LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 9.1 Bamboo
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 178493 06-30-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers $58.13 8.4



Description: Mandrake 9.1 has a very easy and simple install process. It recognizes much, if not all, of the hardware in the computer. It also have a great feature called Mandrake 9.1 Control Center which allows users to easily changes setting in X, such as resolution, to mounting drives, setting up firewalls, and editing menus without of the use of the command line.
Keywords: Easy, Great hardware recognition, Newbie friendly


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-09-2003, 11:16 PM   #1
darin3200
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Gentoo!
Posts: 1,153

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Hardware recognition, very easy to use
Cons: With everything done for you don't earn as much



I Mandrake because I can plug in my camera which is not supported by most camera software and Mandrake creates an new folder in my /mnt directory for the camera. It is very easy to change setting with the Mandrake 9.1 Control Center, and the package management helps a lot with installing software. I also like the fact the right after it was installed I was on the internet and could see everything on my network of a router with DSL. A bad side is that it takes forever to load anything in the /mnt directory. I can go /mnt/cdrom and it will take 15 minutes before anything is displayed. For that I just open konsole and mount in there. Also with newer SIS chipsets like 740 Mandrake does a good job of supported. Overall Mandrake doesn't provide the learning curve of harder distrobutions but makes up for it with a large number of features.
 
Old 06-12-2003, 12:45 PM   #2
Riley
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 Powerpack
Posts: 178

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to setup, update and configure. Great for newbies and still great for experts.
Cons: N/A


I started out using this distribution and it was really easy to get used to. I've tried several other distros and came back to this one in the end. This distro is great because it has tons of great officially supported software, it's tools greatly ease configuration, and it has easy to use software management tools. Something I love about Mandrake is that it is easy without assuming you're stupid such as the redhat distro does.
I was also worried that I'd have to keep windows around to use my digital camera especially since it wasn't supported by the digital camera software packages I've seen, however, I just plugged my camera in and Mandrake mounted it and allowed me to access it.
This newest version (9.1) shows that Mandrake is continuing to make their Linux distro better and better.
Though I downloaded this distribution freely I support it by being a Mandrake Club member.
 
Old 06-12-2003, 04:04 PM   #3
jswmcse
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install, user friendly
Cons: kind of slow


I'm a Linux newbie. I took a class to prep for Linux+ a couple of weeks ago after a little bit of playing with Linux in the past. Class was very helpful. So I came home and removed WinXP and tried to install Caldera Open Linux. But I heard about their legal garbarge, so I shelved that distro. Then I tried to install Red Hat 9, but it just wouldn't seem to load on my home computer. When it did, X Windows wouldn't start.

Just before my class I had tested Mandrake 9.1 on a machine at work and it install easily. So I took those CDs home and was able to install it AND get X Windows to run. This machine is mainly used by my wife and kids, so it's very important to get some games and apps running quickly.

With Mandrake, I've got the sound card working (took some effort), gaim is connected to MSN Messenger, and email and Internet worked right away.
Next up is some games for the kids.

Since I'm a newbie, I can't comment of real technical stuff, but Mandrake seems like version that will allow me the freedom to choose something other than MS without having to completely retrain my wife and kids.

Kind of funny to think that my kids will grow up on Linux instead of MS.

Hope this helps,
jswmcse
 
Old 06-12-2003, 05:56 PM   #4
DiBosco
 
Registered: Nov 2001
Distribution: Mandriva, Mandriva, Mandriva. (Three different releases depending on the computer)
Posts: 710

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Ease of use and install.
Cons: Some programs are slow (mainly to load).


Different people seem to cite different reasons for having a go at running Linux, but one common reason for not running it is how difficult it is to use. This is rapidly becoming a spurious reason with the latest offering from Mandrake.

Much of the credit for this can go to KDE for its much improved version 3 desktop and to Open Office for its intuitive Word Processor and Spreadsheet packages. Mandrake have pitched in too with details like printer installation taking a huge leap forward in its ease of use.

I would now be happy to put together a machine for a non techy person and install Linux rather than Windows. Open Office seems to cope reasonably well with Word files; it has a few difficulties with tables, but that's pretty standard when you're translating word processor formats. The spreadsheet package reads Excel files no problem. Microsoft's grip on the world of desktop computing relies heavily on its Office package, so it's encouraging to find a program that can deal with such files.

There will of course still be a number of people who rely on Windows only software, but for a large number of people, all they want a computer for is e-mail, Internet access and word processing. Internet browsing is well catered for by the excellent Mozilla; there are fewer and fewer sites it cannot cope with these days. E-mail packages are abundant and easy to configure. There is some work to be done here though: Evolution is the most rediculous piece of bloatware imaginable and Kmail leaves a little to be desired in terms of presentation and its reliance on the mouse.

Other areas of criticism would be the age it takes for Open Office to boot and how slow it is to save even the smallest of files.

These are minor complaints however. Setup and install is easier and quicker than Windows; Mandrake 9.1 found Internet connections effortlessly (as did 8.1); it's got programs like VNC, Palm Pilot Sync, ICQ etc. It's really closing in on Windows as a mass market desktop operating system. Cutting and pasting between applications is very good now - a Windows user would cope no problem.

Couple this with the fact that Linux is a rock solid operating system at a rock bottom price and you have a very attractive propsition for both individuals and companies. Companies could save tens of thousands of Euros by taking the plunge; it's good to see local authorities and other public funded companies starting to realise this.
 
Old 06-12-2003, 08:00 PM   #5
Jane Delawney
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Mandy 9.1, Knoppix :)
Posts: 146

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: newbie friendly, but a 'real' Linux install for all that
Cons: some bloatware (who needs 6 window managers & 4 browsers?) and the latest version isn't trouble free.


I came to Linux as a totally naive pointy-clicky Windoze refugee and for some reason I still don't really understand I decided to give Mandrake 9.0 a go rather than any other distro.
(Wanted for personal/'ideological' reasons to move away from M$; known for a while I was going to migrate; but choosing mandy was a matter of pure luck, not informed judgement; all I had to go on was stuff from Distrowatch, which for all I knew was only relevant to practiced users...so naive I was then)
Well that was fortunate, then. 9.0 worked right out of the box, and even tho' I've whinged elsewhere about the near disaster of my 9.1 upgrade, now I have it functioning as I want, it's the best OS I've ever used, both in terms of ease of use, and of interest.
Mandrake have done something extraordinary here IMO - while they have made their LInux really suitable for newbs and Windoze migrants, it's also a complete, unexpurgated *nix system, entirely usable and configurable from command line, for those who want such a thing. This sets it aside from certain other desktop-oriented distros (Lindows, Xandros spring to mind) which kinda 'neuter' the linux experience in the interest of making it 'easier'.
Mandrake demonstrates that it's quite possible to provide an end-user-friendly, easily configurable, GUI-oriented OS, without removing those features which true LInux geeks love and cherish. This is 'real' Linux made newbie friendly, and I can't think of a better way of getting people started than that. Begin with a kind-of windows emulation, then gradually start to perceive that there is more, *much* more, to this OS than that.

And also ... I know I may be alone in this, but personally I think that urpmi/rpmdrake is *extremely* cool...though mandy should perhaps make it a little more explicit in their documentation just where you need to go, and what you need to do, to make it work. Once you've set it up, it's just fab, no argument. The only limitation to future updating is my gosh-darn dialup....and I keep thinking of dashed good reasons for not acquiring a permanent IP address...:)

cheers

jd

 
Old 06-16-2003, 02:22 AM   #6
ledus39
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: 9.1
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: all works
Cons: nothing works


The best was, all interface was in my native language and i could type special characters, for such soft I pay 400$ for MS windows, and here its free. I was little confused because there all was preinstalled, i had nothing to do with os my favorite programs is regedit , in windows i spare most of time to configure my os, I couldnot install auto mount feature- it was almost there, cdrom works fine, besides even my films plays in explorer window. The bad news was I couldnot instal my favorite windows games such as rtcw, bf1942 etc. I couldnot instal wine because mandrake has its own version. And the worst thing i couldnot instal my mouse newest usb wireless optical, but with simple ps2 mouse all works fine. Dream about VisualBasic6 applications is just a dream, isnt it?
 
Old 06-16-2003, 03:04 AM   #7
eselma
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Debian Wheezy, SolydK, MX14.2
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Good hardware recognition. Great language support
Cons: Better if it gave you more choices.


I used (time ago) Slackware and RedHat. Problems supporting some h/w with those. I came across Mandrake as a new distro that supported my native language (Catalan, Europe), so I tried. All the hardware were supported easily, and internet connection was made effortless, as the local network, sound and graphic cards. From the version 7.02 I have been using this flawlessly, both in last model PCs or older ones (sorry, only 586 + supported). AMD and Pentiums working fine: at work, home, my wife, etc.

Despite some opinions, I think that Mandrake is a real Linux at last, and behind the "wizard" you can find (and hack) all through CLI. Using the bulky Open Office, sophisticated EMACS or simple JED is your choice.

The new 9.1 version (Bamboo) is even better that last ones. maybe that software is in a cutting edge, (and I was lucky) including the lernel 2.4.21.

Two main criticisms I could gave to MDK:

a/ Being a OS adequate for newbies, the "Quick Installation Guide" is short, but very poor.

b/ For same reason, the "easy and default" install perhaps gave you few choices (specially considering that partition tools are powerful and very stable).

On the other hand, the support is very good, both for free and club members.

Since Mandrake was rid of "expensive executives" the product has been better than before.

Please, before opining on a distro, please give Mandrake an opportunity.
 
Old 06-16-2003, 03:39 PM   #8
liguorir
 
Registered: May 2003
Posts: 256

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $45.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: Rumors of excellent device support!
Cons: Where's the distribution?


So, I ordered Mandrake 9.1 from their website a long time ago, probably over two weeks. I can't say much in the sense of a review, because I still haven't receive my package. However about a week ago, I did get a follow up e-mail acknowledging that it was sent. I leaving this review to see if anyone else has had to wait this long. I suppose penquins have difficulty boxing up the software with their little flippers.
 
Old 06-18-2003, 11:56 PM   #9
Galorin
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: xubuntu, slackware, DSL
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Polished installation GUI, not too many options to confuse newbie
Cons: not enough options for expert or non-newbie install.


I wasn't able to get beyond the install process on 2 machines. In the first, I have a Promise RAID controller that isn't supported (Not Mandrake's fault, blame lies on me for buying the darned thing, and on Promise Inc. for not releasing specs/drivers)

The second machine failed to load X-Windows because the ancient graphics card, supported in 9.0 was not supported in 9.1. Might have been the xfree version, but I didn't have time to test it. Perhaps a mailbomb to Promise is in order to get them to release specs so their hardware can be integrated into the kernel, or some other solution other than 3rd party drivers.
 
Old 06-19-2003, 08:09 AM   #10
Darrin
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: RedHat 9.0 for today :)
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy to install. Great for newbies
Cons: Shipped from france so it took awhile to get it. Some bugs, Manually configure some hardware settigns


I havent had a lot of experience with it yet. But since I have it on a second HD, Its fun to mess with. If I really mess something up, and I did, I just reinstall it. If I can only get streaming video to work it would be very nice. Overal its seems to be a good OS. I bought a book called "Running Linux" which Im going to read to better understand this system. I wish some of the software on 9.1 was a little more updated. Example, I use Opera browser 7.1 0n windows. I beleive 7.1 is available for linux also. Since Im still new and dont know how to install software on mandrake yet, I installed Opera using the mandrake disc. The version is 6.2. Thats soo old. They could of put a newer version on it. Ill eventually figure it out Im sure.
 
Old 06-19-2003, 12:14 PM   #11
jbstew32
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: Debian 3.1
Posts: 149

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy install with functional expert mode, recognizes all hardware with little tweaking, "ontrols centers" for newbies but not required for experts, good for all kinds
Cons: Tends to be bloated as a newbie could unknowingly fill up many gigabytes, some programs load slow, as does viewing /mnt (thank Supermount for that)


My Radeon 9500 Pro was automagically setup for me, and although it doesn't use ATI's fire GL i am still happy because with Slack/Debian it just locked my system! Anyway, great install. Choose expert if you are used to linux or even text based for a little nostalgia. Once you are in, it may be a little slow at times, but if you have a lot of ram you should be ok.

top - 13:12:50 up 23 min, 4 users, load average: 0.72, 0.31, 0.21
Tasks: 76 total, 1 running, 75 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 5.6% user, 2.3% system, 0.0% nice, 92.1% idle
Mem: 774636k total, 317760k used, 456876k free, 14876k buffers
Swap: 523112k total, 0k used, 523112k free, 163816k cached

Im running Gnome, nautilus, gaim, Galeon, XMMS, and 2 terminals, from the time that this was shown
 
Old 06-20-2003, 07:54 AM   #12
mike@wales
 
Registered: May 2003
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: all my hardware works in linux, looks great,downloadable iso's, urpmi, mandrake CC
Cons: difficult to knock this distro - networking side could be better . firewall


For me mandrake 9.1 is a real peach. I have been playing with Linux since suse 7.1. Back then my first impression was one of disappointment. Most of my hardware didn't work - win modem, scanner, and my graphic didn't work properly. After that I would occasionally try Linux to see how it was improving.

Eventually I came across mandrake 9.1. Wow what a gem. With very little knowledge I was able to get my graphics card (geforce 4) setup with the nvidia drivers, my scanner (Packard bell diamond 1200) and my cdwriter working. I have to confess it brought tears to my eyes when i saw tux racer working properly for the first time. However the major advantage of mandrake 9.1 is adsl speedtouch support. This feature means i can put my
home network on Linux.

Other advantages of mandrake include the mandrake control center and urpmi. Having used suse it was nice to have all the system configuration tools integrated (i'm also trying redhat and i really miss this type of setup). Adding software in mandrake is a piece of cake, and the easy urpmi tool (found on the web) lets you add new software repositories. I particularly like the way mandrake resolves the dependencies of new files (resolving dependencies with other distros can really dampen a newbie's enthusiasm).

I'm reluctant to make a fuss about negative aspects of mandrake. After all, i downloaded the iso's for free, and mandrake turns out to be the best Linux distro I've come across. The only complaint i have is the networking and Internet settings. I've noticed that if i configure Internet sharing it alters the services so that adsl at boot is unchecked. This would really confuse a newbie, it had me going for a while. There seems to be a few doubts about the default shorewall configuration, I've noted a number of questions asked in newsgroups. Shorewall.net recommend you remove mandrake's shorewall, and download the rpm direct from them (they provide ample documentation and example files for configuration). Having said that mandrake's configuration at least protects your system and gets you up and running. Try comparing shorewall to xp's bundled “firewall”.

In conclusion mandrake 9.1 is a really great distro. Linux enthusiasts are always arguing how Linux can rival windows, and mandrake 9.1 shows everyone just how powerful and easy to configure Linux is becoming. I was so excited about mandrake that i purchased a mandrake club membership just help mandrake and Linux development out. Its so good it seems shameful to accept all this nice software for free!
 
Old 06-26-2003, 04:43 PM   #13
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: It "just works"
Cons: 1-Menudrake 2-Usual Linux problem: Software and Driver support


Get the negative out of the way first:

I hate Menudrake!!! Give us a nice "drag and drop" Menu interface, Mandrake! I would like to keep all the Useful programs on shorter menus with the lesser-used ones on Submenus. Thanks to Menudrake, it would probably take several months! Otherwise I would give it 5/5.

The problem with Software and Driver support is an overall Linux problem, and Mandrake cannot be criticised for it.

My experience with Linux started last December when I got hold of a cover-DVD from a magazine and burnt 3 iso images for Mandrake 8.1. It loaded, but... I have a TFT monitor with 1280x1024 pixels, and I could only persuade it to do 800x600! The on-screen fonts were amateurish, and next to Windows 98SE it looked like a child's toy. It did not stay on my computer for long, and that was me and Linux finished. Then I saw a copy of Linux Format in WH Smiths with Mandrake 9.0 on the cover disk. For some reason I thought "why not try the up to date version". So I did.

After a couple of false starts, I got it up and running. I had a lot of fun with it, but it was not without its faults. At the time I had my cable internet connection set up via USB, and the connection frequently got dropped. But the real pains were supermount and urpmi. Supermount because if you did anything that attempted to read from an empty CD or floppy drive, you might as well go and make a cup of coffee and drink it, because that's how long it took to get your computer back. Urpmi seemed to have problems, and attempting to use it to upgrade itself resulted in it not working at all. I ended up doing all my software installations using KPackage.

At one point I downloaded all 7 Debian images (3.0r1) and installed them. It was a complete and unmitigated disaster. I could not get USB to work, despite following the installation instructions correctly, therefore I had no internet and could not sort out any other problems. It seemed that it had set itself up with unsatisfied dependencies and any attempt to run dpackage just resulted in loads of software being deleted! It was frustrating and had I not experienced Mandrake it would have put me right off Linux for good!

I then tried downloading and installing Mandrake 9.1. It was a doddle. Everything just worked. Sadly, my computer developed a Hardware fault and died before I had time to play with it. I panicked and got a new case/mobo/processor/RAM when all I needed was a new and better power supply. My new mobo is nVidia based, and it was indeed fortunate that I still had a Windows dual-boot to download the drivers. I also had a problem with having to manually adjust the upper limit of the Horizontal Sync Rate in XFree86Config-4 and having to reset the bios to ensure my mouse did not cause the system to lock up. Still such problems are par for the course, I've always found in the past, using Windows, that there was always a bit of hardware that needed special attention to get it to load. I would say overall that getting Mandrake 9.1 up and running was no worse then getting Windows 98SE up the way I like it.

In use I have found Mandrake 9.1 to be brilliant! Okay my scanner is poorly supported (UMAX 2100U) and my Digital Camera does not work at all on it (Ricoh i500). These are not Mandrake's fault, other distros would be the same. My printer (HP3822) is excellent. It's stable, solid, with KDE the desktop is much prettier and configurable than Windows. The ethernet connection to my cable modem is 100% reliable. I have added all the extra repositories to urpmi/rpmdrake thanks to Easy Urpmi/Penguin Liberation Front (http://plf.zarb.org/~nanardon/) so have loads of media software. My enforced experience with KPackage in 9.0 has meant that I know how to load rpms from other sources without resorting to the command line. The problems with urpmi from 9.0 have gone.

I did not include OpenOffice in my original setup, instead I downloaded the beta1.1 version, and I have nothing but nice things to say about it. You can load an rpm for an OpenOffice "tray" loader program, which (unofficially) does work with the OOo 1.1beta.

Supermount has improved out of all recognition, though I would still recommend that you shove a data CD in the drive you installed Mandrake from before you attempt to do software updates, as this will still save a bit of time. But the ridiculous times you spent waiting for your computer to recover when you clicked on the logo for an empty drive are long gone. I'm sure that Mandrake will lose any sponsorship they may have had from the coffee industry! Still, when I see posts from people using other distros who want to know how to read a CD, and the convoluted "mount" commands in their replies, I have to have a smug chuckle.

I would say that for most mobos, and with compatible hardware, Mandrake 9.1 is an ideal operating system. For some mobos like mine, it takes a little extra work but the problems are not insurmountable. Once up and running it is an excellent system, let down only by Menudrake and the gaps in the availability of software/drivers. If software and hardware manufacturers could be persuaded to port their programs/drivers to linux, then I would quite boldly state that Mandrake 9.1 would be a better operating system than Windows.

Great stuff!

DAVE
 
Old 07-02-2003, 10:07 PM   #14
MTBKR
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: MUCH easier to configure correctly than 8.2/ low up front cost
Cons: Still not quite as user friendly as an uncorrupted installation of Windows


I am an experienced Windows user with a home office and local network consisting of five machines on a peer to peer LAN.

I previously tried to install Suse Linux Professional distro 8.1 and traded it in for Mandrake Linux 8.2 boxed distro when I was simply unable to configure the Suse product. I had to bail on the Mandrake also due to device driver issues.

Last week, I finally installed the Mandrake 9.0 ISO CD's that I burned some time ago after being certain to clone the machine's C drive to the D just in case I needed to restore Windows XP.

After running 9.0 for three business days, I liked it so much better that I burned and installed 9.1 CD's. My only beef in the upgrade to 9.1 is that it wiped out all of my documents during the installation, causing me to re-live the past three days of configuration and file conversion of various Word and Excel files over to Open Office formats.

My insurance business depends heavily upon my systems and software, and for the very first time I am now able to honestly say that with Mandrake 9.x I could realistically run my insurance agency on the Linux platform if necessary.

I am honestly impressed and pleased that Mandrake Linux is finally a reasonably viable alternative to King Bill's proprietary product.

When has Bill sold ANYTHING on a voluntary subscription basis?
 
Old 07-04-2003, 03:59 AM   #15
SYS49152
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron)
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $6.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Well-packaged and organized, easy to get up and running, nice RPM manager
Cons: Sawfish window manager not included (a personal preference).


I am still a newbie to Linux. I had used Red Hat 7.2 for a couple of weeks before realizing that I should really get an up-to-date release. Moving from the Red Hat distro to Mandrake did not throw me any curves. The package seems to be weighted a bit towards KDE rather than Gnome, and I had already found that I like Gnome better (for some ineffable reason). But I've had no trouble using Gnome, and I quickly got everything configured as I wanted.

While Linux tends to be a do-it-yourself kind of OS, Mandrake seems to smooth this aspect a bit. For example, I have found the RPM manager to be helpful when I want to install additional software from the install CD's or things that I download, like the Sawfish window manager (http://ftp.tuwien.ac.at/opsys/linux/RPM/mandrake/9.1/contrib/i586/sawfish-1.2-4mdk.i586.html)

Something that caused me trouble during installation of RH7.2 was not picking the right mouse protocol. The Mandrake 9.1 install lets you verify this during the setup process by clicking the mouse buttons, rolling the wheel and getting visual feedback on-screen. I was surprised that my USB digital camera worked without any special software. My scanner, printer, flat-panel monitor, and video card all worked with little or no configuration (whereas Windows98 needed to have drivers installed). I have a Lucent Winmodem which needs special software to run in Linux. Since Mandrake is popular, it is well supported, so all I had to do was download an RPM.

I didn't hit any snags during installation except that when I first installed it, it would crash during startup and never get to the graphical desktop. I erased the partition and re-installed (easy enough), and everything has been fine since.
 
Old 07-11-2003, 10:13 AM   #16
Power_Penguin
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to use, straight foreward installer and good out-of-the-box suport esp. media
Cons: RPMs are a joke, Mplayer (and other stuff) not included,3D graphics slow



I have used several linux distros and I most like mandrake its easy to use suppoted my audio without a hitch and is very compatible.
I don't understand the RPM thing i have used it before and it is crap, satisfying dependancies is just short of imposible and though installing suff of the CD is exceedingly easy downloading RPMs is a mistake
other than the RPMs my only complaint is that it is not good for a dual linux boot windoze and mandrake get along just fine
 
Old 07-11-2003, 11:58 PM   #17
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to load, full of features
Cons: still working to get wireless card going


I am a newby that has been running live CDs for the past few weeks. Got the nerve up to dual boot with XP on my laptop. This was an easy install. from start to finihs in less than an hour. I used Boot Magic and Partition Magic to create an EXT2 partition and Mandrake loaded right on it.

I would say this is a very good distro.
 
Old 07-13-2003, 02:05 AM   #18
iphoting
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Mandrake
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Very Beautiful stable, feature packed, friendly, multimedia ready
Cons: Dosn't detect P4 HT and configure automatically...


Almost the best Newbie or Expert Distro I have ever encountered. Their product updates are prompt and reliable.
 
Old 07-23-2003, 06:25 AM   #19
sanw2k
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: rh 9,,Mandy 9.1, Lycoris
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Userfriendly
Cons: Hardware resource hungry,


Only twice i tried installation of this distro, but main advantage of this distro is its well tuned x-desks , for this desktops i need to use at least 256 mb ram and good agp, but with old pc's if i am using this distro, sorry unbelievable

 
Old 07-27-2003, 10:37 PM   #20
brew1brew
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Kubuntu
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: urpmi/rpmdrake, graphic install for novice or expert, Mandrake Control Center
Cons: Installes multiple applications for the same function by default


I've been using MDK Linux since 6.2, In those days the Drake config utilities were ok, but you still had to go to most config files to config and fix things. in 9.1 the configuration control center is outstanding, but if you want to manually modify the config files to fix or change things you still can. So for the novice you can use the control center to configure stuff and then go look at the config files to see what it did. This can be a great learning tool. The expert can still use CLI if they want.

For the computer user that does not want to know how it works it just works.

I've installed 9.1 on 5 different desktops and 2 lap tops with out major issues. I use it as my primary workstation at work.

urpmi/rpmdrake, on line software search and install tool, you can configure multiple software sources on the net and it will give you a list of all RMPs available as well as resolve and install any dependencies. It also provides you with a list of updates that are available.

http://plf.zarb.org/~nanardon/urpmiweb.php has a tool that will tell you how to setup several on line software sources.

The Con I listed can be worked around by checking the "select software" or "Expert mode" at the screen that you select the type of workstation or server. you will then be given a list of all packages being installed and you can uncheck anything that you don't want. I do have to say that even though I listed it as a Con, I think this is actually a good thing for new users, they can try the different applications then uninstall the ones they don't like or need.
 
Old 08-13-2003, 01:56 AM   #21
mark_alfred
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu Linux
Posts: 1,056

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $90.00 | Rating: 4

Pros: easy install, good layout
Cons: hardware detection, lack of support


I liked the layout, and the install was easy. It detected my ADSL connection quite automatically, making the internet connection easy. However, it did not detect my US Robotics 56K internal hardware modem (SuSE did detect it), thereby making faxing impossible. It also did not detect my digital camera (SuSE also detected it). The free support that purchasers of boxed sets allegedly got did not exist. Instead, I was constantly referred to the "Club", where I had to purchase support. Even patches and other files were not available unless you belonged to the Mandrake Club. While support from all major vendors of Linux is generally poor, I found Mandrake's to be even worse. Also, Star, and OpenOffice.Org constantly buggered up when I tried to use them on Mandrake (works fine on SuSE).
 
Old 08-18-2003, 02:03 AM   #22
czechknight93
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: openSUSE 10.1
Posts: 95

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Beautiful design, Great useability, The user friendly Linux
Cons: None


Mandrake 9.1 is an excellent distribution to choose from. It offers superb hardware compatibility and a vast array of programs. It detected, installed and configured my Orinoco WiFi adapter within 2 seconds and did not need any drivers or a CD (Windows required drivers, CD, and extra time to configure). I have tried other Linux distributions, but no other could compare to Mandrake. Mandrake installed at least 30 minutes faster than other distributions and it installed properly on the first try (My experience with SuSe was a failure at that with a $30 phone bill to tech. support). Mandrake also installed faster than Windows 2000 on the same computer and found ALL hardware (Windows still thinks I have no sound card). To all of the new Linux users: BUY or DOWNLOAD MANDRAKE 9.1! You will get the best out of Linux!
 
Old 08-19-2003, 04:01 PM   #23
adamb10
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 86

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Quick and Easy install, easy to use, Great packages
Cons: Buggy, no boot disk during the install


I expected alot from Mandrake and I got more than I was expected. It was a quick and easy install. It goes through your basic things like probing and the firewall. New combers from Windows will even find that partitioning with Mandrake will be an ease to do. The installer is buggy sometimes and will ocasionally skip steps. Also unlike other distros where you will be asked to create a boot disk, you will not have the option of creating during install. I think they should add this for 9.2.
Restarting your computer will give a shiny new desktop with one of those 1st time wizards. It's quite simple to use. The desktop has a very good design using KDE 3.1. If you are planning on recompiling kernels don't use this distro. This distro is poor at recompiling. It will not let you edit grub.conf Infact ain't even there! Where did it go!? How would I know but I think mandrake did this the easy way but making Grub boot to the new kernel when you boot up which in my opinion is bad. Suppose your new kernel is screwed up? How are you supposed to boot in the old kernel to fix it? Sure you can try to get a command prompt in the boot loader but you won't get one. Mandrake refuses to let you touch that bootloader. For this I am dissipointed.

Overall Mandrake is easy to use and great for the new Linux user!
 
Old 08-23-2003, 01:13 PM   #24
tripolitan
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Red Hat, Mandrake
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Intuitive GUI, easy install, excellent hardware support and easy to update.
Cons: Less choice for custom/expert installs than 8.2


Time it took me to install, update AND RUN Mandrake 9.1 on a dual-processor AMD MP/512ECC RAM/80GB HD/3COM Lan (high speed cable modem)/ATI Radeon 8500/ATI TV Wonder: 20 Minutes.

Time it took me to do the same on Windows 2000 Pro: A whole weekend! + Its been 3 weeks and it is not even running to my satisfaction yet.
enough said eh?
 
Old 08-26-2003, 08:35 PM   #25
crenshawmarc
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1 and Redhat 8.0
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $70.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to load and use.
Cons: I still have not been able to see all PCs on the company LAN


Today as I write this on Tuesday August 26, 2003 I have successfully loaded 4 machines (all older machines) with Mandrake distro of Linux. My tech coordinator began to reload windows 2000 onto a machine that crashed on Thursday of last week...still trying.

Open Office is fitting in nicely with our uses for spreadsheet and word processing.

I look forward to a more productive year in a poor school district because I can take all the POC (pieces of Cr_p) PC that are donated to us and have more production machines.

Linux is making everything possible. I was happy to pay $70.00 to support this movement!
 
Old 08-29-2003, 09:06 AM   #26
john_walsh54
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu, Mepis
Posts: 71

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $140.00 | Rating: 4

Pros: Easy Installation, clear fonts, plenty of free apps, logical categorisation of apps
Cons: poor device drivers, apps slow to load, poor documentation, confusing install/removal


I bought Mandrake 9.1 Powerpack Boxset (AUD 140) to have a look at the "most user friendly linux distribution". This is the first time I have used Linux
I found the Quick Startup Guide for a linux newbie confusing and inadequate for people migrating from Windows. The reason to set PnP OS to "no" in the BIOS is misleading and wrong. I bought the Powerpack boxset because I couldn't get the Standard boxset in Australia. Lucky for me I did because the documentation for linux newbies is in the Starter Guide which comes with the Powerpack boxset but is not included with the "standard" boxset.
The default install ran smoothly and I was quite surprised and delighted at the number of applications that were installed after 45 minutes. All my devices were correctly identified except for my mouse - would only work as a "standard mouse" eventhough it is a wheel mouse. However, I discovered later that my Lexmark Z12 printer has a poor driver which prints nothing worthwhile. My soundcard didn't work too, but I eventually got it to work after following the troubleshooting instructions. My webcam didn't work either but I discovered later that I could get it to work if I applied a patch to the kernel. Too techie for me at the moment. My scanner worked without any problem as did my external firewire hard drive via a pc card. My DVD drive could eventually play CDs (soundcard), but I never got to play a DVD.
So eventhough Mandrake 9.1 correctly identified my devices (except for the mouse) it doesn't necessarily mean it will work due to the poor quality of the drivers. There is also no obvious way to update or install your own drivers for a device - how do you update the device drivers in Mandrake?
On the second installation of Mandrake 9.1. I selected "network" apps which hung the installation (I have no network card) - this selection does not hang Windows 2000/XP.
I found the applications slow to load but of good quality, although mplayer (dvd player) hung my system when I tried to play a DVD. I was surprised at the high quality of the apps. I thought the mandrake control center was well laid out compared to Windows XP control panel although, I found the software install/remove panels confusing. I found the app names confusing and unhelpful e.g. "iptables-1.2.7a-2mdk" What is the significance of 1.2.7a-2mdk in the app name to a user? Similarily, it is also confusing to have several components listed for the same application instead of grouping application components together under one name. This would reduce the clutter in install/remove panels considerably.
Linux device drivers need to improve considerable if Mandrake wishes to compete with Windows 2000/XP on the desktop. The geeky names of the apps should be superceded by names the average person can understand - have a "basic /advanced" button for app names so that a user can choose between min or max. components of an app, just like the installation routine. The Quick Startup Guide should be renamed Installation Guide because thats all it is really. I think its going to be another couple of years before Mandrake Linux catches up with Windows 2000/XP on the desktop. Only then would I recommend Mandrake instead of Windows XP to my friends.
 
Old 09-01-2003, 02:21 AM   #27
Leper Messiah
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9(bastardized), Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: good hardware recognition, small learning curve
Cons: Push to do things the 'Mandrake' way, bloated size


I only use this distro because a client of mine controls some labeling devices with it. On the plus side, setting up microchannel bus I/O boards was fairly easy. Also was fairly easy to integrate the software into the GUI (KDE ), without endless downloading of libraries. On the negative side, this distro is bulky and the default installer dosen't give many power user options. It's pretty newbie friendly, but do we really need another Red Hat?
 
Old 09-09-2003, 02:53 PM   #28
fuzzyworm
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Kubuntu, Debian
Posts: 149

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: It's easy to set up and use, and has a very intuitive interface
Cons: i haven't found any (yet)


I haven't used it a lot really, and I wouldn't consider myself an ezxpert either, but it looks smart. It was really easy to set up, I just put the CD in, started the computer, and it worked straight away. It easily partitioned the hard drives, and you can even save the setup in case you have several computers, or you need to recover the system. A definite choice for beginners, but one which doesn't seem to be too constricting for experts either.
 
Old 09-13-2003, 03:02 AM   #29
Tanc
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Debian etch
Posts: 99

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Great RPM Manager, FTP Sites, All my hardware detected, Tons of packages
Cons: Could be more user friendly when installing. Doc management unuseful when newbie.


Mandrake 9.1 was the distro which helped me format my Windows Drive and get into the linux world.
Good compatibility with the hardware actually on my pc's, this is a great value for people who desire to leave the Microsoft World for the Linux one. Docs are not suffisant to understand the whole system, but LQ is here to help us.
Thanks a lot for this great distro and thanks LQ for the knowledge !
 
Old 10-07-2003, 01:36 PM   #30
CyberDoc
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: linux mint 17, slackware, ubuntu server
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $69.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: ease of install, ease of use, great gui very well done.
Cons: i dont like where some of the apps, desktops are installed..sometimes it's to simple


I have been around linux for awhile. I have tried many flavor's, Dare i say in or near the hundreds. I can't even remember why i started using mandrake i think it was version 4 or 5 can't remember and they have come a long way. They have a cozy feel to the user enviroment, And they have a simple interface to apps and process's that used to be a pain to run. In short they took what can be a complex o/s and made it easy to use and pleasing to the eyes as well.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration