LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2004, 12:32 AM   #1
glycerine102
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: 0
How to get mandrake 10 / KDE to stop previewing audio


For some reason, when i hover my mouse over an mp3, KDE starts to play it.
Now why on earth would I want this? Its very annoying.

I thought I borked my system cos I couldnt get xmms to play anything. It would just freeze when i loaded a file. It turns out the file was already being used by something. I dont know what is playing my files when i hover but I'd like it to stop.

I just upgraded to Mandrake 10 and it installed Totem Movie Player. It seems to be default for media. So, I just moved xmms up the ladder to the top of the mp3 file association, but it still "previews" my audio.

Anybody got an answer?
 
Old 03-14-2004, 06:12 PM   #2
Caeda
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Distribution: Suse 6.0+, Mandrake 5.0-10.0, Redhat 6.0-9.0, Gentoo 1.2+, Gnoppix, Knoppix, Sabayon, Ubuntu 5.04+
Posts: 1,811

Rep: Reputation: 45
Yeah, lets see how hard this is to fix..
(/begin sarcasm)

Imagine this.. under the menu's in konqueror... they have a submenu labled.. of all the terrible and worthless things to name a submenu...

"PREVIEW"

Now I wonder why they would put a thing like that there.. and gee... what are all these other options for.. the ones called "Images, Cursors, Sound files"... And they all have these little check boxes next to them.. hmm...

(/end sarcasm)

The reason for the sarcasm? Well, perhaps because actually looking through the menu's in konqueror, the heart of KDE, before posting a question asking how to turn off a preview, would have been a reasonable effort on your part.
 
Old 03-14-2004, 08:38 PM   #3
glycerine102
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 10

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
(/begin reality)

Imagine this, I tried that already. I made it so it would not preview anything, but...... just try to imagine this., it still did it.

(/end reality)


So if you are going to be a complete idiot, why would you even post this garbage. It does no good for anybody.

On the bright side of things, if anybody is having a similar problem. I finally fixed this by completely disabling KDE's sound system. I dont have any notification sounds or startup / logoff sounds, but at least I can listen to my music.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to stop mandrake/kde from automounting nonexistent removable devices at startup? pdmackenzie Mandriva 3 11-08-2004 10:53 AM
Previewing NameBased Sites - please help calmbomb Linux - General 1 11-03-2004 03:49 PM
Can't stop KDE/Mandrake 9.2 from blanking screen themusk Linux - Software 1 03-20-2004 09:49 PM
News readers, previewing before browser launch witeshark General 2 03-15-2004 08:39 PM
how do I stop kde from the shell? qsir1 Linux - General 2 02-06-2004 01:27 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration