LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Linux - Software (https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/)
-   -   Google Chrome 3.0.197.11: a quick review (https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/google-chrome-3-0-197-11-a-quick-review-746947/)

jdkaye 08-12-2009 05:48 AM

Google Chrome 3.0.197.11: a quick review
 
Hi all,
I just installed the Chrome version in the thread title and it seems pretty cool. :) I'm putting it through its paces and the rendering of pages does seem very snappy. Installation is fast and trivial: the time it takes to type
Code:

# dpkg -i google-chrome-unstable_current_i386.deb
It takes (almost) all my settings from FFx and uses them. It may be missing a few plugins and extensions but it's early days yet. It has a nice clean uncluttered look about it. I'm pretty impressed. My only gripe is that I haven't figured out to get a side bar up with my bookmarks as in FFx. Now I have to click a drop down menu for them.

I'd be interested in other peoples opinions.
Cheers,
jdk

craigevil 08-12-2009 11:02 PM

$ apt-cache policy google-chrome-unstable
google-chrome-unstable:
Installed: 3.0.198.1-r23116
Candidate: 3.0.198.1-r23116
Version table:
*** 3.0.198.1-r23116 0
500 http://dl.google.com stable/main Packages

Uses all of my iceweasel plugins, including flash and gecko-mediaplayer everything but java, even uses privoxy.

Exec=/opt/google/chrome/google-chrome --enable-plugins --proxy-server=127.0.0.1:8118

it uses less ram/cpu than firefox, but without all of my extensions it really isnt usable for much.

jdkaye 08-13-2009 12:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by craigevil (Post 3641305)
it uses less ram/cpu than firefox, but without all of my extensions it really isnt usable for much.

I agree Craig. It does give you enough of an impression of what it's like so when it is released you can make an informed choice about installing a complete version.

Cheers,
jdk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.