LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2009, 01:18 PM   #1
sniff
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham UK
Distribution: openSUSE/Debian/ubuntu
Posts: 362

Rep: Reputation: 42
Alt-F1 terminal there but not there


Hello,

I have a strange problem, I have a multi-screen setup using 4 monitors on 2 nvidia cards using xinerama. It works as well as this setup ever works with X and KDE4.2. However when I hit Alt-F1 to get the terminal all I get is 4 blank monitors. The terminal is there because I can login and do stuff, I just can't see what I am doing. Press alt-f7 and I'm back to X and the four monitors showing my extended desktop.

This isn't a huge problem but does anyone know what might be wrong?

Thanks.
 
Old 03-10-2009, 01:47 PM   #2
jdkaye
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Location: Westgate-on-Sea, Kent, UK
Distribution: Debian Testing Amd64
Posts: 5,465

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniff View Post
Hello,

I have a strange problem, I have a multi-screen setup using 4 monitors on 2 nvidia cards using xinerama. It works as well as this setup ever works with X and KDE4.2. However when I hit Alt-F1 to get the terminal all I get is 4 blank monitors. The terminal is there because I can login and do stuff, I just can't see what I am doing. Press alt-f7 and I'm back to X and the four monitors showing my extended desktop.

This isn't a huge problem but does anyone know what might be wrong?

Thanks.
Isn't that clt-alt-F1? or is that different in Suse?
cheers,
jdk
 
Old 03-10-2009, 03:59 PM   #3
sniff
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham UK
Distribution: openSUSE/Debian/ubuntu
Posts: 362

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 42
Yes you are right, thats what happens when I try to do to many things at once!
 
Old 03-10-2009, 06:54 PM   #4
AlucardZero
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: USA
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 4,824

Rep: Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615
So what's the problem?
 
Old 03-11-2009, 05:02 AM   #5
sniff
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham UK
Distribution: openSUSE/Debian/ubuntu
Posts: 362

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 42
the problem is that when I press crtl-alt-f1 instead of getting the terminal the screens all go blank. The terminal is there but I can't see it.
 
Old 03-11-2009, 05:08 AM   #6
ak99505
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Missouri
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniff View Post
the problem is that when I press crtl-alt-f1 instead of getting the terminal the screens all go blank. The terminal is there but I can't see it.
what do you mean its there but you can't see it?
is the screen completely blank?
do you have a log in prompt?

by they way crtl-atl-f1 doesn't load a terminal, it switches you to a Virtual Console,
basically all your nvidia drivers won't be used because you are back to text mode.
one on your monitors will have the session displayed but the rest will most likely not
be receiving a signal.
 
Old 03-11-2009, 10:46 AM   #7
sniff
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham UK
Distribution: openSUSE/Debian/ubuntu
Posts: 362

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 42
I can't see the virtual console, it is there but all the screens are blank. I know it's there because I can login and do stuff even though I can't see what I am doing. Ctrl-alt-f7 will take me back to x.
 
Old 03-11-2009, 02:23 PM   #8
AlucardZero
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: USA
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 4,824

Rep: Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615Reputation: 615
is ctrl+alt+f2 the same?
 
Old 03-11-2009, 02:39 PM   #9
sniff
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham UK
Distribution: openSUSE/Debian/ubuntu
Posts: 362

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 42
yes all except ctrl-alt-f7, I can see the bootup if that is of any interest.
 
Old 03-11-2009, 02:44 PM   #10
ak99505
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Missouri
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniff View Post
I can't see the virtual console, it is there but all the screens are blank. I know it's there because I can login and do stuff even though I can't see what I am doing. Ctrl-alt-f7 will take me back to x.
ok, so the screen is blank and you can't see what you type, you have to go back to the graphical login
and see what you did after the fact. have you tried other vc besides vc1 (ie ctrl-alt-f2, f3, ...)
you'd have 6 of them usually, unless you changed your /etc/inittab file. we'll on second thought
not all distros have an /etc/inittab file. ubuntu being one of them. under ubuntu the console setup
is in /etc/default/console-setup.

I mention this, because I want to know if the /dev/tty* are even active.

if I sound like I'm speaking down to you I apologizes, I spend my working days on the phone fixing peoples
computer problems and most of them no nothing about computers. I just don't like to assume things.
I want conformation of what you've already given me. by they way

Code:
ls /dev/tty*
will give you a large list of tty devices not all of them are active
the two files i mentioned are where the boot up scripts look to see which one
you want activated.

I don't know of a reason why you wouldn't have at least /dev/tty1 up and running. my first guess would
be its not the multi-head setup thats the problem, but something else. I could be completely wrong though
with any luck I'll be getting my extra monitors in today and sett them up, I'm also using nvidia,
if I come across anything that might relate to your situation I'll let you know. by the way.
what distro are you running? it shouldn't matter but directories and files could be laid out differently
from my distro (ubuntu) and yours.
 
Old 03-11-2009, 03:39 PM   #11
ak99505
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Missouri
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: 17
ok, got my monitors hooked up, I see the problem you're having, I have it just, just plugging two monitors into a single nvidia video card, I haven't even messed with setting up any thing or changing anything, just plugged them in and rebooted, and nothing displays when I go to any of the vc, even though I can logging and go back to the graphic one and check to see that i am indead logged in under another vc, I'm inclide to think its a driver issue, not something you're doing wrong, I'll have to play around with it.
 
Old 03-11-2009, 04:13 PM   #12
ak99505
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Missouri
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: 17
well, I don't have an explanation for you but I got my problem fixed
I simply reset my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file back to a clean slate
then rebooted and reconfigured it for nvidia drivers and that fixed
the problem. so you might try that.
even after I enabled twinview I can still use any of my vc
 
Old 03-11-2009, 04:38 PM   #13
Linuxchuck
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Slackware from 94-09, Debian Since March 09
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniff View Post
yes all except ctrl-alt-f7, I can see the bootup if that is of any interest.
By chance, would you have your console set up to boot into a framebuffer mode instead of a normal text mode? I'd think that could be related to your issue if your bootup process shows fine, but disappears once you get into X.

If you have a framebuffer console configured, I'd try reverting it to normal text, and see if you still have the same issue.

As a matter of fact, a quick google comes up with this. It sounds like it may be a related issue.
 
Old 03-12-2009, 01:34 PM   #14
sniff
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham UK
Distribution: openSUSE/Debian/ubuntu
Posts: 362

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 42
Code:
ls /dev/tty*
This produces a long list of tty devices from tty to tty63 and some ttyS*.

At bootup vga=0x31a which I think is wright. That leaves something wrong with the xorg.conf file or maybe the nvidia drives. I am going to install the latest drivers and then have a look at the xorg file.

Philip
 
Old 03-12-2009, 02:23 PM   #15
ak99505
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Missouri
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniff View Post
Code:
ls /dev/tty*
This produces a long list of tty devices from tty to tty63 and some ttyS*.

At bootup vga=0x31a which I think is wright. That leaves something wrong with the xorg.conf file or maybe the nvidia drives. I am going to install the latest drivers and then have a look at the xorg file.

Philip
I believe the direction I was going isn't correct.

I think linuxchuck was right. its in frame buffering mode.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alt no longer META key when using in-terminal option of Emacs (emacs -nw) frznchckn Linux - Software 1 06-02-2007 02:41 AM
Changing to a terminal without using Ctrl+Alt+F... Gentleman367 Linux - Newbie 1 03-21-2006 07:25 PM
Gnome crashes to black screen after boot up (though ctrl-alt-F2 gives a terminal) Gossamer Linux - Newbie 0 10-06-2005 01:32 AM
Terminal change (Ctrl+Alt+F1 to F7) problem mehlkelm Debian 8 09-26-2004 05:11 PM
Right ALT key, 'agetty' on unused virtual terminal. Tarts Linux - Newbie 0 08-14-2003 04:47 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration