LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2014, 02:12 AM   #1
joboy
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Puppy, Mint
Posts: 441

Rep: Reputation: 5
DVD Styler can't generate preview


Hi there,

I am running DVD Styler on Mint 16 Cinnamon 64bits, I created a short video with 3 MP4, and generated the ISO but can't preview, no detail it just said can't do it, I can playback the MP4 so it is not a Codec problem, I used the same app may be earlier version on Ubuntu without problem, any idea ?

Last edited by joboy; 05-21-2014 at 02:13 AM.
 
Old 05-21-2014, 02:21 AM   #2
John VV
LQ Muse
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: A2 area Mi.
Posts: 17,458

Rep: Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602Reputation: 2602
I use SMplayers screenshot function for that

take a screenshot for each scene in the menu and use those
 
Old 05-21-2014, 05:02 AM   #3
joboy
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Puppy, Mint
Posts: 441

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 5
I finally fixed that. The default preview player is xine but I've not installed, so I change to vlc, but vlc does not accept the command line, so I install xine-ui, but xine-ui is not the actual name of the application so it won't run, I've to remove '-ui' in order to generate the preview, much confusing.
 
Old 05-21-2014, 03:23 PM   #4
nyc_rr
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2014
Distribution: Linux Mint 16 Petra
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: 25
I use tovid for making dvds out of video files. It works great. I use vlc or mplayer to preview my creation before burning to disc. If the directoey of my dvd filesystem is dvd01 for example, I can preview it with

Code:
vlc dvd01/
Or

Code:
mplayer dvd://1 -dvd-device dvd01/
The 1 in red is the title number you wish to play. Replace 1 with the desired title number to play

Or

Code:
mplayer dvdnav:// -mouse-movements -dvd-device dvd01/
Instead of selectting a title number to play, you can use this code to navigate the titles or chapters to play.

Last edited by nyc_rr; 05-21-2014 at 03:26 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Styler - Menu Question Myrlin Linux - Software 2 02-02-2012 10:43 AM
How to generate iso image from RHEL4 DVD? chintan_gaurav8 General 3 01-07-2010 07:15 AM
DeVeDe - Cant convert mpeg-ts clip to dvd - preview and ok button is disabled itpedersen Linux - Software 6 08-28-2009 10:07 AM
Dvd Styler problem stickleback Linux - Software 0 12-01-2008 09:33 AM
DVD:Rip Preview fails to find frame sbassett Linux - Software 0 01-18-2005 02:39 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration