LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2004, 07:22 AM   #1
nukeu666
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: India
Distribution: MDK, Fedora, Debian Unstable (current)
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: 15
yet another 'upgrading GTK' thread


using:mdk 9.2
i updated my atk,pango,glib,pkg config packages without much problem
now im trying to upgrade GTK..i got the latest version source
i used './configure --prefix=/etc' then make/make install

but no other progs that need GTK detect the correct version (eg=gaim)
there r msgs during 'make install' to set my LD_LIB_PATH and stuff...
those came during installing the other packages but i didnt do anything.

how to i configure/install gtk to make it visible to everything
 
Old 08-29-2004, 07:34 AM   #2
Demonbane
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 1,796

Rep: Reputation: 47
do you still have the old version RPM installed?
 
Old 08-29-2004, 07:37 AM   #3
nukeu666
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: India
Distribution: MDK, Fedora, Debian Unstable (current)
Posts: 80

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
dunno
the older version of gtk came with mdk's installation
 
Old 08-29-2004, 07:58 AM   #4
Demonbane
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 1,796

Rep: Reputation: 47
What you're doing is bad practice, you should not mix RPMs with source tarball installs. By default in most cases these source installs goes into /usr/local, while RPMs install into /usr.
If you want to upgrade GTK from the source thats ok, either get a source RPM for the newer version and compile it(or modify the source RPM spec file to create a newer version), compile the source into an RPM yourself, or try to find an updated RPM package compiled for your distro, which is the best choice.
If you really want to install from the source thats ok, you'll need to remove the RPM gtk packages so they don't conflict. Keep in mind that source installs won't satisfy RPM dependency, in the future if you try to install any RPM that depends on GTK, it will complain.
Also after you upgrade if any other packages depending on gtk goes haywire, you'll need to recompile them.

Last edited by Demonbane; 08-29-2004 at 08:01 AM.
 
Old 08-29-2004, 08:32 AM   #5
mhearn
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Durham, England
Distribution: Fedora Core 4
Posts: 1,565

Rep: Reputation: 47
It's a really bad idea to upgrade GTK in some cases as it can break software. A better idea is to simply upgrade your distribution.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to gtk+2.0-2.4.9 on 10.0 thane777 Mandriva 3 03-10-2005 03:01 PM
upgrading GTK for gtkPod? rose_bud4201 Linux - Software 4 02-24-2005 01:27 PM
Upgrading GTK GT_Onizuka Linux - Software 5 07-10-2004 03:18 PM
gnome 2.6 gtk thread locks error???? DaVenom Slackware 3 05-31-2004 07:42 AM
Need help upgrading to GTK 2.4 on Fedora sanjeevdas Linux - Software 1 03-23-2004 11:09 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration