old 09-04-2004, 03:04 PM   #2
nickI-S
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Distribution: SuSE 5.4 to 9.2, RedHat 7.3
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: 15
Know nothing about this card - but presumably it came with WinXP driver.
So you could try ndiswrapper (there is probably an RPM for it in SuSE 9.0
- there is in 9.1 - but likely and old version ndiswrapper-0.10 is much better
than earlier ones).
 
Old 09-04-2004, 04:24 PM   #3
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by nickI-S
Know nothing about this card - but presumably it came with WinXP driver.
So you could try ndiswrapper (there is probably an RPM for it in SuSE 9.0
- there is in 9.1 - but likely and old version ndiswrapper-0.10 is much better
than earlier ones).
Everything was going well until I hit this:

root@localhost ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
Installing bcmwl5
root@localhost ndiswrapper-0.10 # ndiswrapper -l
Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 hardware NOT present

but we have established that in fact the hardware is there:

02:07.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev02)

If anyone can help me to get this to work, I will be a convert for life.

Cheers, thanks for all you help so far.
 
Old 09-05-2004, 09:33 AM   #4
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by MatthewASmith79
Everything was going well until I hit this:

root@localhost ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
Installing bcmwl5
root@localhost ndiswrapper-0.10 # ndiswrapper -l
Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 hardware NOT present

but we have established that in fact the hardware is there:

02:07.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev02)

If anyone can help me to get this to work, I will be a convert for life.

Cheers, thanks for all you help so far.
Do you guys think I should just continue with the nsdiswrapper install? will that solve the problem (as you can see I stopped with the installation of the driver because of the error I received "hardware NOT present").
 
Old 09-06-2004, 03:32 AM   #5
nickI-S
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Bristol UK
Distribution: SuSE 5.4 to 9.2, RedHat 7.3
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: 15
The .inf file is a text file.
As far as I know (and my Win XP is weak) the PCI devices that driver handles
is determined by HEX strings in that file.
So I got my F5D6020 to work by doing

lspci -n

To get _numbers_ for vendor/product and then edited them into .inf.
But that was because I was using RealTek driver with Belkin card (so numbers differed),
if you are using Belkin driver the numbers should match already?
 
Old 09-06-2004, 09:06 AM   #6
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Well I finally got ndiswrapper to recognize that my hardware was present (with the right .inf file):

root@localhost bcmwl5 # ndiswrapper -l
Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 hardware present

and I have the .inf, .sys, and .conf files in the proper subfolder:

root@localhost / # cd /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmwl5
root@localhost bcmwl5 # dir
14E4:4320.conf bcmwl5.inf bcmwl5.sys
root@localhost bcmwl5 #

however when i run the "modprobe ndiswrapper" command, all I get in the system log is this:

ndiswrapper version 0.10 loaded (preempt=no,smp=no)

as you can see there is no "ndiswrapper: driver <driver1> added" and when i type "iwconfig" i get:

root@localhost bcmwl5 # iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

dummy0 no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

I am almost there, I can feel it, but right now this would be me ----> and I am very frustrated (though all you at LinuxQuestions have been tremendous )
 
Old 09-07-2004, 02:14 PM   #7
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
*bump*

 
Old 09-07-2004, 08:36 PM   #8
Hangdog42
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,803
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420
The first thing to do is check lsmod to see if the ndiswrapper module has loaded. From the looks of your log it probably has, but it never hurts to check since if it hasn't there is no point in going any farther. However if the module is loaded, then check your /etc/modprobe.conf file and make sure that the line alias wlan0 ndiswrapper has been added. Running ndiswrapper -m should add that line, but sometimes it fails to do so. Once you have the module loaded and modified modprobe.conf, you should see wlan0 in iwconfig (he says with fingers crossed).
 
Old 09-08-2004, 09:51 AM   #9
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
LAST Question:

When I initially do a
Code:
modprobe ndiswrapper
supposively the the ndiswrapper module is infact loaded as evidenced my this dmesg output:

ndiswrapper: using irq 3
wlan0: ndiswrapper ethernet device 00:30:bd:f0:29:88 using driver bcmwl5.sys
ndiswrapper device wlan0 supports WPA with AES/CCMP and TKIP ciphers
ndiswrapper: driver bcmwl5.sys (Belkin,05/26/2003, 3.20.21.0) added

Then I go through the rest of the install instructs with little or no problems, pull a
Code:
ndiswrapper -m
which should finalize installation. However when I restart the computer and pull a
Code:
lsmod
ndiswrapper is always missing.

Does anyone know what I can do to ensure this module is loaded everytime the computer starts up? Cheers
 
Old 09-08-2004, 11:06 AM   #10
Hangdog42
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,803
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420
I put a modprobe ndiswrapper command into a wireless startup script that also uses iwconfig and dhcpcd to setup and request an IP. The ndiswrapper -m doesn't really "finalize" the installation, it just adds the alias line to your modprobe.conf so your system knows what wlan0 is.
 
Old 09-08-2004, 11:47 AM   #11
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by Hangdog42
I put a modprobe ndiswrapper command into a wireless startup script that also uses iwconfig and dhcpcd to setup and request an IP.....
I wish I knew what you were talking about Wanna tell me how to do it anyways?

Thank you, you have been a great deal of help!
 
Old 09-08-2004, 04:56 PM   #12
Hangdog42
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,803
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420
Quote:
I wish I knew what you were talking about
Heck, sometimes I don't know what I'm talking about......

Anyway, here is an example of what I mean. This is a script I wrote that loads the ndiswrapper module and then configures it. I have my startup configured to call this script at boot time so my card is set up and ready to go when I log in.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
   #
   # rc.wlan0
   #

   #CHANNEL=_
   ESSID="DomainName"
   INTERFACE="wlan0"
   KEY="WEPKey"
   MODE="Managed"
   NETMASK="255.255.255.0"

   #Load the module
   echo "Loading NDISWRAPPER"
   /sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper

   # Set up the WiFi card

   echo "Configuring ${INTERFACE}:"
   /usr/sbin/iwconfig ${INTERFACE} essid ${ESSID}
   #/usr/sbin/iwconfig ${INTERFACE} channel ${CHANNEL}
   /usr/sbin/iwconfig ${INTERFACE} mode ${MODE}
   /usr/sbin/iwconfig ${INTERFACE} key ${KEY}

   # Get IP address from dhcp

   /sbin/dhcpcd -t 10 -d wlan0

   # Bring up interface - I'm not sure if this is necessary, 
   # but it doesn't hurt

   ifconfig wlan0 up
I have absolutely no idea how Yoper handles startup, but in Slackware, the relevant scripts are in /etc/rc.d. In fact you could add these commands to /etc/rc.d/rc.local and in most distros, that should get run on startup.

Hopefully this clarifies things a bit.
 
Old 09-08-2004, 05:03 PM   #13
MatthewASmith79
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Distribution: SuSE10.1
Posts: 58

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I don't even know how to write a script, perhaps you could send me the one you wrote and i can then just modify it? I know that is alot to ask but that would be wicked helpful.

Cheers
 
Old 09-08-2004, 05:18 PM   #14
Hangdog42
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,803
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420
Actually, all you have to do is copy the stuff in the code section of my last post, paste it into your favorite text editor and save it. Voila, instant script.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slackware 10 and Belkin F5D7000 Wireless Card moshambo Slackware 2 04-05-2006 12:28 AM
Problems with Belkin F5D7000 Ahmed Linux - Wireless Networking 9 10-15-2005 06:15 PM
Belkin F5D7000 SSID issues racingnut24 Linux - Hardware 0 12-03-2004 07:50 PM
Belkin F5D7000 Mandrake 10.1 futuredestroyer Linux - Newbie 4 11-03-2004 10:54 PM
SuSE 9.0 will not recognize my Belkin F5D7000 wireless card MatthewASmith79 Linux - Wireless Networking 6 08-02-2004 08:17 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration