LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2014, 05:43 AM   #1
naselloj
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
HP t5510


I have two HP t5510 thin client units and would like to know if they could be made into a XBMC media Linux unit? Is there software to put on a usb key to boot into XBMC?
Any help would be great.
Thank You
JGN
 
Old 07-28-2014, 10:03 PM   #2
evo2
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Japan
Distribution: Mostly Debian and Scientific Linux
Posts: 5,753

Rep: Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288
Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by naselloj View Post
I have two HP t5510 thin client units and would like to know if they could be made into a XBMC media Linux unit?
How much ram do they have and what sort of video chip? Better yet can you provide a link to the full specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by naselloj View Post
Is there software to put on a usb key to boot into XBMC?
There should be bootable media available somewhere, but before doing that we need to understand what hardware you have.

Evo2.
 
Old 07-29-2014, 03:11 AM   #3
naselloj
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
T5510 info

Here is a .pdf file showing the info about the T5510 from HP.
t5510 Thi
Attached Files
File Type: pdf t5510_spec.pdf (94.6 KB, 19 views)
 
Old 07-29-2014, 03:26 AM   #4
evo2
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Japan
Distribution: Mostly Debian and Scientific Linux
Posts: 5,753

Rep: Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288
Hi,

I think that having only 112 MB of ram could be a serious problem. Also note that xbmc needs hardware graphics rendering, and I don't think your Radeon 7000M will do that.

Evo2.
 
Old 07-29-2014, 03:29 AM   #5
evo2
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Japan
Distribution: Mostly Debian and Scientific Linux
Posts: 5,753

Rep: Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288Reputation: 1288
Hi,

ohh, but if you really want to try, see for example http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBMCbuntu

Evo2.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration