LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop > Linux - Member Desktop Screenshots
User Name
Password
Linux - Member Desktop Screenshots This forum is for the discussion and display of Linux Desktop screenshots. Please remember that many members browse LQ from work, so NSFW screenshots are not appropriate.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2018, 07:05 PM   #166
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
Talking I came snooping, still using ver 9


Hi, I haven't posted here for a while. I came snooping to see what (any of) you have done to get conky 10 to work in the networking connections area.

I'm still forcing PcLinuxOs to use conky ver 9. I got so much help from here when I first set up conky, and I am forever grateful. Thank you.

I scrolled back far enough to see a post by Sector11 the he has stayed at ver 9 as well.

I tried to use a tool that was supposed to convert the conky script but it left my inbound and outbound connections full of errors.

All the best for the new year ahead, regards Glenn
 
Old 01-14-2018, 10:42 PM   #167
weirdwolf
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: 1 AU from a G2V star
Distribution: PCLinuxOS LXDE
Posts: 200

Rep: Reputation: 397Reputation: 397Reputation: 397Reputation: 397
Howdy GlennsPref
using conky 1.10.6-5 and "${upspeed wlan0}" "${downspeed wlan0}" werks for me for up and down speeds but haven't been able to get "tcp_portmon" to work yet, if that's any help.
 
Old 01-15-2018, 02:55 AM   #168
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
Thank you weirdwolf, I'll keep checking back here to see some of those fantastic screenshots.
 
Old 01-20-2018, 08:17 PM   #169
weirdwolf
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: 1 AU from a G2V star
Distribution: PCLinuxOS LXDE
Posts: 200

Rep: Reputation: 397Reputation: 397Reputation: 397Reputation: 397
You're welcome and thanks as well.
 
Old 06-19-2018, 08:56 PM   #170
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
Hi, well I've managed to get it working, but alas it wasn't anything I did. lol

regarding "tcp_portmon" and Conky ver 1.10.8...

this is my Network section

Code:
${color orange}Networking:${hr 2}${color}
 ${color green}${execi 300 /home/glenn/bin/ip.sh}
 IP: ${color green}${addr eth0}  Gateway: ${color green}${gw_ip eth0}
 Down:${color green} ${downspeed eth0} k/s${color} ${alignr}Up:${color green}    ${upspeed eth0} k/s
 ${color}${downspeedgraph eth0 25,140 ff0000 0000ec}${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth0    25,140 0000ff ec0000}
 Connections in:${color green} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 count}${color} Connections    out:${color green} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 count}${color} Total:${color}    ${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}
${color} Inbound Connection ${alignr} Local Service/Port
${color} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767    lservice 0}
 ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 1}
 ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 2}
 ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 3}
${color} Outbound Connection ${alignr} Remote Service/Port${color}
${color} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon    32768 61000 rservice 0}
 ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice    1}
 ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice    2}
 ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice    3}
Code:
conky -version
conky 1.10.8_20171208 compiled Mon Feb 26 02:54:16 CST 2018 for Linux 4.15.6-pclos1 x86_64

Compiled in features:

System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
Package library path: /usr/lib64/conky


 General:
  * math
  * hddtemp
  * portmon
  * HTTP
  * IPv6
  * IRC
  * Curl
  * RSS
  * ICal
  * iconv
  * Weather (METAR)
  * Weather (XOAP)
  * wireless
  * support for IBM/Lenovo notebooks
  * eve-online
  * old configuration syntax
  * Imlib2
  * apcupsd
  * iostats
  * ncurses
  * Internationalization support
  * PulseAudio

 Lua bindings:
  * Cairo
  * Imlib2
  * RSVG
 X11:
  * Xdamage extension
  * Xinerama extension (virtual display)
  * Xshape extension (click through)
  * XDBE (double buffer extension)
  * Xft
  * ARGB visual
  * Own window

 Music detection:
  * CMUS
  * MPD
  * MOC

 Default values:
  * Netdevice: eth0
  * Local configfile: $HOME/.conkyrc
  * Localedir: /usr/share/locale
  * HTTP-port: 10080
  * Maximum netdevices: 64
  * Maximum text size: 16384
  * Size text buffer: 256
I have 2 issues now, :-)

I made a compound error here, A typo, that I was sure I checked... xinerarama not ximerarama!
(The window won't go on the far right monitor-screen.
It used to be enough to have "alignment = 'top_right'," but in the old syntax.
and ximerarama_head has no effect (I read that somewhere...) ) end error... sorry.

and, I can't get it to display the hardware info from dmidecode... If I take the code and paste it into a terminal like Konsole (kde5, Plasma) I get the details formatted as desired.

Any guidance on these features would be appreciated. TIA

here is the total script /etc/conky/conky.conf
Code:
conky.config = {
	alignment = 'top_right',
	ximerama_head = 2,
	background = false,
	border_width = 1,
	cpu_avg_samples = 2,
	default_color = 'white',
	default_outline_color = 'white',
	default_shade_color = 'white',
	draw_borders = false,
	draw_graph_borders = true,
	draw_outline = false,
	draw_shades = false,
    use_xft = true,
    xftalpha = 1.0,
    font = 'Ubuntu:style=Medium:size=8',
	gap_x = 5,
	gap_y = 60,
	minimum_width = 5, minimum_height = 5,
	net_avg_samples = 2,
	no_buffers = true,
	out_to_console = false,
	out_to_stderr = false,
	extra_newline = false,
	stippled_borders = 0,
	update_interval = 0.5,
	uppercase = false,
	use_spacer = 'none',
	show_graph_scale = false,
	show_graph_range = false,
	own_window = true,
	own_window_class = 'Conky',
	own_window_type = 'normal',
	--own_window_hints = 'undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager', -- suspended untill ximerama_head = n, is fixed
	own_window_transparent = false, -- suspended untill ximerama_head = n, is fixed


};

conky.text = [[

${color red}System ${hr 2}$color
${color}${exec whoami} @ $nodename: $sysname, $kernel on $machine
${exec dmidecode --type baseboard | grep 'Product' | cut -d' ' -f3-} by ${exec dmidecode --type baseboard | grep 'Manufacturer' | cut -d' ' -f2-}
Uptime:${color green}$uptime
${color white}${time %A %B %e, %G} ${color green}${time %I:%M:%S}${time %p} ${time %Z}
${color white}Processes:${color green} $processes ${color white}Running:${color green} $running_processes ${color white}
${color red}Cpu ${hr 1}$color
${color white}CPU Temp:${alignr}${color green}${exec sensors | grep -n 'temp1' | sed -n 2p | awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F' ' '{print $1}'}
${color white}CPU Usage:${color green}${cpu cpu0}% ${color gray}${cpubar}
${color red}Graphics GeForce GTX 1060 6GB${hr 2}$color
${color white}GPU, Mem Freq:${alignr}${color green}${execpi 5 nvidia-settings -t -q GPUCurrentClockFreqs | sed -n 2p} MHz
${color white}GPU Mem Used:${alignr}${color green}${execpi 5 nvidia-settings -t -q UsedDedicatedGPUMemory} Mb
${color white}GPU Temp:${alignr}${color green}${execpi 5 nvidia-settings -t -q GPUCoreTemp | sed -n 2p} C
${color cyan}Cooling ${hr 1}$color
${color white}Noctua NH-U12P-se2:${alignr}${color green}${exec sensors | grep -n 'fan1' | awk -F'+' '{print $1}' | awk -F' ' '{print $2}'} rpm
${color white}Top Case Fan:${alignr}${color green}${exec sensors | grep -n 'fan2' | awk -F'+' '{print $1}' | awk -F' ' '{print $2}'} rpm
${color white}Rear Case Fan:${alignr}${color green}${exec sensors | grep -n 'fan3' | awk -F'+' '{print $1}' | awk -F' ' '{print $2}'} rpm
${color white}Front Case Fan:${alignr}${color green}${exec sensors | grep -n 'fan4' | awk -F'+' '{print $1}' | awk -F' ' '{print $2}'} rpm
${color white}GPU Fan:${alignr}${color green}${execi 5 nvidia-settings -t -q GPUCurrentFanSpeed} %
${color orange}Disks:${hr 2}${color}
${color} /dev/sdb2 ${color}(${fs_type /}) /: ${alignr} /dev/sdb4 ${color}(${fs_type /home}) /home:
${fs_used /} used of ${fs_size /} ${alignr} ${fs_used /home} used of ${fs_size /home}
Disk I/O - ${color green}${diskio /dev/sdb2} ${color white}${alignr} Disk I/O - ${color green}${diskio /dev/sdb4}
${color red}Memory ${hr 2}$color
${color white}RAM used:${alignr}${color green} $memperc% ($mem/$memmax)
${color gray}${membar 6}$color
${color white}Swap used:${alignr}${color green} $swapperc% ($swap/$swapmax)
${color gray}${swapbar 6}$color
${color orange}Networking:${hr 2}${color}
 ${color green}${execi 300 /home/glenn/bin/ip.sh}
 IP: ${color green}${addr eth0}  Gateway: ${color green}${gw_ip eth0}
 Down:${color green} ${downspeed eth0} k/s${color} ${alignr}Up:${color green}    ${upspeed eth0} k/s
 ${color}${downspeedgraph eth0 25,140 ff0000 0000ec}${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth0    25,140 0000ff ec0000}
 Connections in:${color green} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 count}${color} Connections    out:${color green} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 count}${color} Total:${color}    ${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}
${color} Inbound Connection ${alignr} Local Service/Port
${color} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767    lservice 0}
 ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 1}
 ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 2}
 ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 lservice 3}
${color} Outbound Connection ${alignr} Remote Service/Port${color}
${color} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 0} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon    32768 61000 rservice 0}
 ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 1} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice    1}
 ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 2} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice    2}
 ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rhost 3} ${alignr} ${tcp_portmon 32768 61000 rservice    3}
${color red}Top ${hr 1}$color
${color}Name              ${alignr} PID     CPU%   MEM%
${color yellow} ${top name 1} ${alignr} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 2} ${alignr} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 3} ${alignr} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 4} ${alignr} ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 5} ${alignr} ${top pid 5} ${top cpu 5} ${top mem 5}
${color}Mem usage
${color yellow} ${top_mem name 1} ${alignr} ${top_mem pid 1} ${top_mem cpu 1} ${top_mem mem 1}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 2} ${alignr} ${top_mem pid 2} ${top_mem cpu 2} ${top_mem mem 2}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 3} ${alignr} ${top_mem pid 3} ${top_mem cpu 3} ${top_mem mem 3}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 4} ${alignr} ${top_mem pid 4} ${top_mem cpu 4} ${top_mem mem 4}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 5} ${alignr} ${top_mem pid 5} ${top_mem cpu 5} ${top_mem mem 5}
]];
Thank you for your time and efforts, Regards Glenn

Last edited by GlennsPref; 06-19-2018 at 08:59 PM. Reason: typo error
 
Old 06-20-2018, 01:58 AM   #171
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 9,911
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlennsPref View Post
xinerarama not ximerarama!
it's actually xinerama.

Quote:
and, I can't get it to display the hardware info from dmidecode... If I take the code and paste it into a terminal like Konsole (kde5, Plasma) I get the details formatted as desired.
then you can use that command in an exec variable:
Code:
${execi 60 /path/to/script}
 
Old 06-20-2018, 09:01 AM   #172
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
Thank you ondoho, I had typos on my typos. I swear I haven't been drinking. :-)

I tried the "execi 60" in the script line but it hasn't changed anything.

Code:
${execi 60 dmidecode --type baseboard | grep 'Product' | cut -d' ' -f3-} by ${execi 60 dmidecode --type baseboard | grep 'Manufacturer' | cut -d' ' -f2-}
I'll leave it in and see what it's like in the morning.

Thank you for your interest.
 
Old 06-20-2018, 02:48 PM   #173
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 9,911
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438
on my system dmidecode requires superuser privileges.
would require some tweaking to get it to work in conky.
 
Old 06-20-2018, 08:13 PM   #174
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
Hmm, it worked before with conky ver 1.9.xx

I'll look further into the syntax changes.

Thank you.
 
Old 06-21-2018, 07:54 PM   #175
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 9,911
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlennsPref View Post
Hmm, it worked before with conky ver 1.9.xx

I'll look further into the syntax changes.
are you not first testing your shell commands in a shell before incorporating them into conky?
not sure what syntax changes you are talking about.
 
Old 06-21-2018, 09:24 PM   #176
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
Yes I do test them in the shell, conky on my system is owned by root:root and I can't edit it from my user account. ...so, I thought dmidecode and /dev/mem would not need extra permission. I must have changed access permission at some earlier incantation of my installation of this system. (I got a new 2Tb Harddrive and re-installed from clean partitions without any system files backup)

Anyway, I was just trying to be fancy and have the info looked up and reproduced on screen.

I've just typed the info in, so it looks the same.

Thanks, regards Glenn
 
Old 06-21-2018, 09:25 PM   #177
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
are you not first testing your shell commands in a shell before incorporating them into conky?
not sure what syntax changes you are talking about.
You are quite right, I was on the wrong path there... My bad.
 
Old 06-22-2018, 06:22 AM   #178
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 9,911
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438Reputation: 2438
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlennsPref View Post
conky on my system is owned by root:root
you mean the conky executable in /usr/bin is owned by root? that's normal.
you should still have rights to & execute it as a normal user, not as root. unless you're running puppy or something.
 
Old 06-22-2018, 07:38 PM   #179
GlennsPref
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: pclinuxos slackware64 tails kali
Posts: 3,382
Blog Entries: 33

Rep: Reputation: 217Reputation: 217Reputation: 217
I mean the config file in /etc/conky.

I just can't remember what I was doing to allow it to work, I stopped using sudo about 3 years ago.

I thought maybe, I was giving access to dmidecode and/or /dev/mem to the normal user account (me).

Thanks anyway. Glenn
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
conky question: passing conky-variable to shell-script zlin50 Linux - Software 2 12-29-2012 07:47 PM
LXer: Conky Colors Makes Your Conky Beautiful In Seconds (Version 3.20 Released) LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-01-2010 12:21 PM
'Casting away const'ness' in C jrtayloriv Programming 3 03-11-2008 05:32 PM
Conky on Suse 10.0 - *** buffer overflow detected *** conky terminated Slidex Linux - Software 1 03-17-2006 12:50 PM
newbie-ness newbiebob LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro 2 07-15-2005 05:33 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop > Linux - Member Desktop Screenshots

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration