LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Linux - Newbie (https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/)
-   -   Kooka won't display scan or preview buttons. (https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/kooka-wont-display-scan-or-preview-buttons-485074/)

brocki1 09-19-2006 03:59 PM

Kooka won't display scan or preview buttons.
 
Running Suse 10.0 and have installed an Epson Perfection 1200U scanner with Yast. Tried to use Kooka as the utility program as it is the default but when opened, no scan or preview button shows on the screen so no scan can be launched. Scanner IS installed as I can get it to work fine with Iscan. Does this mean that Kooka doesn't recognize the scanner? How do I fix this?

Dragineez 09-19-2006 04:08 PM

Start With The Stupid Questions First
 
When troubleshooting anything, I always ask the stupid questions first. This normally uncovers the fact that, yes, I was the idiot that caused the problem.

You didn't mention if Kooka had asked which scanner to use when it first started. If no scanner/input device is selected it will behave exactly as you describe.

I don't have it in front of me now, but there should be a set-up, or option, or configuration menu somewhere. See if your scanner is selected as the input device.

brocki1 09-20-2006 12:12 PM

Kooka does ask which scanner to use (it lists the scanner by model number twice), but selecting either one makes no difference.

aikempshall 09-20-2006 05:33 PM

Have you closed views in Kooka at some stage?

brocki1 09-25-2006 07:27 PM

Sorry aikempshall, I don't understand your question. I'm pretty new at this. I have never gotten Kooka to work, if that is your question.

aikempshall 09-26-2006 01:36 AM

Start Kooka and from the menu bar go to Settings -> ToolViews

Are there any "ticks" against any of the menu options and if there are what items are they against?

Regards

brocki1 09-27-2006 10:54 AM

There are X's by: Show Preview, Show recent Gallery Folders, Show Gallery, Show Scan Parameters.

aikempshall 09-28-2006 02:18 PM

That looks OK. I am puzzled as to why it lists the sanner twice.

What happens when, in kooka, you navigate to the menu option Settings -> Select Scan Device. You should see the dialog box with your scanners.

Also at the command line try -

scanimage -L

then

sane-find-scanner

then

kooka

and report back the results

Sometimes kooka I find that moving the configuration file ~/.kde/share/config/kookarc out of the way say to ~/.kde/share/config/kookarc.20060805 solves a whole host of problems.

Regards

Dragineez 09-28-2006 02:55 PM

Thats It
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by aikempshall
I am puzzled as to why it lists the sanner twice.

I've been meaning to ask that question for days. I think you've found the problem.

brocki1 10-17-2006 02:42 PM

Sorry for the delay. My computer has had a fatal crash. Only fair to end this thread until I get a new one up and running.

Thanks for the help. I'll be back and start fresh if kooka doesn't work with a new box.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.