LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2003, 01:01 AM   #1
ZackStorm
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: 0
Configuring XFree86 on a T1960CS Laptop


I have attempted once to configure XFree86 to work with my T1960CS, but the results were unwanted. I obviously do not know how to configure XFree86 and I do not want to attempt it in fear of further damage.

So, first of all, will XFree86 even work with an 8MB RAM Laptop? Secondly, well... how do I configure it?

Sorry for being such an idiot, but I am not sure what I am doing.
 
Old 11-05-2003, 01:31 AM   #2
DavidPhillips
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: South Alabama
Distribution: Fedora / RedHat / SuSE
Posts: 7,163

Rep: Reputation: 58
what distro
 
Old 11-05-2003, 01:34 AM   #3
Bluesuperman
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 155

Rep: Reputation: 30
Linux will run on a 8MB RAM laptop -- but x-windows will not. XFree86 is the configuration tool for x-windows.

In order to run a program in linux you need enough total memory to run the app. So lets say you want to run a program that requires 16MB of ram -- you need ram for the kernel, plus ram for your program..

Lets say the kernel needs 4MB of RAM, your program needs 16MB of RAM -- so between physical RAM and SWAP space you NEED 20MB of RAM just to have the two run. If you only have 16MB of memory total -- then your 16MB program will not run.

Second, I am not sure how big your SWAP space is -- lets say you made it twice your RAM (16MB swap) - you have 24 MB total -- Most of this is most likely used by your kernel.

There will not be enough memory to run the laptop. Plus your processor I am assuming (because of the low ram limit) will be to slow to run X -- the screen will take minutes to refresh after a change (mouse click or move).

So -- the sort answer -- on your laptop -- stick with command line -- X is not an option.
 
Old 11-05-2003, 03:16 AM   #4
DavidPhillips
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: South Alabama
Distribution: Fedora / RedHat / SuSE
Posts: 7,163

Rep: Reputation: 58
I have X running on a laptop with 12 MB

486/33
 
Old 11-05-2003, 11:26 AM   #5
ZackStorm
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Oh, ok... Well, is there any desktop that will? If no, then nvm.

Thanks for you help though.
 
Old 11-06-2003, 12:07 AM   #6
Bluesuperman
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 155

Rep: Reputation: 30
David -- I did not say it was impossible -- just that you need enough memory to handle the kernel and X. Plus running X with a windows manager suchs a fvm or twm is different then KDE.
 
Old 11-06-2003, 12:29 AM   #7
DavidPhillips
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: South Alabama
Distribution: Fedora / RedHat / SuSE
Posts: 7,163

Rep: Reputation: 58
I don't think it's going to be very good if it does work.
Mine is very old and the screen is very small. It's only got 64k of video ram, it does 320x204 so the panel takes up half the screen and the titlebar of an xterm takes the other half.


Anyway check out minilinux

It may work a lot better on your machine

Last edited by DavidPhillips; 11-06-2003 at 12:31 AM.
 
Old 11-06-2003, 07:52 PM   #8
ZackStorm
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I AM using MiniLinux. Same here about 64k video, 320204, and such. Are there not any other desktops that would actualy work on those specs? My laptop might, actualy, do 600800.
 
Old 11-06-2003, 07:54 PM   #9
DavidPhillips
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: South Alabama
Distribution: Fedora / RedHat / SuSE
Posts: 7,163

Rep: Reputation: 58
Not sure but I would have a problem with disk space also.
 
Old 11-06-2003, 08:04 PM   #10
ZackStorm
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I am just going to try to get XFree86 RC6 on my laptop to just see what it looks like...

[edit=*X Windows RC6]

Last edited by ZackStorm; 11-06-2003 at 08:11 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help configuring XFree86 on YDL 2.3 (black screen & failed XFree86 -configure) EnVoy Linux - General 1 11-24-2003 05:32 PM
configuring XFree86 chrismiceli Linux - General 1 07-12-2003 06:52 AM
old Toshiba T1960CS/200 questions andrew001 Linux - Laptop and Netbook 4 06-18-2003 11:28 AM
Configuring XFree86 Tuvok *BSD 2 05-22-2003 12:12 PM
Configuring XFree86 My_World Linux - Software 8 04-28-2003 10:17 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration