LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2012, 05:26 PM   #1
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 387

Rep: Reputation: 22
Question eth0 won't start without NM in F16


These are my settings and works in F14.
Is there a bug in F16? no update are available as now right now.
or am I missing something else here.


ifconfig eth0
Quote:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 0F:194:B7:85:1B
inet addr:192.168.67.92 Bcast:192.168.67.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fb80::211:d4fe:fec7:76eb/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:141 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:142 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:14807 (14.4 KiB) TX bytes:24863 (24.2 KiB)
Interrupt:23

Quote:
ifcfg-eth0
HWADDR=0F:129:B7:85:1B
IPV6INIT=no
UUID="5fb16be0-1bf1-8dfb-15a2-ddedd6ffee13"
IPADDR0=192.168.67.92
DNS1=1.2.3.4
PREFIX0=24
DEFROUTE="yes"
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED=no
BOOTPROTO=none
GATEWAY0=192.168.67.250
DNS2=2.3.4.5
DEVICE=eth0
TYPE=Ethernet
ONBOOT=yes
NAME="eth0"
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
USERCTL=no
PREFIX=24
I've tried everything I can think of and what I've found googling, but still I have to 'ifup' it after a restart.

Anyone else wanna take a crack at this cos I just can't find the "error"
I don't wanna use NM, but it does work with it.

Last edited by Basher52; 01-19-2012 at 02:19 PM.
 
Old 01-17-2012, 11:16 PM   #2
kbp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,790

Rep: Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653
I believe the device naming may have changed on you.. try 'emX'
 
Old 01-18-2012, 12:40 PM   #3
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 387

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 22
emX instead of eth0? or am I just stupid here

It is called eth0 when I use NM
Was originally named 'System eth0' (I think) but removed that unnecessary 'System' thing
 
Old 01-18-2012, 04:31 PM   #4
kbp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,790

Rep: Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653
Yeah .. not sure on the details but mine has changed since F14. Did you upgrade or do a fresh install ?
 
Old 01-18-2012, 04:32 PM   #5
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 387

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 22
Just found what you meant by this, from F15 this is done, but there is nothing else but eth0.

Quote:
ls /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/
hosts ifcfg-eth0 network resolv.conf
Quote:
ls /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/
ifcfg-eth0
The only NIC I got after a start/restart is 'lo'
I can't ifup any emX but I can ifup this eth0
 
Old 01-18-2012, 04:49 PM   #6
kbp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,790

Rep: Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653
Do you have an eth0 alias in /etc/modprobe.conf ? .. I'm guessing you upgraded and it kept the old name.

Maybe try this:
- service NetworkManager stop (may be 'systemctl stop NetworkManager.service')
- service network stop
- remove any ethX references from /etc/modprobe.conf
- remove any /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ethX files
- remove /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
- chkconfig NetworkManager off
- reboot

Then just configure networking manually, find the discovered device, add an ifcfg-<dev> file:
DEVICE=<dev>
TYPE=Ethernet
BOOTPROTO=none
IPADDR=x.x.x.x
NETMASK=x.x.x.x
ONBOOT=yes
USERCTL=no
NM_CONTROLLED=no

Last edited by kbp; 01-18-2012 at 04:57 PM.
 
Old 01-18-2012, 05:22 PM   #7
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 387

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 22
I don't have a file called: /etc/modprobe.conf
The only modprobe-thing I got is this directory:

Quote:
ls /etc/modprobe.d/
anaconda.conf blacklist.conf dist-alsa.conf dist.conf dist-oss.conf udlfb.conf
This is a clean install of Fedora 16
I do that to test things before I do the upgrade of the other machines I got running F14 and even F13.

On the F14 machines I just stopped Network Manager, told the NIC to ONBOOT=yes, restarted the network or rebooted and it all worked.
The NIC is embedded so the name should be as you said, emX.

PS. When I installed this I did make a name change of the NIC from 'System eth0' to just 'eth0' if that might have changed something, but I doubt it since it should have been emX anyways, right?
 
Old 01-18-2012, 05:34 PM   #8
kbp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,790

Rep: Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653
So what do you get for 'grep eth /var/log/mesages' ?
 
Old 01-18-2012, 05:41 PM   #9
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 387

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 22
grep eth /var/log/mesages

Quote:
Jan 18 23:35:53 dubb kernel: [ 9.123707] forcedeth: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.64.
Jan 18 23:35:53 dubb kernel: [ 9.230135] forcedeth 0000:00:0a.0: PCI INT A -> Link[APCH] -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 23
Jan 18 23:35:53 dubb kernel: [ 9.850465] forcedeth 0000:00:0a.0: ifname eth0, PHY OUI 0x5043 @ 1, addr 0F:194:B7:85:1B
Jan 18 23:35:53 dubb kernel: [ 9.852905] forcedeth 0000:00:0a.0: highdma csum gbit lnktim desc-v3
Jan 18 23:36:16 dubb avahi-daemon[804]: Registering new address record for fb80::211:d4fe:fec7:76eb on eth0.*.
Jan 18 23:36:17 dubb avahi-daemon[804]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface eth0.IPv4 with address 192.168.67.92.
Jan 18 23:36:17 dubb avahi-daemon[804]: New relevant interface eth0.IPv4 for mDNS.
Jan 18 23:36:17 dubb avahi-daemon[804]: Registering new address record for 192.168.67.92 on eth0.IPv4.

Last edited by Basher52; 01-19-2012 at 02:19 PM.
 
Old 01-18-2012, 08:16 PM   #10
kbp
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,790

Rep: Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653Reputation: 653
Here's the relevant change info: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Featur...rkDeviceNaming

Can you try removing /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and rebooting ?
 
Old 01-19-2012, 02:19 PM   #11
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 387

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 22
Got the same result

70-persistent-net.rules
Quote:
# PCI device 0x10de:0x0057 (forcedeth) (custom name provided by external tool)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="0F:194:B7:85:1B", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"
This is weird lol

Last edited by Basher52; 01-19-2012 at 02:20 PM.
 
Old 01-25-2012, 03:43 PM   #12
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 387

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 22
I couldn't figure this one out so I'm gonna reinstall it again.

I'm gonna mark it solved, but as of now... it ain't
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heartbeat cluster won't recognize other node, resource won't start. slinx Linux - Enterprise 2 04-08-2010 11:48 PM
Heartbeat cluster won't recognize other node, resource won't start. slinx Linux - Enterprise 1 03-31-2010 12:19 PM
eth0 won't load or start in gentoo kernel 2.6.17 tamoneya Linux - Networking 10 11-09-2006 09:14 PM
eth0:1 won't start NRHBasher Red Hat 5 03-13-2005 10:24 PM
eth0 just won't start on boot mrsolo Linux - Networking 4 02-10-2004 02:23 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration