LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Bodhi
User Name
Password
Bodhi This forum is for the discussion of Bodhi Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2018, 10:15 AM   #1
Jeff91
Bodhi Developer
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Bloomington, IL
Distribution: Bodhi
Posts: 365

Rep: Reputation: 52
Bodhi Linux 5.0.0 Release Candidate 2 Feedback Thread


https://www.bodhilinux.com/2018/08/1...-rc2-released/

No outstanding issues that I am aware of with these discs. Let us know if you find anything that we should consider addressing before we publish something close to these as the stable release at the end of the month.
 
Old 08-13-2018, 05:34 PM   #2
enigma9o7
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Location: Silicon Valley
Distribution: Bodhi 5 (Ubuntu 18.04)
Posts: 158

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Here's something odd. I installed vlc. When I opened it, I click on the top left and select edit icon. A window comes up that I cannot resize or reach the end of to save changes.

Here's a screenshot:


https://i.imgur.com/okeaaCj.jpg
 
Old 08-14-2018, 09:42 AM   #3
Jeff91
Bodhi Developer
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Bloomington, IL
Distribution: Bodhi
Posts: 365

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 52
Does this happen with the default arcgreen theme as well?
 
Old 08-14-2018, 01:13 PM   #4
enigma9o7
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Location: Silicon Valley
Distribution: Bodhi 5 (Ubuntu 18.04)
Posts: 158

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
default:yes
MokshaArcDark:yes
MokshaArcGreen: yes
MokshaGreen:yes

Yes, I just tested the other three themes, happens with them too. It doesn't happen with all apps as I just tried it on my browser and that opens a normal sized window. So far I've only noticed it with VLC, and other than browser only other icon I recall editing was pcmanfm and it opened normally.
 
Old 08-19-2018, 01:27 AM   #5
enigma9o7
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Location: Silicon Valley
Distribution: Bodhi 5 (Ubuntu 18.04)
Posts: 158

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I have two shelves; the second just has another ibar. When I right click/ibar/conents, it doesn't edit that ibar, it edits the one on the primary shelf.
 
Old 08-19-2018, 08:30 AM   #6
Jeff91
Bodhi Developer
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Bloomington, IL
Distribution: Bodhi
Posts: 365

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 52
They are different ibars I assume? If you manually pull up all ibar settings can you pick the correct one you'd like to edit? Can you drag and drop icons you'd like on the second bar accordingly?
 
Old 08-19-2018, 05:42 PM   #7
enigma9o7
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Location: Silicon Valley
Distribution: Bodhi 5 (Ubuntu 18.04)
Posts: 158

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yes, different ibars. Yes, manually pull up ibar settings allows me to edit the other one. And I can drop icons onto second ibar. It's only if I right click/ibar/contents that it defaults to the primary ibar's contents as far as I've noticed.
 
Old 08-20-2018, 06:55 AM   #8
rrashkin
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Location: San Benito, Texas, US
Distribution: Bodhi Linux
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I just installed BL5 on both my desktop and notebook (ACER Cloudbook). It's running slick and sleek. I added the xinput --set-prop command to startupcommands so the touchpad on the NB recognizes tapping. One thing I noticed is that it seems (once I load the same applications as I had on BL4, plus xinput) that it uses a few MB more of disk. Is that due to the 4 themes being loaded instead of just 1?
 
Old 08-21-2018, 08:17 AM   #9
rbtylee
Bodhi Developer
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Location: Ladson, SC US
Distribution: Bodhi
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: 39
@enigma9o7 most likely you added another ibar BUT did not add another source. Both IBars have the same source and hence editing one changes both.
if you add a new source and select it for an iBar i think it copies the old source or maybe the default source contents to new ibar configuration file (.e/e/applications/bar/NAME_OF_SOUCE)
But then adding or deleting from the second ibar with the new source does not change the first ibar and vice versa.

To add or select a source for an ibar Right click the iBar and choose iBar and then Settings. Either select a new source for the iBar or add one in the iBar settings popup and be sure you click Apply

Last edited by rbtylee; 08-21-2018 at 08:18 AM.
 
Old 08-21-2018, 09:22 AM   #10
Jeff91
Bodhi Developer
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Bloomington, IL
Distribution: Bodhi
Posts: 365

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 52
You can try removing the extra theme to see if that changes your install size. There is a likely chance though that the Ubuntu core between 16.04 and 18.04 is just larger two years later though.
 
Old 08-21-2018, 09:31 AM   #11
rrashkin
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Location: San Benito, Texas, US
Distribution: Bodhi Linux
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff91 View Post
You can try removing the extra theme to see if that changes your install size. There is a likely chance though that the Ubuntu core between 16.04 and 18.04 is just larger two years later though.
Thanks Jeff. It's not a problem. I just wondered. I noticed that WPS isn't in the Appcenter anymore. Also not a problem for me - I installed LO. But I wonder if there's been some issue with WPS?
 
Old 08-21-2018, 04:59 PM   #12
Jeff91
Bodhi Developer
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Bloomington, IL
Distribution: Bodhi
Posts: 365

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 52
None that I am aware of - I just don't have the time to devote to tracking so many updates for third party applications any longer, so rather than let it lag I've just removed it. Recently started working full time again.
 
Old 08-22-2018, 05:42 AM   #13
rrashkin
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Location: San Benito, Texas, US
Distribution: Bodhi Linux
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff91 View Post
None that I am aware of - I just don't have the time to devote to tracking so many updates for third party applications any longer, so rather than let it lag I've just removed it. Recently started working full time again.
That's great. Enjoy your new endeavors.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bodhi 5.0.0 Release Candidate Feedback Thread Jeff91 Bodhi 23 08-11-2018 12:17 PM
LXer: Bodhi Linux 5.0.0 Release Candidate LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-03-2018 12:06 PM
LXer: Bodhi Linux 3.0.0 Release Candidate One LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 06-10-2014 12:00 PM
LXer: Bodhi Linux 2.0.0 Release Candidate LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-19-2012 08:50 AM
Bodhi Linux Release Candidate Hits the Streets - 01/29/11 Jeff91 Bodhi 1 01-31-2011 09:10 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Bodhi

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration