LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2007, 05:46 PM   #1
bisht.kamal
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 0
Ctrl+Alt+F1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7


Hi.

I am using the fedora 7. And as per my understanding Ctrl+Alt+F1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 should invoke the CLI mode but that is not happening. I am trying to learn commands through CLI but the combination of keys does not comes up with any thing. So any ideas.

I am using Linux as guest OS with Vmware workstation. I do have terminal to execute the commands, but why would the Ctrl+Alt+F1 work?????

Thanks
 
Old 08-03-2007, 05:50 PM   #2
manwichmakesameal
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 804

Rep: Reputation: 110Reputation: 110
You can only do it if your /etc/inittab allows it in the current runlevel. If you have
Code:
c1:1235:respawn:/usr/sbin/qingy tty1 --disable-lastuser
c2:1235:respawn:/usr/sbin/qingy tty2 --disable-lastuser
c3:1235:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
c4:1235:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
c5:1235:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
c6:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux
The 1235's are the ctrl+alt+f* screens. That means that I can only do it for f1, f2, f3, and f5 in my current runlevel. ctrl+alt+f1 is mainly for kernel messages once you log into an xsession.
 
Old 08-03-2007, 06:08 PM   #3
bisht.kamal
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Posts: 11

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Well this is what i have in mine
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

Also the Vmware uses the Ctrl + Alt for managing the cursor control, so can I change the command to launch the CLI console

Last edited by bisht.kamal; 08-03-2007 at 06:10 PM.
 
Old 08-12-2007, 06:04 AM   #4
wayno
Member
 
Registered: May 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: Fedora 8/9, Xandros (eeepc)
Posts: 110
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 15
The problem is because CTRL+ALT passes control from the guest to the host in VMware. I've had the same thing running FC5 / 6 inside VMs but never tried to resolve it because there is a simple work around - running the terminal from the menu.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ctrl-alt-what? Riqz Linux - Newbie 1 02-26-2007 11:22 AM
ctrl+alt+Fx linuxtesting2 Solaris / OpenSolaris 3 05-09-2006 03:22 PM
How to change KDE default Ctrl+Alt+K for changing language into Alt+Shift sepetar Linux - General 9 01-04-2006 06:06 AM
dark screen when pressing Ctrl + Alt + Backspace or Ctrl + Alt F1-F6 in Gnome or KDE trinoo Slackware 5 01-28-2005 08:13 AM
Switching window focus (like alt+tab in windows) and Ctrl+Alt+F1 X windows problem... DiZASTiX Linux - Software 3 01-20-2005 04:56 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration