LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2020, 02:34 PM   #1
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 11,637

Rep: Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360
Netflix Error F7701-1003 libwidevine.so?


This is a bit of a tall order, but here goes.

Posting from a RazPi 4 (Arm A-72 Cortex 4 core@ 1.5Ghz) on Raspberry Pi OS 64 bit(= Debian Buster with small mods). Netflix won't play any video. I get their 15 second trailer and Error F7701-1003.

There's a fix for the 32-biy version which works. It's a script herehttps://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...paste#p1685035

This works in the 32bit version. But of course 64bit & 32 bit are different libs.


Basically, the fix amounts to laying one's hands on the latest libwidevine.so compiled for arm64 and installing it as per instructions on the blog. The guy downloads a script which does it all. I believe an 8G chrome OS was downloaded to get it

Does anyone know of a lazier workaround? If I got the libwidevine.so in a 64bit compile, I could sort it.
 
Old 06-30-2020, 02:11 AM   #2
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 14,904
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208
I assume you are refering to this script:
Code:
curl -fsSL https://pi.vpetkov.net -o ventz-media-pi
Look at the script. It seems to come down to this:
Quote:
Download the latest extracted ChromeOS libwidevine binary and extract it.
https://blog.vpetkov.net/2019/07/12/...mium/#more-987

Surely that's available for 64bit?
 
Old 06-30-2020, 07:28 AM   #3
crts
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,926

Rep: Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673
Chrome OS is only available preinstalled on certain devices. Obtaining a version for ARM64 might be a challenge. And since libwdevine.so is not open-source itself I am not sure if it is within the LQ rules to discuss on how to extract it from a non-free operating system.
 
Old 06-30-2020, 11:24 AM   #4
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 11,637

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360
Further, I believe only the kernel is 64bit, whereas the ABI is 32bit. Heads they win, tails I lose.

Seriously, I thought all of that stuff was GPL, what with google making it and so forth. I'm not bothered hacking when I have found a solution in 32bit. I'll just use the 32bit.

Chrome, and (spit!)M$Edge play DRM content. So does firefox in X86_64. But no options exist for Arm. I now M$Edge is obfuscated from some other page I ran accross (Some Addon/Plugin/Extension Silverlight-hack-attempt??) After looking at the Arch package, I gather chrome is also.

Last edited by business_kid; 06-30-2020 at 11:25 AM.
 
Old 06-30-2020, 01:54 PM   #5
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 14,904
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208Reputation: 4208
Quote:
Originally Posted by crts View Post
Chrome OS is only available preinstalled on certain devices. Obtaining a version for ARM64 might be a challenge. And since libwdevine.so is not open-source itself I am not sure if it is within the LQ rules to discuss on how to extract it from a non-free operating system.
Please research better.
The article I quoted clearly gives a download link for ChromeOS, and it works.
Apparently that's the 32bit version then, but it follows that a 64bit version would be available, too.

The article then describes a lot of stuff which business_kid might be interested in.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-30-2020, 03:33 PM   #6
crts
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,926

Rep: Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673Reputation: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
Please research better.
The article I quoted clearly gives a download link for ChromeOS, and it works.
Apparently that's the 32bit version then, but it follows that a 64bit version would be available, too.

The article then describes a lot of stuff which business_kid might be interested in.
Hm, did not see the download link, just saw that
Code:
wget http://blog.vpetkov.net/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/libwidevinecdm.so_.zip
downloads the 'libwidevinecdm.so_.zip' directly from that same website.

@OP In any case, after some searching I found this thread where a link to a "recovery.conf" file is given. It conains a lot more links similar to that in the linked blog.

I further found this site which might be of help in identifying if one of the images in the "recover.conf" file *might* be suitable for you. I am a bit short of time currently, so I cannot investigate any further.

So there actually are Chrome OS images available for download but installation is not officially supported by Google.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-01-2020, 05:30 AM   #7
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 11,637

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360Reputation: 1360
I have a result to this, so I'm marking this solved. Arm64 is not solved, but not likely to be any time soon.
  • On X86_64, firefox downloads a 64bit widevine decoder into a sandbox, and deletes it after use. I'm not going digging after that to extract one proprietary lib.
  • Palemoon raises a middle finger to drm content saying in effect 'we don't care.' They don't cater for DRM, or plan to add support. If it was easy, they'd probably do it. But I gather it isn't. Mind you, putlocker doesn't do use DRM. Palemoon seem to have fixed their mp3 problems, so Putlocker works fine, with sound.
  • Edge in Windows 10 actually works, but the system is so busy arguing with itself in my VM that half of the screen comes out in blocks Any suggestions about a new windoze 10 VM that uses 100% of it's 1 CPU core 100% of the time welcome.
  • On Arm32hf, I now have the option to play drm content via a modded chromium. This is distributed via online on a public forum so I presume it's kosher.
  • Firefox on Arm32 doesn't have the option to enable drm code, so I can't play it through firefox.
  • ChromeOS64 is actually 64bit kernel but 32bit ABI, so ChromeOS64 doesn't provide a suitable widevine either. The Raspberry Pi OS(=Debian Buster profiled for RazPi) is 64bit.
  • On Arm64, I'm lacking a suitable libwidevine.so for running 64bit code.
  • Firefox on Arm64 doesn't have the option to enable drm code, so I can't play it through firefox. I gather it was left out in the build stage.

I'm seriously not expecting an Arm64 version of a proprietary lib to be compiled for linux aarch64. That cuts me out of Netlifx, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Disney Plus, HBO, Spotiy, Pandora, YouTube (proprietary bits), VUDU, etc. If I get on Youtube and put up with their ads to find out they want MONEY for something, I just choose another movie. But I don't spend that much time watching pure B.S., so it matters little. Maybe we should all spam them asking do they support Aarch64 - a real 64 bit system for Arm and if not, why not? If they got all these emails from potential customers on Raspberry Pi OS, they'd probably sort something.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Round robin load balancing to three proxies listening on ports 1001, 1002, 1003 Ulysses_ Linux - Networking 2 08-11-2019 04:10 PM
[SOLVED] Netflix & Silverlight error newbeeman Linux - Newbie 5 06-07-2013 05:25 PM
Using Netflix player with Wine/Silverligh. Includes fix for font error (Error1001) digigold Linux - Software 3 01-08-2013 10:16 AM
Error smbd/service.c:make_connection_snum(1003) with Samba tim.kimber@altio.com Linux - Newbie 1 12-08-2010 12:07 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration