LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2010, 09:57 PM   #1
re^tread
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
install of HP4240 (network) prntr drivr for F12 - job shows in que but doesn't print


.....Not sure how to ask what I need to know, would be grateful if someone could tell me how/where to fill in knowledge gap.....

I tried to install printer driver for hp4240n on school(jr.college) network that uses Ethernet to connect printer to pc's. Used add/remove. Installing printer driver Footmatic stuff allowed test page and job 1 to queue up but not print.

This is only PC in the lab dedicated to Fedora 12 (everyone else is WIN)...does that make a difference since it's on a network?

One tech here told me it may have something to do with ip of printer...looked that up, found it, but where do i plug it in?

Instructor took a look, saw bug in error msg. (at that point i didn't know enough to write down the bug#) and said run anti virus.

Looking for anti virus for F12 led me to you guys at LinuxQuestions, who mostly said Linux/Fedora is so safe, not much need for anti virus...

where do I go to find out how to get the printer to see the print jobs, please. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Edit: Bug info: gnome-packagekit-2.28.2-0.1.20091030git.fc12 if it helps

Last edited by re^tread; 04-08-2010 at 10:41 PM. Reason: bug info:gnome-packagekit-2.28.2-0.1.20091030git.fc12
 
Old 04-09-2010, 08:32 AM   #2
soleil24
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Wellington NZ
Distribution: SuSE 11.2, Fedora 12
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: 18
Add/remove what ?

HP is normally pretty good at providing Linux support for their printers. Did you install the hplips package on the Fedora box?

Really need some more info to give directed help, but...

...as to your specific questions:

A mix of Win/Linux machines should make no difference (my mix of machines and HP printers work quite happily together).
Networked printer would normally be broadcasting its IP address so you most likely wouldn't even need to know it (recently I've only had to use an IP address to confirm a printer is the one I think it is).
Bug in error message = Virus ????!! Haven't a clue what that's about ?

Sounds like you may have a local print queue set up (on the Fedora box) and that's where your print jobs are going, but with no configured print device for the queue to send to.

See if the printer is in fact supported by hplips and then follow the documentation to install/configure on Fedora. Should get you started !

And if you get stuck at specifics come back and ask those specific questions.

Good luck !

IG
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-09-2010, 10:58 AM   #3
re^tread
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thank you so much for reply!! This is how green i really am... how do you tell if the printer is supported by hplips? and where do you get the documentation to install/configure? Any info is very much appreciated! Thanks again for your help, soleil24.
 
Old 04-09-2010, 11:13 AM   #4
pixellany
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Distribution: Arch/XFCE
Posts: 17,802

Rep: Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738
If hplip is installed, and if cups and hplip are both the latest versions, then all you have to do is install the printer and see what drivers are offered.

On my system, there are several choices for the HP Laser Jet 4240. (Is that the model you have?)
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-09-2010, 12:27 PM   #5
re^tread
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Googled my stupid noob question about "how do you tell if hplips is installed".....you do a yum -c application hplips. no hplips on my system. so that's probably part of prob...also checked uri for printer: it says parallel:/dev/lp0 and it is not connected to a parallel port, its ethernet cable, so the address should be the printer ip address, right? but now i can't find that.....

also found Fedora 12 install notes that said to check firewall configs; did that; changed them to allow printers, still no test job, no printing, nothing.....

continue stumped.
 
Old 04-09-2010, 12:37 PM   #6
pixellany
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Distribution: Arch/XFCE
Posts: 17,802

Rep: Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738
In the Fedora menus, you will find something like "Install SW" or "Install Apps". This is your GUI front end for YUM, and may be easier to use.

Or do "man yum" and look for the syntax to search for something. One way or the other, get HPLIP installed and we'll go from there.

Also, have you tried installing using the cups browser interface? (http://localhost:631) This is the only tool I ever use for printer setup.

Even without HPLIP, (I think) network printers should be detected.....
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-09-2010, 02:09 PM   #7
re^tread
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Well, now I've been told by the Technology Coordinator at our school that I cannot install the printers on "that" computer (meaning the Fedora 12 OS computer here in the lab) because she doesn't want "her" computer hooked up to the printer. (her words, not mine.)

The TC did mention that looking up ip addresses of the printers was a security issue and that she couldn't allow that because these were her computers, she took care of them and couldn't allow them to be messed with.

The other WIN PC's are connected to the printer.

This was an assignment from our instructor, to install printer drivers in Ubuntu and Fedora 12.

"Stumped" doesn't even begin to describe this...........

I so apologize for wasting you guys' time.

Last edited by re^tread; 04-09-2010 at 02:27 PM.
 
Old 04-10-2010, 12:38 AM   #8
pixellany
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Distribution: Arch/XFCE
Posts: 17,802

Rep: Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738Reputation: 738
Perhaps the instructor and the "Technology Coordinator" need to have a chat.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CUPS - Print jobs shows completed, but page doesn't print hikerguy Linux - Software 10 05-12-2017 01:17 PM
[SOLVED] Cups and Samba to print one print job to 2 printers - tutorial added bourne Linux - General 7 09-18-2009 11:10 AM
print job spools out but does not initiate print function john test Linux - Newbie 7 07-23-2008 06:13 PM
CUPS shows job sent from gLabels, but doesn't print it CJ Chitwood Linux - General 2 09-30-2007 09:27 AM
Network Printer shows job still printing after it is finished wiseacre108 Linux - Networking 0 05-12-2007 04:57 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration