LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2017, 07:55 AM   #1
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
How to make Debian8 running on a Thinkpad T560 (full SSD install done)


Hello,
I installed Debian8 on the SSD of a Thinkpad T560 via an USB stick.
Now, it shows weird data on the screen and it dont boot: see the attachment.
Any advice is welcome how it could boot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170218_134451.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	24280   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170218_134457.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	66.7 KB
ID:	24281   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170218_134601.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	24282  
 
Old 02-18-2017, 08:06 AM   #2
goumba
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Distribution: Current: Debian and OpenSUSE. Past: Arch, RedHat (pre-RHEL). FreeBSD & OpenBSD novice, Hackintosh
Posts: 1,192
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335
It looks like you did not install the boot loader correctly. The first two are UEFI trying to boot from a network, and the third is the boot selection screen.

Are you sure you installed Debian to the SSD? What did you select when it asked where to install GRUB? It asks if you want to install to removable media, I am thinking you selected Yes, so GRUB was never installed to the SSD.

Boot the USB stick you used to install. When the menu comes up, select Advanced options, then Rescue mode.

It will ask what partition to use as the root for the rescue mode, choose the partition you installed to.

You will be dropped to a prompt, and from there type

Code:
dpkg-reconfigure grub-efi-amd64
Follow the prompts. Do NOT install to removable media.

When done, type exit to leave the rescue mode. Reboot.
 
Old 02-18-2017, 08:15 AM   #3
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
dpkg-reconfigure grub-efi-amd64
says "grub-efi-amd64 not installed"

apt-get install grub-efi-amd64
says "Put a CD".

Any advice is welcome.

Last edited by floppy_stuttgart; 02-18-2017 at 08:18 AM.
 
Old 02-18-2017, 09:24 AM   #4
Shadow_7
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: debian
Posts: 4,003
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 846Reputation: 846Reputation: 846Reputation: 846Reputation: 846Reputation: 846Reputation: 846
PXE is the pixie boot. It boots an OS over a network. So there is no bootloader, or the bootloader isn't configured, or configured for PXE boot only. Is the storage device bootable? Some aren't, but you can put a bootloader on another device and boot them in most cases. The SDHC card reader on my laptop wont boot from the card. But any old usb reader with the same card boots in my case. Lots of possibilities, but you're not getting to the linux part of your install. #captainobvious
 
Old 02-18-2017, 11:47 AM   #5
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
Thanks for the idea.
Again..
I can boot a Debian8 via usb stick (install iso or live iso gnome).
I installed Debian8 a second time onto the SSD from the usb install iso.
I changed few things in the BIOS setup from UEFI boot to Legacy boot. Now, it stay stuck in a boot menue; see photography.
I will have a look again into the BIOS setup; and perhaps install a third time from the usb iso live gnome (in case the other usb install iso was corrupt).

Its perhaps a bit more difficult than planned.. https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/co...buntu_support/ .. Biggest problem with latest-version linuxes is likely to be if you opt for the NVMe SSD (as I did). A lot of installers won't consider an NVMe drive to be a valid installation target (the kernels for the installer will have the nvme driver, it's just the installer UI that won't have a clue). I ended up installing Mageia Cauldron to a flash stick and after rebooting copying the contents of the flash stick to the SSD and configuring the bootloader manually. Took a couple of nights of work, including configuring things the way I want (I use a window manager that doesn't ship with Mageia, so I build those RPMs myself).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170218_171149.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	24284  

Last edited by floppy_stuttgart; 02-18-2017 at 12:04 PM.
 
Old 02-18-2017, 12:02 PM   #6
Timothy Miller
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Debian, KDE Neon, Arch, Void
Posts: 3,300

Rep: Reputation: 1066Reputation: 1066Reputation: 1066Reputation: 1066Reputation: 1066Reputation: 1066Reputation: 1066Reputation: 1066
Most likely, you can fix 2 ways:

1. Reinstall in legacy mode, this will install a non-uefi bootloader and it should just work. I personally dislike legacy mode, but some prefer it.

2. Revert to uefi, and see if you have an option in your bios for "legacy support" or something similar. If so, turn it off. This might still make reinstalling be the simpler method of getting your bootloader working. What may have happened is you had uefi w/ support for legacy roms, which means although Debian booted as a uefi, it might have installed the legacy bootloader. I've seen it happen a ton.

Also, download an installation image. The live images don't support uefi properly. Unless you decide to go the legacy mode, in which case they work fine.

Last edited by Timothy Miller; 02-18-2017 at 12:03 PM.
 
Old 02-18-2017, 12:20 PM   #7
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
ok. I will have a look later. in any case here is the machine from the live iso usb

inxi -F
Quote:
System: Host: debian Kernel: 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Gnome 3.14.4 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 8
Machine: System: LENOVO product: 20FJS05R0H v: ThinkPad T560
Mobo: LENOVO model: 20FJS05R0H v: SDK0J40705 WIN
Bios: LENOVO v: N1KET21W (1.08 ) date: 04/20/2016
CPU: Single core Intel Core i5-6300U (-UP-) cache: 3072 KB
clocked at 2496 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Device 1916
Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: fbdev,vesa,intel
Resolution: 1920x1080@0.00hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.5, 256 bits)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
Audio: Card Intel Device 9d70 driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.16.0-4-amd64
Network: Card-1: Intel Ethernet Connection I219-LM driver: e1000e
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
mac: 54:ee:75:ab:87:3f
Card-2: Intel Wireless 8260
IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives: HDD Total Size: NA (-)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: SAMSUNG_MZ7TY256 size: 256.1GB
ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Cruzer_Slice size: 32.0GB
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 36.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info: Processes: 140 Uptime: 4 min Memory: 565.7/3381.7MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.1.28

Last edited by floppy_stuttgart; 02-18-2017 at 12:21 PM.
 
Old 02-18-2017, 12:25 PM   #8
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timothy Miller View Post
1. Reinstall in legacy mode,
THANKS.
how.. there was no option for it when I used the install iso I putted on usb from the Debian8 stable download site.
 
Old 02-18-2017, 03:27 PM   #9
beachboy2
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Wild West Wales, UK
Distribution: Linux Mint 19.2 MATE, MX-19, Manjaro
Posts: 2,746
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 1008Reputation: 1008Reputation: 1008Reputation: 1008Reputation: 1008Reputation: 1008Reputation: 1008Reputation: 1008
floppy_stuttgart,

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/11...age=101#manual

According to the T560 manual, once you have disabled Secure Boot, you have the following options:

Select system boot capability.

Both: Select priority of boot options
between UEFI and Legacy.
UEFI Only: The system will boot from
the UEFI enabled operating system.
Legacy Only: The system will boot
from any operating system other than
the UEFI enabled one.

Note: If you select UEFI Only, the
system cannot boot from the bootable
devices that do not have the UEFI
enabled operating system.

Compatibility Support Module (CSM) is
required for booting the legacy operating
system. If you select UEFI Only, CSM
Support is selectable. For Both or
Legacy Only mode, CSM Support is not selectable.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-18-2017, 07:00 PM   #10
goumba
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Distribution: Current: Debian and OpenSUSE. Past: Arch, RedHat (pre-RHEL). FreeBSD & OpenBSD novice, Hackintosh
Posts: 1,192
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by beachboy2 View Post
According to the T560 manual, once you have disabled Secure Boot, you have the following options:
I have a ThinkPad 460 and a Flex 3, and they will not even boot a USB stick with Secure Boot enabled as the stub isn't signed. In fact UEFI is so braindead in this respect it doesn't even give an error just keeps rebooting.

Unfortunately I recall now I had problems installing Debian 9 on the T460, and it was a pain in the rear to get GRUB installed in UEFI mode (I never tried CSM).

It turned out for some reason the installer was refusing to install the grub-efi package, with no reason why. On the ThinkPad it would sit at "Running update-grub" for a long time, then proceed quietly. After four reinstall attempts, I went to a VT and found the installer was never installing GRUB.

Quote:
dpkg-reconfigure grub-efi-amd64
says "grub-efi-amd64 not installed"

apt-get install grub-efi-amd64
says "Put a CD".

Any advice is welcome.
Did you set up a network connection? If you booted to rescue mode and set up a network connection, I could perhaps walk you through adding the repository and getting GRUB installed.
 
Old 02-19-2017, 07:14 AM   #11
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by goumba View Post
Are you sure you installed Debian to the SSD? What did you select when it asked where to install GRUB? It asks if you want to install to removable media, I am thinking you selected Yes, so GRUB was never installed to the SSD.

Boot the USB stick you used to install. When the menu comes up, select Advanced options, then Rescue mode.

It will ask what partition to use as the root for the rescue mode, choose the partition you installed to.

You will be dropped to a prompt, and from there type

Code:
dpkg-reconfigure grub-efi-amd64
Follow the prompts. Do NOT install to removable media.

When done, type exit to leave the rescue mode. Reboot.
I changed the sources.list of the root system in the SSD (with a live system) in order to take away the CD Rom and put a link to a Debian mirror: this was done in order to load the grub-efi-amd64 package

I started again the notebook in rescue mode in the install Debian8 usb (not live usb)
I choose the sda1 where I placed the root on the SSD
grub-update (see picture; it went probably well)

then started again: no boot. It stay at the standard blue screen with "ATA.. " and "Windows.."

I started again the notebook in rescue mode in the install Debian8 usb (not live usb)
I choose the sda1 where I placed the root on the SSD
apt-get install grub-efi-amd64
dpkg-reconfigure grub-efi-amd64
-> it asked a first command line which I made return because it was empty
-> it asked a second line with the proposal "quiet" (and I made return for accepting this proposal)
-> it asked if I wanted to installl EFI on another place and I said "no"
I choose reboot.. and it stay in the menue "ATA.. Winows..". So, still no boot.
Any idea is welcome.

The BIOS setup is in the attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170219_125841.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	24287   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170219_125912.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	24288   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170219_130027.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	79.5 KB
ID:	24289   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170219_130112.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	66.5 KB
ID:	24290   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170219_130728.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	72.3 KB
ID:	24291  

 
Old 02-19-2017, 06:03 PM   #12
goumba
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Distribution: Current: Debian and OpenSUSE. Past: Arch, RedHat (pre-RHEL). FreeBSD & OpenBSD novice, Hackintosh
Posts: 1,192
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335
Under the Security section in UEFI, have you disabled Secure Boot?

Also having both CSM and Legacy enabled in addition to UEFI boot... I wonder if that is confusing GRUB. I have mine set to UEFI only on my ThinkPad works fine.
 
Old 02-25-2017, 12:09 PM   #13
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by goumba View Post
Under the Security section in UEFI, have you disabled Secure Boot?

Also having both CSM and Legacy enabled in addition to UEFI boot... I wonder if that is confusing GRUB. I have mine set to UEFI only on my ThinkPad works fine.
how look your partitioning of your disk? I just created a GPT partition table with GPARTED and will reinstall. Let see if I will be successfull.
 
Old 02-25-2017, 05:28 PM   #14
goumba
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey, USA
Distribution: Current: Debian and OpenSUSE. Past: Arch, RedHat (pre-RHEL). FreeBSD & OpenBSD novice, Hackintosh
Posts: 1,192
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335Reputation: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by floppy_stuttgart View Post
how look your partitioning of your disk? I just created a GPT partition table with GPARTED and will reinstall. Let see if I will be successfull.
Well, it's not so simple as I have both an SSD and M2 in my Thinkpad, but it's pretty much

Internal SSD -
100MB: EFI System Partition (EF00)
100MB: /boot, ext4 (8300)
Rest: LVM (8E00)

M2 -
All of it LVM (8E00)

The rest of the SSD and M2 are
 
Old 02-26-2017, 06:00 AM   #15
floppy_stuttgart
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Distribution: Debian like
Posts: 809

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 76
Last finding: since I deleted all partitions and I made a new automatic install, I discovered my manual partition definition in the first beginning was wrong. So, now it seems to be correct with the automatic install on the whole SSD (500MB UEFI partition installed; 10GB root partition ext4; 8GB SWAP; rest /home ext4).
Few people recommend Debian Testing (NOT stable) or the last Ubuntu LONG-TERM for that notebook https://www.reddit.com/search?q=debian+t560+thinkpad
Now, I will try to move to Debian9 and install everything again (the Debian8 live USB dont boot anymore; the Debian8 install USB still boot = that BIOS setting in the Laptop is weird and not fully understood from my side).

Is anybody having any advice? Everything is welcome

(I must install that thing before my wife kills me.. she has major doubts about my skills since she see me spending hours scratching my head.. and I fear she could come to the idea I am useless in her life and she should find a better one.. haha).
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Linux in Toshiba u940 series with 32gb ssd and 750gb hdd I would like to have boot code in ssd only cvkchary Linux - Laptop and Netbook 4 08-31-2016 05:26 PM
install GUI on minimal distribution(debian8.3) immind Linux - Newbie 4 03-18-2016 03:03 AM
Lenovo Thinkpad x100e + SSD 0siris Linux - Laptop and Netbook 6 05-29-2015 12:35 PM
No make or gmake in Solaris 10 full install? Randux Solaris / OpenSolaris 6 02-21-2009 12:27 PM
Slackware install - will running the full install twice hurt anything? overlook1977 Slackware - Installation 6 04-06-2007 09:00 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration