LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2011, 07:37 AM   #31
oOarthurOo
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by utanja View Post
By your own admission, you state that you are for all intensive purposes a Newbie. What give you the right to criticize?
He has the right to criticize by fact of being a human with an opinion and expressing it here without violating board rules. You and others will probably choose to not give those criticisms any weight because by his own admission he is not knowledgeable or credible on the subject and so you will probably not respect his opinion. Which is your right.
 
Old 02-26-2011, 03:55 PM   #32
cynwulf
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: OpenBSD
Posts: 1,551

Rep: Reputation: 638Reputation: 638Reputation: 638Reputation: 638Reputation: 638Reputation: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkduck View Post
Bill of Rights.
Did I critisize? I advocated for OS, which is not in favour in this sub-forum.
I did not tell "Debian is bad". I told "Ubuntu is not bad either". Feel the difference.
You are free to an opinion, but others are free to challenge your opinions. Don't take it personally, us debian users can be a bit grouchy. Water off a duck's back.

I skimmed through your reviews/articles and many of the issues you encountered are extremely trivial. In particular fussing around with sudo; you don't need it. su and enter your password. I would like to encourage you to stick with debian and persevere. You will learn more from debian in a week that you'd learn from years of 'buntu use.
 
Old 02-26-2011, 04:30 PM   #33
darkduck
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Location: London
Distribution: Mageia, Debian, Mint
Posts: 491

Rep: Reputation: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caravel View Post
You are free to an opinion, but others are free to challenge your opinions. Don't take it personally, us debian users can be a bit grouchy. Water off a duck's back.

I skimmed through your reviews/articles and many of the issues you encountered are extremely trivial. In particular fussing around with sudo; you don't need it. su and enter your password. I would like to encourage you to stick with debian and persevere. You will learn more from debian in a week that you'd learn from years of 'buntu use.
You're partially right. During the Debian install I learnt something which I could not during Ubuntu use. It is described in this post.
But that's not because of Debian. That's because I learn something with every new distro. Just time... time... time... I have started Linux & blog in October. Little bit less than you.
 
Old 02-26-2011, 04:48 PM   #34
Larry Webb
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Crystal Beach, Texas
Distribution: Suse for mail +
Posts: 5,100
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 229Reputation: 229Reputation: 229
I try not to put much into reviews, after all they are one persons opinion. They do cause a lot of controversy. This is what makes all of the different distros survive. I do not have any servers nor have plans for any. I can see where GUI would not be a necessity, but for everyday use gui is getting more comfortable everyday. My 2 cents.
 
Old 03-01-2011, 12:19 PM   #35
m_yates
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Upstate
Distribution: Debian, Mint, Mythbuntu
Posts: 1,188

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 60
Distrowatch noted the controversy yesterday and linked to a rebuttal review.

I think the reviewer may have just been trying to generate controversy to get more people talking, and I guess it worked.
 
Old 03-01-2011, 09:01 PM   #36
eveningsky339
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: Western Maine
Distribution: PCLinuxOS (LXDE)
Posts: 466

Rep: Reputation: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_yates View Post
I think the reviewer may have just been trying to generate controversy to get more people talking, and I guess it worked.
After reading the latest DW Weekly, I also came to this conclusion. It is highly unfortunate that the reviewer would purposefully attempt to generate controversy. Then again, DW reviews tend to focus on buggy hobby distro's and legions of generic Debian-based distro's such as Saline OS. Controversy is kind of a nice break from the worthless ramblings about the latest Ubuntu-base distribution for cat-lovers.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Debian 6 Squeeze Review LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-13-2011 01:30 PM
LXer: CDLinux 0.9.2 Community Edition Review (DistroWatch Weekly #310) LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-06-2009 01:50 PM
LXer: DistroWatch Weekly: Review of Mandriva Linux 2007.1, 64-bit KNOPPIX LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-30-2007 04:17 AM
LXer: DistroWatch Weekly: FreeBSD 6.2, review of Pardus Linux 2007 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 01-15-2007 05:21 AM
OpenBSD review on DistroWatch chort *BSD 0 07-10-2004 03:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration