LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2007, 02:32 PM   #1
nutnut
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 86

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question KDE/Konqueror - No Image Previews?


Hey,

Was just looking through a few KDE screenshots, and noticed everyone seemed to have nice image previews when browsing their home dir with Konqueror. Unfortunately, I don't.

All my images just use the default icon, despite having image previews enabled on Konqueror. I'm using Gentoo - perhaps I need to reemerge something with a particular USE flag?

Any advice the community could offer would be most appreciated.

Kind regards,
James
 
Old 05-16-2007, 04:36 PM   #2
bigrigdriver
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Jul 2002
Location: East Centra Illinois, USA
Distribution: Debian stable
Posts: 5,908

Rep: Reputation: 356Reputation: 356Reputation: 356Reputation: 356
Try this:

Control Center - Kde Components - File Manager - Previews & Meta Data - check Use Thumbnails Embedded in Files.
 
Old 05-16-2007, 04:36 PM   #3
General Failure
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Distribution: Slackware 13.37
Posts: 387

Rep: Reputation: 37
You can turn that on in control center under kde components/file manager.
 
Old 05-16-2007, 04:37 PM   #4
General Failure
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Distribution: Slackware 13.37
Posts: 387

Rep: Reputation: 37
Heh! Nice one
 
Old 05-16-2007, 11:41 PM   #5
nutnut
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 86

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Talking ...

Hey,

Thanks for your replies .

The checkbox you specified was already checked, however, I noticed and tried adjusted the slider 'Maximum File Size' which can be found in the same place.

After changing the value from 1MB to 50MB, all my image previews started appearing ^^!

The original value, 1MB, is quite low. Do you think that increasing this so as to have Konqueror render previews for all images up to 50MB will have an adverse effect on system performance?

Kind regards,
James
 
Old 12-10-2021, 06:16 AM   #6
Lunar
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Texas, USA
Distribution: opensuse
Posts: 106
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 8
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutnut View Post
Hey,

Thanks for your replies .

The checkbox you specified was already checked, however, I noticed and tried adjusted the slider 'Maximum File Size' which can be found in the same place.

After changing the value from 1MB to 50MB, all my image previews started appearing ^^!

The original value, 1MB, is quite low. Do you think that increasing this so as to have Konqueror render previews for all images up to 50MB will have an adverse effect on system performance?

Kind regards,
James
I've almost always had mine set to 10MB resulting in a >8GB du ~/.thumnails/large[/normal] dirs.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No image previews in KDE on hdb BlackHawk1966 Linux - Desktop 2 12-27-2006 10:27 AM
Konqueror previews don't update ??? glenn69 Linux - Newbie 2 11-23-2006 11:33 AM
Konqueror Video Previews bendeco13 Linux - General 0 09-08-2006 11:33 AM
konqueror image previews RockmanExe Slackware 3 01-11-2005 02:20 AM
Audio previews in Konqueror Sirrvs Linux - Software 1 08-22-2003 01:32 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration