LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 10
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 62743 12-17-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
87% of reviewers $20.00 7.9



Description: "The Fedora Project, a Red Hat sponsored and community-supported open source collaboration project, today announced the availability of Fedora 10, the latest version of its free, open source operating system distribution. This release includes the premiere of a new graphical boot system called Plymouth, designed to speed up the boot process by taking advantage of a new kernel mode setting feature. Fedora 10 also features increased hardware support for a vast array of webcams, and better handling of printers via both direct physical connections and networks. Further, PackageKit, a software management tool that originally debuted in Fedora 9, has been extended in this release to provide on-demand codec software installation."
Keywords: Fedora Plymouth Webcams


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-07-2009, 07:55 AM   #1
decodedthought
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Archlinux
Posts: 195

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: looks awesome ...
Cons: stumbled across nothing so far



the best of Fedora core i have ever seen so far ... totally awesome and must try DISTRO !!
 
Old 01-11-2009, 04:39 AM   #2
n03x3c
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Distribution: Fedora, RedHat
Posts: 101

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It's good looking, good hardware support and good desktop effects. With new KDE it looks like awesome! Good Wifi support
Cons: Sometime takes long time in startup, yum fails in update (rare time) cause it can't resolve dependency itself!! :p


After all, this is real good Linux distro I'd say. For those who're starters, you'd really like it. Good hardware support... my webcam and everything is working now. Good thing about fedora, it can be used as both server and desktop at a time... And new looks are real cool...

Just been a month using it, so haven't digged much...

Overall, its kewl...
 
Old 01-14-2009, 10:53 PM   #3
Atwin
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: FreeBSD 8.0 & Fedora 12
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Clean Graphics, Extensive Application Suite, very polished and professional
Cons: package manager could do better, very strict about free software hence no support for MP3


This distro is by far the best of Fedora I have witnessed. Although its more oriented towards Server application environments, it can definitely make for a good Home desktop PC, not for laptop though.
 
Old 01-15-2009, 07:30 AM   #4
dazzaroonee
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Distribution: Fedora 10
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable, professional, good Gnome integration
Cons: Weak Intel 3D (Compiz drivers), unstable KDE 4.1


Moved to Fedora 10 from Ubuntu 8.10 after reading a review. I was initially disappointed with Gnome/Compiz integration and KDE 4.1 seems very flaky. After reading various Intel driver/Compiz posts and changing some xorg/compiz settings it now seems a lot more stable. Would like to use KDE 4.1 more but it's just too unstable with crashes all over the place and poor integration with Compiz e.g. pager sometimes shows 1 desktop rather than 4, network manager sometimes doesn't connect to my wireless network and Gnome session settings appear to be used by KDE whereas I'd have though Gnome/KDE would be completely separate.
I've been using Linux for over 7 years now and have recently ditched Windows XP for Fedora 10 both at work and home and basically have found noting I cannot do in Linux.
There are still some rough edges but I think these are more attributable to the specific packages e.g. KDE rather than Fedora itself.
Overall impression is very good.
 
Old 01-27-2009, 06:37 AM   #5
proghitman47
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Fedora 10 is awesome
booting faster
less memory
bundled with new features
 
Old 02-16-2009, 05:07 AM   #6
pete83
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Booting faster
Cons: No wireless by default, no streaming media firefox


I thought let's install Fedora 10 on my Dell Inspiron 1525 after reading good things about it in Linux Format magazine.

So I'd installed it and the wireless didn't work out of the box. Which is not a big deal because after five minutes it's installed. But then I wanted to watch some streaming media on the internet. Totem is asking to search for the plugin to play ASF and MMS but it fails to find them. After looking around on the net it seemed that more people have the same problem making this work. Which bothered me because in Ubuntu it works all fine.
And then after a while my sound stopped working and syslogd gave errors about irq conflicts which made my system ubstable.

That was it.... I decided to switch back to good old Ubuntu.

For me I had to go through to much trouble to make Fedora 10 work. Normally I don't mind this when I'm installing a server but for my laptop/desktop I would like to work things out of the box.
 
Old 02-16-2009, 10:28 AM   #7
healyma
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: LFS 6.4; Debian 5.4; Mythbuntu & Kubuntu 10.04
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Looks great, great GUI-based admin tools, package manager much improved (if a little flaky at times)
Cons: Tries to config X on the fly at boot rather than using standard conf files - makes it difficult if not impossible to add support for touch-screens


Starting using RHL at version 5.1 - since then I've always had an automatic bias towards RHL and later Fedora. F10 is a polished and stable OS which I run on a Dell server, home build media PC, HP mobile workstation and even a tiny Sony Vaio UX. Very little to complain about bar the "on the fly" X configuration - makes confiuring the UX's touscreen difficult. The package manager does seem to stall on occasion (as mentioned in an earlier review), but is still an improvement from its predecessor.
Ditched the default Gnome for KDE.

I've also mucked about with Ubuntu, Kubuntu and others, but always find myself going back to Fedora - although that's really just a personal preference
 
Old 03-10-2009, 03:09 PM   #8
fedix
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Fedora / CentOS 5 / Ubuntu
Posts: 100

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy, cool graphics, seamless installation,
Cons: Disabled root loging


I liked all previous versions of Fedora except 9. Worked on 8 untill I decided to install 10. Maybe its XP and Vista that changed my graphical mind, maybe its really better, but I liked Fedora 10. Liked the look and feel, the problem-less installation and workings.

However, I was hugely frustrated with the fact that the root user has been disabled from gui. YEs, Yes, don't use root, rather use su. I have read all the fundi's suggesting there's no need for root; use su instead etc. BUT, what I hate is that Fedora (like M$ most of the times) decide for me what is good and what not. Tell me the dangers etc, even put up a disclaimer, but let ME decided whether I would like to use root or not. IMHO, you can mess up pretty much the same with su as with root. And a big part of Linux (for many geeks) is about playing around, discovery, "messing up", repairing and the rest.

So please Fedora guys, bring back root in 11.

PS: I have found 2 solutions for the disabled root in GUI. Change the initdefault setting to 3, logon as root and run startx, or commend out a line in /etc/pam.d/gdm. For instructions, search for a post by myself, or search on the originator (PoppaMurph) at fedoraforums.org.
 
Old 03-24-2009, 04:43 PM   #9
CompanionCube
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Nice graphics, comfortable environment
Cons: Not a lot of decent preinstalled software


Fedora is a fair OS. Its nice to install, nice to work with, but comes with little preinstalled software (that is of any use) and is driven by an impulsive overly sensitive community. If your looking for a distro that is mature, comes with good default software, and is improved by a helpful and thoughtful community, don't get Fedora.
 
Old 04-24-2009, 06:34 AM   #10
asimba
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: Red Hat / Fedora
Posts: 349

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


Fedora has been quite usable.

But every now and then when you do yum updates - there are a few broken packages.

And then of course some of the packages are not stable - probably that was emphasize the difference between Fedora and Redhat.

But I have seem other more "emphasizing" points.

So till them I will keep away from Redhat.
 
Old 05-15-2009, 02:26 PM   #11
Jimenez
 
Registered: May 2008
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Good looking and lots of tools
Cons: Failed to configure X misrably and root login disabled


I used Fedora 8 for about 2 years and was very happy until I decided to switch to dual screens with a Matrox G450. At that point I discovered that the X version was too low so I upgraded to Fedora 10. That was a small disaster because it the installation could not even configure a single screen (let alone 2). Combine that with root login being disabled and you will understand why I am rating this version rather low.

To be absolutely fair, it looks like Fedora is trying to become the foolproof distro with plenty of useful graphical tools and apps. If that is the case I wish them well and let us all have it clear what the goal really is. If the aim is achieved then it will be the ideal distro for anyone trying to migrate from Windows.
 
Old 05-18-2009, 12:26 PM   #12
liofko
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Working great on my LG laptop
Cons: None :-)


I used Fedora 10 from its beginning on a LG laptop, Everything worked out-of-the-box, Great Distro !!
 
Old 06-06-2009, 12:50 PM   #13
weismont
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Fedora 10
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Good hardware support, good WiFi support, good working on my laptop
Cons: Slow booting, IMHO ;)


All I need is working out-of-the-box. Good distro, better than Debian.
 
Old 06-18-2009, 03:56 AM   #14
rylan76
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Fedora 17 - 3.3.4-5.fc17.x86_64
Posts: 1,477

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 4

Pros: Works nice with my hardware, quite fast
Cons: KDE 4.1 - really, -really- bad


A typical Fedora distro, installs easily, easy to configure, but the KDE version shipped with it really, REALLY sucks. 4.1's hard to use, it is ridiculously difficulty to create a simple desktop shortcut, and the taskbar... well, the taskbar is a disaster.

Don't get this, rather get FC11...
 
Old 12-17-2009, 04:09 AM   #15
45.nitin
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


Its the ultimate distro that i'm sticking to. All applications work fine including blender and other openGL programs. Highly stable and reliable. Great distro!
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration