LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > 4MLinux
User Name
Password
4MLinux This forum is for the discussion of 4MLinux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2016, 08:51 AM   #1
zk1234
4MLinux Maintainer
 
Registered: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Distribution: 4MLinux, Slackware
Posts: 689

Rep: Reputation: 133Reputation: 133
An Everyday Linux User Review Of 4MLinux 17.0


Link to the review:
http://www.everydaylinuxuser.com/201...review-of.html

I do like Gary Newell's reviews. Just because they are really well done! Here are my answers to the questions asked at the end of Gary's review:

1)Why can I not get a wireless network connection?
Well... It's a mini distro. For example: the total size of icon packages (adwaita an pango) is about 400 kB, the size of the 4MLinux fonts package is less than 1 MB, and so on. Your card requires drivers and/or firmware, which are not available out of the box. But you can always find them both on the installation CD and online.

2)Why after installing 4M Linux does it boot to a command prompt and not a GUI?
Because I love "old school" solutions (and I love Doom and the Beatles, too :-) One can change this default behavior by adding the "startx" line to the /etc/init.d/autostart.sh script.

3)Why have applications installed that are dependent on other applications which aren't installed?
To tell the truth I do not understand this question (I am not sure what Garry is talking about).

.
 
Old 06-05-2016, 04:53 PM   #2
zk1234
4MLinux Maintainer
 
Registered: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Distribution: 4MLinux, Slackware
Posts: 689

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 133Reputation: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by zk1234 View Post
3)Why have applications installed that are dependent on other applications which aren't installed?
To tell the truth I do not understand this question (I am not sure what Garry is talking about).

.
OK. Now I know. I read Gary's review again. He gave the following example: youtube-dl (available out of the box) and Python, which is required by youtube-dl. Python is not available out of the box (it must be installed separately from the 4MLinux installation CD/USB). The reason is very simple: Python is one of the biggest packages in 4MLinux. This may be a problem when one wants to run 4MLinux on an older machine. I just left the final decision (what should be installed) to the 4MLinux users. Keep in mind that the minimum requirements for 4MLinux have been defined by me as follows: 128 MB of RAM and 1 GB of a free disk space. I had to design the system in the way which makes it possible to keep my promises.

.

Last edited by zk1234; 06-05-2016 at 05:07 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-06-2016, 09:25 PM   #3
Krope
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2016
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by zk1234 View Post
OK. Now I know. I read Gary's review again. He gave the following example: youtube-dl (available out of the box) and Python, which is required by youtube-dl. Python is not available out of the box (it must be installed separately from the 4MLinux installation CD/USB). The reason is very simple: Python is one of the biggest packages in 4MLinux. This may be a problem when one wants to run 4MLinux on an older machine. I just left the final decision (what should be installed) to the 4MLinux users. Keep in mind that the minimum requirements for 4MLinux have been defined by me as follows: 128 MB of RAM and 1 GB of a free disk space. I had to design the system in the way which makes it possible to keep my promises.

.
From my point of view more information would help. Like add for the WiFi which card is supported and how to install drivers and where to find.
The same for Python. You know the answer and if I search the forum I will find it. Handy would be to get the information from 4MLinux. Maybe a short script which checks the memory and HD size and the info "you need xxx memory and xxx HD for this software and you have xxx and xxxx."

I used many software in my life and some of them are great but hard to figure out how to use it because the documentation nearly not exist. Every user has to figure out by try and error how it works. The big different is the documentation today in my opinion.
I like the idea of 4MLinux after I figured out what the purpose for your distribution is but I couldn't find it at the home page or in the documentation. I had to go through the forum and ask questions to get it. For my it feels like I have to invent the wheel new
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: An Everyday Linux User Review Of Xubuntu 14.10 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 01-06-2015 01:30 PM
LXer: An Everyday Linux User Review Of 4MLinux LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 10-22-2014 03:30 PM
LXer: An Everyday Linux User review of Mozillux LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 05-26-2013 11:40 PM
LXer: Everyday Linux User Review Of SolusOS LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-20-2013 02:42 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > 4MLinux

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration