LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2015, 04:16 PM   #1
bethas321
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
Trouble Installing to Presario F730US


I'm having trouble getting OS installs to work on this low-end laptop. I've tried Linux Mint, OpenSuse, Manjaro, Zorin OS Core 9 (32bit, 64bit and lite versions). My problem is that once installed, the graphics aren't rendered correctly or (with Zorin) the system would freeze right after logging in. Manjaro did install and work, but the screen was so dark it was unusable, even after adjusting the brightness levels. With Linux Mint, the compatibility mode worked perfectly using the live cd, but the graphics were too distorted once installed. OpenSuse also had distorted graphics. I just want to put the laptop to use until it dies on my.

I've tested the hard drive with the on board diagnostics and I've checked the memory. Neither of those tests gave any errors.

The specs are:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core TK-55
2 gigs of DDR2 memory
Nvidia GeForce Go 6100 graphics card.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm not an expert, so be gentle with the help and recommendations.
 
Old 05-12-2015, 05:06 PM   #2
yancek
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Slackware
Posts: 7,286

Rep: Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384
With the Nvidia graphics, you will probably have to install drivers. In Mint/Zorin, you will need to access System Settings or the Control Center and look for an option for Additional Drivers. Mint Mate has Control Center, others may have System Settings or some other option.
 
Old 05-12-2015, 05:46 PM   #3
bethas321
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
That's the main issue I'm having. In Mint, when I ran compatibility mode I did install the Nvidia driver, but once I installed the os to the hard drive, the graphics are too distorted to do anything. All the text is small and bunched together, even in the start menu. OpenSuse does the same thing. I also installed the driver when running the Zorin live cd and once I installed it, it would freeze once it gets to the desktop. It did it with both the 32 and 64 bit versions. It could be that there is a hardware problem, but since Manjaro did install and worked okay, I'm thinking I'm doing something wrong.
 
Old 05-12-2015, 09:24 PM   #4
yancek
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Slackware
Posts: 7,286

Rep: Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384Reputation: 1384
I'm not sure if I'm reading your last post correctly but, it seems as if you are saying that you installed drivers while booted to the Live CD which won't help since any changes you make are lost on reboot. You have to do it after you install. You should have a second boot option with Grub, Recovery Mode or something similar on the installed system.

I have an Nvidia card on my Desktop and have this graphics problem with any recent install of Ubuntu, Mint or derivatives. Another thing you could try is to edit the kernel line on boot and add the nomodeset parameter. Do you have anything actually installed now or are you still using a Live CD.
 
Old 05-16-2015, 12:00 PM   #5
bethas321
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I'm sorry to have taken so long to reply. Yes you were reading my last post correctly. I thought if I installed the driver while using the livecd, it would carry over to the actual install. I believe the issue is moot. OpenSuse is currently installed, however the system keeps freezing before I can try to add the nomodeset parameter. The area of the keyboard that is over the processor keeps getting extremely hot, so I do believe I'm having a hardware issue. It's done this before and the machine had to be taken apart to reset the cpu.

Thank you so much yancek for trying to help. Once I have time to take the machine apart, I'll try to add the parameter again and will definitely let you know if it works.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba 766mhz Presario DVD ISO in trouble GreenJ Slackware 1 02-03-2009 09:55 PM
having trouble setting up wireless on my Compaq Presario V6000 using openSUSE 10.3 kerberos223 Linux - Newbie 1 04-11-2008 04:23 PM
Compaq Presario 7110US having trouble finding OS occasionally dr_zayus69 Linux - Hardware 0 08-12-2006 05:13 AM
Installing Mandrake 10 on a Compaq Presario soupatech Mandriva 2 08-12-2005 09:40 AM
Installing X on a Presario 6000 III Slackware - Installation 4 08-30-2004 01:59 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration