LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2004, 11:50 PM   #1
witeshark
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Miami FL
Distribution: Mac OS X 10.4.11 Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 429

Rep: Reputation: 30
Cool I hate to start a new thread but this is gonna be new


I am UNIX enough to run my Mac with total delight. I wanna put Linux on my older PC and learn it tip top. I don't wanna add to the stock 64m RAM. What distro is gonna be suggested? I can spare easy 10gig HD and lose the win partition all out as I don't rely on that PC at all
 
Old 01-18-2004, 12:23 AM   #2
hypexr
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: USA Fresno Callifornia
Distribution: Gentoo (workstation), ArchLinux (file/mail server), Freebsd (web server), Ubuntu (laptop)
Posts: 115

Rep: Reputation: 16
You are going to want a distro that you can keep slim. Maybe Gentoo, Slackware, or Arch Linux. Some distros, Red Hat comes to mind, get so many services going after the initial install that they will more than suck up your ram. More important than the distro is going to be that you run a minimalistic window manager like fluxbox, ROX, XFce, icewm or stick to the console.
 
Old 01-18-2004, 01:04 AM   #3
adz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Distribution: Debian, FreeBSD
Posts: 1,713

Rep: Reputation: 53
Debian can also be run quite light.
 
Old 01-18-2004, 07:39 PM   #4
DavidPhillips
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: South Alabama
Distribution: Fedora / RedHat / SuSE
Posts: 7,163

Rep: Reputation: 58
Your gonna need more RAM
 
Old 01-19-2004, 12:17 AM   #5
yamakid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Florida, U.S.A.
Distribution: knoppix,mandrake,
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: 15
I use an old distro, Red Hat 7.3 to get an old Pentium pro (200 mhz.) up and running. Using Gnome 1.4
this system has 64 megs ram and it works all right. not the fastest and I'm still working out some bugs, but it works and has a use able window manager.
 
Old 01-19-2004, 12:49 PM   #6
witeshark
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Miami FL
Distribution: Mac OS X 10.4.11 Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 429

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Thumbs up

Yay! this sounds like exactly what I'm looking for! I have 64 megs and the Intel in this case is a P3 700MHz. crappy side bus though @66MHz. Do you think Red Hat 7.4 will set the partition and see the the CD write drive? Where can I get it?
 
Old 01-19-2004, 01:30 PM   #7
vinay_s_s
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 658

Rep: Reputation: 30
I really think Slackware will run smoothly on a 700MHz system.
 
Old 01-19-2004, 02:05 PM   #8
trickykid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,149

Rep: Reputation: 235Reputation: 235Reputation: 235
Quote:
Originally posted by witeshark
Yay! this sounds like exactly what I'm looking for! I have 64 megs and the Intel in this case is a P3 700MHz. crappy side bus though @66MHz. Do you think Red Hat 7.4 will set the partition and see the the CD write drive? Where can I get it?
Redhat 7.4?? Didn't know they made a 7.4. AFAIK it went from 7.3 to 8

Quote:
I really think Slackware will run smoothly on a 700MHz system.
I have Slack running smoothly on a 500mhz system and running also on one 200mhz and two 233mhz with no problems.

So yeah, Slackware would run excellent on a 700mhz, hell, just about all distros should run well on it. but 64 megs of RAM, could use a little more of that as cheap as they are nowadays, cost ya probably 15 bucks to throw in an additional 128 megs or so..
 
Old 01-19-2004, 04:48 PM   #9
r_jensen11
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Minnesota, USA
Distribution: Slack 10.0 w/2.4.26
Posts: 1,032

Rep: Reputation: 45
You have a 700mhz computer with only 64mb ram? I have 64MB ram in my 200mhz computer! I know your computer can support more(I know my computer can't, or at least, not much more. If I put a 128MB stick in or a 256MB in, it only reads that stick as a 64MB......), so find a little change, and throw in a 128MB stick in in addition to your 64MB stick, since I doubt you have 2 32MB sticks(like me).
 
Old 01-19-2004, 05:32 PM   #10
hypexr
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: USA Fresno Callifornia
Distribution: Gentoo (workstation), ArchLinux (file/mail server), Freebsd (web server), Ubuntu (laptop)
Posts: 115

Rep: Reputation: 16
Quote:
If I put a 128MB stick in or a 256MB in, it only reads that stick as a 64MB......),
You man need low density ram to get it to recognize more if your motherboard manual says that it can support it.
 
Old 01-19-2004, 06:35 PM   #11
r_jensen11
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Minnesota, USA
Distribution: Slack 10.0 w/2.4.26
Posts: 1,032

Rep: Reputation: 45
Quote:
Originally posted by hypexr
You man need low density ram to get it to recognize more if your motherboard manual says that it can support it.
It's just that my mobo is so old, it being 5 or 6 years old now.... The bios is the latest version for the computer, so I know that's not an outdated thing I can fix. It's an old machine, and I'm starting to accept it for what it is, a loud piece of crap.
 
Old 01-19-2004, 10:15 PM   #12
witeshark
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Miami FL
Distribution: Mac OS X 10.4.11 Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 429

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
yea 66MHz side bus and 64 meg RAM is sad on a 700MHz box. I didn't build it anyone think Red Hat 7.2 will be happy with 3-D Stereo, PCI, 16-bit Sound/Controller:
AMC97 Codec? hardware.redhat didn't mention this by name -but no HP boxes I did find showed less then fully compatible. Max RAM if I really need it is 2 x 256 MB DIMMs --but I don't really wanna put much $$ in this thing since it's just for fun and my primary box is my Mac.
 
Old 01-20-2004, 09:22 AM   #13
dibblethewrecke
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 210

Rep: Reputation: 30
i didn't read all your stuff about RAM but adding to the 2nd reply (i think) after gentoo, slack, arch...try vector, it's a little slackware and it's popular and fast

oh yeah, forget gnome and kde and go for fluxbox as your window manager that's fairly popular i heard...

Last edited by dibblethewrecke; 01-20-2004 at 09:23 AM.
 
Old 01-20-2004, 12:47 PM   #14
witeshark
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Miami FL
Distribution: Mac OS X 10.4.11 Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Posts: 429

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Trickykid: yup i noticed that right away --there is no 7.4. But I found a 7.2 for about $10 with a very good detailed install book. Almost certain to get it today If it seems to be unhappy in its GUI mode I guess I'll swing by a CompUSA and get a 128 Meg stick and pop it in... As to the other distros --I just like the Red Hat look to much to pass it up
 
Old 01-20-2004, 01:16 PM   #15
frieza
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: harvard, il
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.4,DD-WRT micro plus ssh,lfs-6.6,Fedora 15,Fedora 16
Posts: 3,225

Rep: Reputation: 402Reputation: 402Reputation: 402Reputation: 402Reputation: 402
i use redhat 7.3 on a 100Mhz pentium with 90MB ram, you can use swap to some extent to make up for a lack of ram, but it all depends on what you want out of your machine
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I start a thread and meantime I find out the solution, what should I do? zahadumy LQ Suggestions & Feedback 3 11-28-2005 08:00 PM
gonna start bulding lfs 6. advice needed liljhand Linux From Scratch 5 02-20-2005 01:34 PM
Main thread sending notification to child thread rajesh_b Programming 1 09-22-2004 09:15 AM
configure qt thread issue (just compiled qt w/ -thread option) cleff Linux - Software 8 05-07-2004 11:11 PM
Im back with another question! LOL ya'll are gonna hate me! libranikki Linux - Newbie 9 01-06-2004 10:35 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration