LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2006, 11:38 AM   #1
hellie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: 0
F11 and F2 do not work


I am trying to download SUSE SLED but I cant get F2 to work to get to the BIOS menu. Nor will F11 boot the cd.

Whats wrong?

Helen
 
Old 11-02-2006, 12:00 PM   #2
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,462

Rep: Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828
Need more information. What type of computer i.e. make / model is this computer. Did the F2 key work in the past? Different computers have different keys to access the BIOS. Once the computer is configured to boot from CD first one typically does not need to press any other key.
 
Old 11-02-2006, 12:04 PM   #3
pwc101
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,847

Rep: Reputation: 128Reputation: 128
If you're trying to boot to CD by changing the BIOS boot order, try hitting Delete during boot. As michaelk has said, there's lots of different keystrokes to access the BIOS menu. Usually, your computer tells you what that key is as it boots.
 
Old 11-02-2006, 12:55 PM   #4
hellie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwc101
If you're trying to boot to CD by changing the BIOS boot order, try hitting Delete during boot. As michaelk has said, there's lots of different keystrokes to access the BIOS menu. Usually, your computer tells you what that key is as it boots.
Its an Athlon 3700. 2DDR ram 300GB Hard disc. Only 3 months old .Personally built for me so no make. I have got into BIOS before. When it boots it says F2 for BIOS and it F11 to install another distro from CD. I have done it before. I intstalled SUSE SLED from XP and then tried OPEN SUSE. So yes I have successfully installed distros before

I have install Opensuse 10.1 but want to go to BACK TO SLED but now I can't get into BIOS by F2 or use F11 to install SLED from CD.

I have tried 2 different keyboards. One USB and one not USB.

I have googled and used the delete key but that does not work either.

What else should I be doing?

Helen
 
Old 11-02-2006, 01:21 PM   #5
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,462

Rep: Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828
motherboard make/model? What OS is installed should not have any effect on the BIOS.
 
Old 11-02-2006, 01:36 PM   #6
hellie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
nForce 4 & nVIDIA Geoforce 6100 chipset.

939 PIN

Thanks ever so much.

Helen
 
Old 11-02-2006, 02:02 PM   #7
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,462

Rep: Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828
Motherboard manufacture? Abit, Asus, MSI, Intel etc.
 
Old 11-03-2006, 02:26 AM   #8
hellie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I have copied and paste the details. Its an AThloon 3700 if thats any help.


NEW** nVIDIA GeForce 6100 + 410 MCP Chipset **NEW**


- Latest nFORCE4 & nVidia Geforce 6100 Chipset - 800Mhz FSB - Supports DDR400 RAM
- LAN Conection - 2 PCI Slots - 6 USB2.0 Ports (2 Front)
- IDE & SATA Support - 16X PCI-Express Slot - 8 Channel Sound Output (7.1)

Helen
 
Old 11-03-2006, 07:54 AM   #9
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,462

Rep: Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828
Quote:
nVIDIA GeForce 6100 + 410 MCP Chipset
FYI this is a chipset. From the link you can see how many different motherboards use this chipset.
http://www.nvidia.com/content/mother...ability/us.asp

Do you still have the motherboard manual?
 
Old 11-03-2006, 08:16 AM   #10
hellie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Found a booklet that came with it that says thank you for purchasing the ASRock Motherboard.

On the front of the book it says 939NF4G-SATA2

ASROCK INC Motherboard.

Quick INstallation guide

Helen
 
Old 11-03-2006, 08:21 AM   #11
hellie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Reading the booklet BIOS Features are:

4Mb AMI BIOS
AMI Legal BIOS
SUPPORTS PLUG AND PLAY
ACPI 1.1 Compliance Wake Up Events
SMBIOS 2.3.1 support.

Helen

PS I HAVE FOUND A DISC! It says ASRock AMD-nVIdia Series
Support CD User Manual Drivers Utilities
AN13c Version 1.3c

Last edited by hellie; 11-03-2006 at 08:26 AM.
 
Old 11-03-2006, 10:07 AM   #12
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,462

Rep: Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828
ASRock is the motherboard manufacture.
Didn't find any help from their website except for pressing F2 continiously after your start the computer to get to the BIOS memu or press F11 to get to the boot menu.
 
Old 11-03-2006, 10:11 AM   #13
hellie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
TRies pressing F2 AND F11 but can't get into BIOS. Any way of running their support disc in OPENSUSE? It includes drivers etc?

Helen
 
Old 11-03-2006, 11:04 AM   #14
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,462

Rep: Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828Reputation: 5828
Typically only windows drivers are included on a support disk.
 
Old 11-03-2006, 12:06 PM   #15
usaf_sp
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Location: Tennessee
Distribution: openSUSE
Posts: 419

Rep: Reputation: 30
Did you run something that would either update or change the BIOS? If you were installing any Operating System they should never change the the BIOS. Do you have a dual boot system? If so what Operating System do you have installed?

Try taking the battery out of the Motherboard and letting it set for a few minutes. Reinsert the battery and try again. (Slim chance of success and you will need to set the hardware clock again)

Last edited by usaf_sp; 11-03-2006 at 12:10 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keymapping SF1 to F13 instead of F11. vangiele Linux - General 0 03-01-2006 02:43 AM
Does the mounting of a *BSD partition on linux work work well when rw ? kloss *BSD 3 10-08-2005 03:21 PM
F11 key (Not Printing) Cort Linux - Newbie 1 10-04-2004 11:16 AM
How to disable F11 user input? jpan Linux - General 3 09-17-2004 04:28 AM
FALCONS EYE (nethack) FAILS ON STARTUP, use to work, wont work even after reinstall roorings Linux - Software 0 10-08-2003 11:39 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration