LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2005, 12:38 AM   #1
viji2ks
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: india
Distribution: susi
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: 0
didn't find virtual text console ctr+alt+F1 like ?


hai i have installed fedora 4 on my pc but is seems my virtual consoles ie by pressing ctr+alt+F1 ......up to F6 not found is that not provided in fc 4
 
Old 07-28-2005, 01:09 AM   #2
andygo
Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Distribution: SLES, Raspbian, Ubuntu-Mate, LineageOS
Posts: 114

Rep: Reputation: 15
it is provided by /etc/inittab
as U can see i've got 3 virtual consoles running cos I don't need more %-)


# Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
#4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
#5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
#6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6


Any questions left?
 
Old 08-02-2005, 05:49 AM   #3
viji2ks
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: india
Distribution: susi
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thank u for informnation but what i have to do for running consoles by going in sbin/mingetty ? tell me little by breif example
 
Old 08-08-2005, 02:41 AM   #4
andygo
Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Distribution: SLES, Raspbian, Ubuntu-Mate, LineageOS
Posts: 114

Rep: Reputation: 15
let's take a look at your /etc/fstab with command
#grep mingetty /etc/inittab
it will show U the number of active consoles
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1 this line means that the FIRST console is active and if I press ctrl+alt+F1 - I'll see the login prompt
#4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4 - this line is COMMENTED (# - this is a comment mark) and this means that tty4 console number 4 is NOT active
edit /etc/inittab the way you want
 
Old 08-08-2005, 08:03 AM   #5
pagla_ghoda
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: India
Distribution: fc4
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question still not working

# Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

hi my inittab files reads this but still i am not able to run the virtual consoles,pls help.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005LE: No text mode console at Ctrl+Alt+F2 JLP Mandriva 0 07-18-2005 11:21 AM
control, alt, shift in console hpcpg Programming 3 04-15-2005 06:46 AM
paste text from a virtual console to X? Rhatlinux Slackware 1 10-12-2004 08:47 PM
linux equivilant to ctr+alt+del aggierian Linux - Newbie 5 06-09-2004 07:06 AM
GeForce SuSe 9.0 hangs on boot and X ctr-alt-bspace bigearsbilly Linux - Hardware 1 03-07-2004 09:14 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration