LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2010, 12:20 PM   #1
anika.ella
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Fedora 8
Posts: 64

Rep: Reputation: 15
error in update F12


This is more technical. I installed F12 and then I tried to update the system (system-administration-softwareupdate). I receive the following error:

Error Type: <class 'yum.Errors.RepoError'>
Error Value: Error getting repository data for installed, repository not found
File : /usr/share/PackageKit/helpers/yum/yumBackend.py, line 3125, in <module>
main()
File : /usr/share/PackageKit/helpers/yum/yumBackend.py, line 3122, in main
backend.dispatcher(sys.argv[1:])
File : /usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/packagekit/backend.py, line 710, in dispatcher
self.dispatch_command(args[0], args[1:])
File : /usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/packagekit/backend.py, line 657, in dispatch_command
self.update_packages(only_trusted, package_ids)
File : /usr/share/PackageKit/helpers/yum/yumBackend.py, line 1948, in update_packages
signed = self._is_package_repo_signed(pkg)
File : /usr/share/PackageKit/helpers/yum/yumBackend.py, line 1437, in _is_package_repo_signed
repo = self.yumbase.repos.getRepo(pkg.repoid)
File : /usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/repos.py, line 121, in getRepo
'Error getting repository data for $s, repository not found' $ (repoid)

HELP ! Is there a need to set more my repo ?

Last edited by anika.ella; 01-31-2010 at 12:22 PM.
 
Old 01-31-2010, 04:49 PM   #2
PTrenholme
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Olympia, WA, USA
Distribution: Fedora, (K)Ubuntu
Posts: 4,186

Rep: Reputation: 346Reputation: 346Reputation: 346Reputation: 346
Can you run su -c 'yum update' and post the error messages? (You'll need to do this in a terminal window, and enter the "root" password when prompted.)

From what you posted, before you do the above, ckeck the contents of /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.repo. It should look like this:
Code:
$ cat /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.repo
[fedora]
name=Fedora $releasever - $basearch
failovermethod=priority
#baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch
enabled=1
metadata_expire=7d
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch

[fedora-debuginfo]
name=Fedora $releasever - $basearch - Debug
failovermethod=priority
#baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/debug/
mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-debug-$releasever&arch=$basearch
enabled=0
metadata_expire=7d
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch

[fedora-source]
name=Fedora $releasever - Source
failovermethod=priority
#baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/releases/$releasever/Everything/source/SRPMS/
mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-source-$releasever&arch=$basearch
enabled=0
metadata_expire=7d
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch
 
Old 01-31-2010, 04:54 PM   #3
GoinEasy9
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Manorville, New York, USA
Distribution: siduction, Fedora 19, openSUSE Tumbleweed
Posts: 379
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 47
There have been multiple reports of problems with PackagKit in the Fedora forums. Usually running yum update from terminal solves the problem.
 
Old 02-01-2010, 05:05 AM   #4
anika.ella
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Fedora 8
Posts: 64

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I solve it with yum update. Thank you very much !
But I am still wondering why in F12 the thing are running more difficult than in F10. In F10 I never had problems with software update from the system-administration tab.
 
Old 02-01-2010, 06:18 PM   #5
chrism01
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney
Distribution: Centos 6.9, Centos 7.3
Posts: 17,395

Rep: Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395Reputation: 2395
Fedora is the R&D distro for Redhat. If you want a less bleeding edge option, try Centos (free version of RHEL). Latest is 5.4
 
Old 02-01-2010, 10:33 PM   #6
GoinEasy9
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Manorville, New York, USA
Distribution: siduction, Fedora 19, openSUSE Tumbleweed
Posts: 379
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 47
The bug in PackageKit seems like it's being ignored by maintainer/developer. Up until this past month, I never had any trouble with it either. Then again, I'm more comfortable using "yum update" now, so I'm not worried how long it takes to get fixed. Shame though, gui update is a staple for new users, it's not right to leave it in its present state without a fix.
 
Old 02-06-2010, 10:48 AM   #7
anika.ella
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Fedora 8
Posts: 64

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
No, no, I am in fedora starting F7, so I will not renounce now to it. I also try suse and ubuntu, but I prefer fedora.
Thanks for you comments !
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
f12 - xorg.conf timl Fedora 12 02-06-2010 12:07 AM
skype on f12 x64 peeths003 Fedora 4 12-13-2009 02:27 PM
Dual Monitors on F12 shaolin77 Linux - Hardware 5 11-30-2009 12:41 PM
All sounds as static in F12 TheStarLion Fedora 0 11-28-2009 04:44 PM
F12? How to get HATARI in fullscreen ?? frenchn00b Linux - Software 0 10-01-2008 11:17 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration