Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!


  Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2009, 05:11 PM   #1
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: 15

what is rc.d in etc?what things contains rc.d?
Old 10-06-2009, 05:22 PM   #2
LQ Guru
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere on the String
Distribution: Debian Wheezy (x86)
Posts: 6,094

Rep: Reputation: 271Reputation: 271Reputation: 271

A little dated, but should give you the basics.
Old 10-06-2009, 05:25 PM   #3
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 835

Rep: Reputation: 102Reputation: 102
Originally Posted by nagavinodh View Post
what is rc.d in etc?what things contains rc.d?
Put simply, it's all the management scripts for the various services, for all the runlevels. Things that must be started and stopped at each runlevel, and precisely how they must be started and stopped.
Old 10-07-2009, 01:47 AM   #4
Senior Member
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: bbsr,orissa,India
Posts: 1,363

Rep: Reputation: 135Reputation: 135
Originally Posted by nagavinodh View Post
what is rc.d in etc?what things contains rc.d?
It contains the list of all services/daemons, means, which service will start in which runlevel and which service will stop in which run levels and the script to perform these actions.

suppose a service/daemon let smartd(Hard drive health monitor service)in different runlevel dirs in /etc/rc.d/,as follows

rc0.d - K01smartd -> ../init.d/smartd
rc1.d - K01smartd -> ../init.d/smartd
rc2.d - S99smartd -> ../init.d/smartd
rc3.d - S99smartd -> ../init.d/smartd
rc4.d - S99smartd -> ../init.d/smartd
rc5.d - S99smartd -> ../init.d/smartd
rc6.d - K01smartd -> ../init.d/smartd

1.prefix with 'K' means the service will be killed in the corresponding runlevel
2.prefix with 'S' means the service will be started in the corresponding runlevel

The number after K and S are the serial no in order of which the service will be started or stopped.

Actually all the services/daemons are stored in /etc/rc.d/init.d and '->' means they are the symbolic link to the services.

rc.local- Its a script to launch the programmes outside runlevels
rc.sysinit- It's the script that does the system initialization tasks that are consulted with each runlevels..

So after getting knowledge on all this u can desgin ur own runlevel.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration