LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2006, 03:32 PM   #1
joshknape
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 216

Rep: Reputation: 30
best distro for wireless: my opinion


I have tried running my wireless network on four different distributions--Xandros, Mandrake, Knoppix (that, only because it was an emergency of sorts), and MEPIS (because I heard that MEPIS is good at running wireless networks). Based on the results, I conclude that my network works most reliably with Xandros--I'm not enough of an expert to be sure why, but it does.

In Mandrake, I did have the network running for a month or so, and it would have kept working, except that I changed distributions for a while, and when I went back to Mandrake, I couldn't duplicate whatever I did before, even following the Ndiswrapper instructions.

In Knoppix, the network was successfully detected, but I could never get a strong signal--often none. Besides, who would want to set up a network on a live CD under normal circumstances, for obvious reasons.

I just went back to Xandros, and successfully set up my network again. Sites are loading very slowly for some reason, but they load.

I left Xandros the first time because it--my copy, at least--had too many other problems: common applications crashing; lines, squares and gibberish filling up the title bars (I see other members saying they've had that too). But as it is the only distro I've tried so far that my network runs on, I'm staying with what works.
 
Old 03-12-2006, 07:59 AM   #2
JunctaJuvant
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: Wageningen, the Netherlands
Distribution: OS X & Linux Mint
Posts: 488

Rep: Reputation: 31
Wouldn't it be better if you used your positive and negative experiences with Xandros to write a little review in the reviews section? It would also help to know exactly what brand and model wireless card you are using. Maybe someone here with the same card could then suggest a procedure on how to improve your connection. Just a friendly suggestion.
 
Old 03-13-2006, 11:00 PM   #3
joshknape
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 216

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
I just tried what you suggested. You didn't tell me it might say I don't have permission to post a review *after* I had submitted it; I backed up to the review screen, but it had erased my text. And my equipment is a Linksys wireless adapter, model WUSB54G. (The router, also Linksys, is on another machine.)

Last edited by joshknape; 03-13-2006 at 11:02 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need your opinion/suggestions on distro, mail server, etc. RiS-fantom Linux - General 2 12-29-2005 05:28 PM
What distro in your opinion has the best apps? ctkroeker Linux - Distributions 6 06-05-2005 06:11 AM
I need an opinion on a distro which will run my video card! jacksmash Linux - General 2 10-19-2004 07:01 PM
Server distro opinion BrettPower Linux - Networking 5 06-30-2004 01:43 PM
distro for wireless ap kendals Linux - Wireless Networking 0 09-25-2003 07:14 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration